Matrix Audio Sync issues? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 06:50 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ManiG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: DC
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I watched the first of the Matrix trilogy last night on my HD-A1. I was extremely impressed with the picture!!

One thing bugged me though. There was a definite audio sync issue. It was not severe but it was there - the audio was late by a split second.

I am sure this does not have to do with disc read issues, as the disk loaded up quickly and played through smoothly with no skipping or stuttering. I also tried stopping/starting the movie, and restarting the A1.

So, could anyone else with sharp eyes and ears confirm an audio sync problem on the HD-A1?

Full disclosure: Using FW 2.0 (will upgrade tonight and re-test), using digital out to my 5.1 receiver. Connected to my Westy 42" via HDMI, audio on the TV is muted.
ManiG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 07:50 AM
Member
 
QWK SVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just watched The Matrix last night and had no sync issues. 360-Addon connected via VGA, digital audio to my Pio 5.1 receiver.

I have the Trilogy, not the Ultimate - which set do you have?

360 + PS3 = Format neutral
BRD:73.HD-DVD:37.DVD:700+
QWK SVT is offline  
post #3 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BuGsArEtAsTy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: AVS Forum
Posts: 7,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had sync issues with the A1 with firmware 2.0 on other discs. I have not tried firmware 2.2 or Matrix though, cuz I returned the unit long ago.

I also had sync issues with my 360 HD DVD add-on, but the May 15 HD DVD Update corrected them.
BuGsArEtAsTy is offline  
post #4 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
angelo913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I using the HD-A1 with firmware 2.2 video is connected HDMI directly to my 65" RPCRT and audio is connected to my receiver's analog 5.1. My receiver has also calibrated my speakers. I have no sync issues.

If you have the HD DVD DVE there is a video test that also checks that the video and audio is synchronized. In my case it's dead on, no matter what I play.

...Angelo

2x HD-XA2 firmware 3.0
1x HD-A1 firmware 3.0
HD DVD movies: 141
angelo913 is offline  
post #5 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 09:02 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ManiG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: DC
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Angelo, you have a similar setup to me so I will hope that an upgrade to FW 2.2 will fix the problem.

If anybody else with HD-A1 could chime in, it would be appreciated.

Just to reiterate, the problem is subtle and "casual" viewers would not complain. For me it was off just enough to be distracting.
ManiG is offline  
post #6 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 09:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
ctiq21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I was waiting to see if there would be a thread like this. I watched the Matrix last night and definitely noticed very slight audio drift. I am using the 360 addon via vga.
ctiq21 is offline  
post #7 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 09:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nissen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Matrix, first movie in the Complete collection (the non-combos). The sound sync was off, but I didn't really notice until Neo and Smith's slugfest in the subway near the end.
I'm watching on a Tosh HD-E1, firmware 1.5 T20T, optical out, encoded to DTS and relayed through my 8-year old Sony amp. Thought it was my system.
Nissen is offline  
post #8 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 09:55 AM
Member
 
Mistar Muffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have only watched "The Matrix", have not gotten to "Reloaded" or "Revolutions", yet, but I definitely noticed the sync issue. I started to notice it in the dojo scene, and it continued on through the "jump program" sequence.
Mistar Muffin is offline  
post #9 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eq_shadimar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I noticed this as well with my A1 connected to a Kenwood all digital amp. I am using FW2.2 and optical TOSLINK for sound. For me switching the sound track to the TrueHD option seemed to make the error go away although maybe still not perfect. I had not experienced sync issues on any other movies.

I would be interested if anyone else notices this as well.

Laters,
Jeff

...wake up to find out that you are the eyes of the world...
My HT Construction Thread - Updated Pictures 3/15/07
My 2.35:1 Discussion Thread - Updated Pictures 3/15/07
XBL = eqshadimar
eq_shadimar is offline  
post #10 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 10:05 AM
Nox
AVS Special Member
 
Nox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Central NY
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctiq21 View Post

I was waiting to see if there would be a thread like this. I watched the Matrix last night and definitely noticed very slight audio drift. I am using the 360 addon via vga.

What are your audio settings?

I have my 360 set to output DTS and then I use the TrueHD setting in the movies setting. I haven't had a chance to view the movies yet to hear for myself, but from what I sampled it seemed in sync to me.

-David
Nox is offline  
post #11 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thehun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wine country CA
Posts: 7,288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 41
No sync issues for me. [XA-2]

sent via Morse code...........

The Hun
thehun is online now  
post #12 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ManiG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: DC
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like something is off. Can anyone with two different players confirm if the problem is with the disk or with a specific player?

Also worth noting, I've never experienced a similar sync problem on another HD DVD.
ManiG is offline  
post #13 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Not a problem with my A1 2.0 firmware, speaking of FW did most of you guys down loaded the latest version or got the disk from Tosh?
Sorry to get of topic.

Cheers & enjoy the holiday

Djoel
Djoel is online now  
post #14 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 11:52 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ManiG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: DC
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Djoel, I downloaded the firmware update. Why would you feel that this is relevant?

It is tough to know if people are not noticing the issue or actually not experiencing the problem. I have found that some people are more sensitive to sync issues than others. To those who have not noticed something the first time around, could you re-watch some parts of the movie with the possibility of a sync issue in mind?
ManiG is offline  
post #15 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 12:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
ctiq21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nox View Post

What are your audio settings?

I have my 360 set to output DTS and then I use the TrueHD setting in the movies setting. I haven't had a chance to view the movies yet to hear for myself, but from what I sampled it seemed in sync to me.

I have mine set to 5.1 dolby surround in the dashboard and in the settings menu of the matrix.
ctiq21 is offline  
post #16 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Iggster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: signal hill, cali
Posts: 1,684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
ive already watched part 2 and 3- 4 times! and no problems whatsoever. but i did get a bad set that gave me an error code at first. ive only watched part 1- 1 time though but didnt have any problems.
Iggster is offline  
post #17 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Iggster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: signal hill, cali
Posts: 1,684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
oh yah and definatly no sync issues. im the kind of person who notices everything.

toshiba hd-a2 firmware 1.3

playing the truehd track trough hdmi to a denon 2807 and from their to my new krell 3250
Iggster is offline  
post #18 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 01:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eq_shadimar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I would be curious if those of you with no sync are listening to the TrueHD track and if you are does switching to the DD cause sync issues. As I posted that cured my sync issues but with the DD track it was almost like watching a dubbed movie with my setup.

This is on the orginal Matrix movie. I have not watched the other 2 yet.

Laters,
Jeff

...wake up to find out that you are the eyes of the world...
My HT Construction Thread - Updated Pictures 3/15/07
My 2.35:1 Discussion Thread - Updated Pictures 3/15/07
XBL = eqshadimar
eq_shadimar is offline  
post #19 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
angelo913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wounder if the problems are related to enabling any of the audio enhancements in the HD DVD player? Myself, all audio enhancements are set to OFF.

...Angelo

2x HD-XA2 firmware 3.0
1x HD-A1 firmware 3.0
HD DVD movies: 141
angelo913 is offline  
post #20 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 01:31 PM
Nox
AVS Special Member
 
Nox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Central NY
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At the risk of sounding stupid...

Not that this should make a difference, but anyone who noticed sync issues, do you have the Ultimate set?

If so, I wonder if the double sided discs have something to do with it. These things have been causes for playback issues before.

I have the Complete set which are single sided.

-David
Nox is offline  
post #21 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 01:43 PM
Member
 
Darcy Hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I watched the first Matrix (Complete set) on my A1, with FW 2.0 last night, and I noticed a very slight sync issue throughout the movie. Once again, this is very slight, and for the most part is not very noticeable. This is the first disc I've seen this on. Children of Men and Smoking Aces did not have this problem. I also watched Flags Of Our Fathers over the weekend and was perfect in every sense. I have not watched Reloaded or Revolutions yet.
Darcy Hunter is offline  
post #22 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Iggster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: signal hill, cali
Posts: 1,684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nox View Post

At the risk of sounding stupid...

Not that this should make a difference, but anyone who noticed sync issues, do you have the Ultimate set?

If so, I wonder if the double sided discs have something to do with it. These things have been causes for playback issues before.

I have the Complete set which are single sided.

ultimate set here. they didnt even have the regular set at BB when i picked it up. and like i said above no problem truehd track
Iggster is offline  
post #23 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 02:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
ctiq21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I'll try the true hd track and let you guys know what I get...
ctiq21 is offline  
post #24 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 02:55 PM
Member
 
Andrew J L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a question hopefully someone can answer.
I don't have the Matrix yet.
After the update for the 360 add on, I set my sound settings to DTS which my butt old RCA system supports.
I'm going optical out to my reciever from my 360.

When the sound setting is on DD I get great SS. When I switch it to DTS I get nothing.
After I switch the sound setting to DTS do I then need to switch the movie audio setting to TruHD?

Any help would be great, thanks.
Andrew J L is offline  
post #25 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
NovaKane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I watched the Matrix last night on my HD-A2 and also noticed a very slight audio synch issue using Dolby Digital through opitical. It wasn't distracting, but it was there.
NovaKane is offline  
post #26 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 04:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nissen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Just to add to my previous post:
The sync-problem was identical on both TrueHD and DD+ tracks. For me anyway. Not sure what to make of it. If not everyone is hearing it I suspect it must be a fault with my system.
Nissen is offline  
post #27 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 05:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
seanbryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Knowhere
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I am using the HD-A1 (firmware 2.0) with optical connection to my receiver.

I also noticed the lip sync error on The Matrix.

I changed the audio track to TrueHD and the problem was corrected.

Again, lip sync error with the DD track, no error with the THD track

So to those chiming in saying no error, you haven't really looked for it if you only watched the THD track. Please check out the DD track too.


I checked out Reloaded and there was no sync error with the DD track (didn't get to check out Revolutions yet.

Edit: This is the "Complete Trilogy" single sided disc
seanbryan is online now  
post #28 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Iggster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: signal hill, cali
Posts: 1,684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
just to add to my previous post about only watching part 1 one time and the rest 4 times

well im this far into the movie and no sync issues hd-a2 hdmi truehd




Iggster is offline  
post #29 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 09:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cnickersonjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Missouri City, Texas (Next door to SUGARLAND)
Posts: 3,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watched all of The Matrix (the 1st movie) No sync problems. XA1 via analog outs
cnickersonjr is offline  
post #30 of 123 Old 05-25-2007, 09:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by ManiG View Post

Djoel, I downloaded the firmware update. Why would you feel that this is relevant?

It is tough to know if people are not noticing the issue or actually not experiencing the problem. I have found that some people are more sensitive to sync issues than others. To those who have not noticed something the first time around, could you re-watch some parts of the movie with the possibility of a sync issue in mind?





No particular reason really, I don't have the smarts to down load off the net.
Knowing me I would fry my A1....

I guess I have to call Tosh for a new firmware,they wouldn't just send me one even though they have in the system already.


Djoel
Djoel is online now  
Reply HD DVD Software

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off