Host - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 113 Old 08-18-2007, 07:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kilgore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 162
My copy of The Host played on my XBOX 360 HD-DVD addon with absolutely no problems whatsoever, and I got the disc on the day it came out.

EDIT: I should add that all 71 HD-DVD's that I own play flawlessly, including combos. I only ever had problems with one (Hollywoodland), but since the last XBOX 360 HD DVD update, even that one now plays.
Kilgore is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 113 Old 08-18-2007, 11:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nissen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I have forwarded the info in this thread to the HD DVD insiders for further study.
See http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&pp=30&page=71 at the bottom of the page.
It'll be interesting to see if they solve this for us.

Oh. BTW, I watched in Korean with subs.
Nissen is offline  
post #93 of 113 Old 08-19-2007, 12:21 AM
tsb
AVS Special Member
 
tsb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axiom Divine View Post

Just wanted to ask if the majority watch this with subtitles or overdubs...Wondering if overdubs add any comedic elements to this movie.

OAL=OAR
tsb is offline  
post #94 of 113 Old 08-27-2007, 11:47 AM
Member
 
Axiom Divine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsb View Post

OAL=OAR

Sorry, but I'm NTHWTA (Not Too Hip with the Acronyms).

Only asking because as a kid watching Godzilla, I enjoyed the cheesiness of overdubs.
Axiom Divine is offline  
post #95 of 113 Old 08-27-2007, 12:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Bleddyn H Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Billerica MA USA
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FWIW, I emailed Magnolia Home Entertainment about a week after release, about the issues with the HD DVD.

To date, no response whatsoever.
Bleddyn H Williams is offline  
post #96 of 113 Old 08-27-2007, 01:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eapleitez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
1. Overdubs have no place in HT
2. Seems to me this is something that should be fixed in firmware. The A1 and 360 firmware play it fine. Has Toshiba been notified?

_____________________________
eapleitez is offline  
post #97 of 113 Old 09-09-2007, 09:28 PM
Member
 
hal9e3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gotta go w/ the player, not the disc, being the root cause. Like most others I don't get the 'freeze on fadeout' w/ my A1 @ 2.2 but do w/ my A20 @2.0/T22. I would guess that Magnolia did their initial pressing eval on 1G machines. BTW there are new F/W releases available for both gens, 2.3 for the 1G and 2.2 for at least the A20 IIRC.
hal9e3 is offline  
post #98 of 113 Old 09-14-2007, 09:46 AM
Member
 
SuperSam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was the freezing problem fixed for anyone with A2 after FW upgrade to version 2.5?
Mine still freezes.
I want a refund from Magnolia, not because i am cheap but because the issue keeps upsetting me.
SuperSam is offline  
post #99 of 113 Old 09-14-2007, 10:20 AM
Senior Member
 
The Main Event's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperSam View Post

Was the freezing problem fixed for anyone with A2 after FW upgrade to version 2.5?
Mine still freezes.
I want a refund from Magnolia, not because i am cheap but because the issue keeps upsetting me.

It's the first movie I tried after the 2.5 update. Still freezing for me at the same places.

I have the XA2 btw.
The Main Event is offline  
post #100 of 113 Old 09-14-2007, 10:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Bleddyn H Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Billerica MA USA
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperSam View Post

I want a refund from Magnolia, not because i am cheap but because the issue keeps upsetting me.


Well, you'd need a reply from them. They never had the courtesy to answer me when I contacted them
Bleddyn H Williams is offline  
post #101 of 113 Old 09-14-2007, 01:08 PM
Member
 
SuperSam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I sent them an email this afternoon too Do not know how useful that will prove to be
I like this movie in part because the PQ is great and it fills 100% of the screen - great to demo the HD picture to guests and nonbelievers. So the freeze problem is a very annoying issue to me.
Will see if Magnolia answers.
SuperSam is offline  
post #102 of 113 Old 09-14-2007, 02:17 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
paul?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I sent them an e-mail at the very beginning and have never received a reply. I am not too upset, for it is quite easy to continue the movie by touching fast forward. Still, it would be nice if they would acknowledge the problem.
paul? is offline  
post #103 of 113 Old 11-14-2007, 04:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
ravenous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northern Germany
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought, someone would be interested, that "The Host" is now playing fine after the 2.7 update.

All the trailers and the magnolia startup logo are also now absolutely free of errors.

HD-EP35 & PS3 & (soon to be) Regionfree Oppo BD-93. 148 : 481
ravenous is offline  
post #104 of 113 Old 11-14-2007, 05:40 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
paul?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravenous View Post

I thought, someone would be interested, that "The Host" is now playing fine after the 2.7 update.

All the trailers and the magnolia startup logo are also now absolutely free of errors.

Great! Due to my work schedule I have not yet updated my player but will do so tonight.
paul? is offline  
post #105 of 113 Old 11-14-2007, 08:12 PM
Senior Member
 
bygdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Marshall, MI.
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravenous View Post

I thought, someone would be interested, that "The Host" is now playing fine after the 2.7 update.

All the trailers and the magnolia startup logo are also now absolutely free of errors.

Thanks for the heads up. I'll have to re-purchase.

"We're not here for a long time, we're here for a good time"
bygdaddy is offline  
post #106 of 113 Old 11-14-2007, 08:22 PM
Member
 
bigjsouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My copy froze alot also! I had the updates on my A2. It was the only HD-DVD I ever had that froze in places.

But.. It was a free rental and I am glad I didnt buy that awful movie!
bigjsouth is offline  
post #107 of 113 Old 11-18-2007, 05:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Kannisto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also confirmed with my Japanese HD-XF2 with new firmware 2.7 that The Host now plays fine through those two points where it froze earlier. Thanks for the notice, Ravenous!

HD DVD: 387 (new: Taking Lives ; list)
Blu-ray: 262 (new: North Face (UK) ; list)
HD DVD-R: 262 (new: Charlie Wilson's War ; list)
Kannisto is offline  
post #108 of 113 Old 11-18-2007, 06:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
John Ballentine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 5,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjsouth View Post


But.. It was a free rental and I am glad I didnt buy that awful movie!

I liked it (but then I also like the classic GODZILLA movies.)
John Ballentine is offline  
post #109 of 113 Old 11-18-2007, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Blasst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: So.California
Posts: 3,493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjsouth View Post

My copy froze alot also! I had the updates on my A2. It was the only HD-DVD I ever had that froze in places.

But.. It was a free rental and I am glad I didnt buy that awful movie!

I enjoyed it myself, goes to show we all have different tastes. And there is nothing wrong with that.

The Mod Squad: New vs. Classic TV Series Opening https://vimeo.com/63119329
Blasst is online now  
post #110 of 113 Old 11-18-2007, 09:39 PM
Senior Member
 
TekWorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central N.Y.
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After deciding I'd not update, I was enticed by this report of fixed "Host" freezes.

I can confirm that I updated both of my A2s, this evening, and both now play thru the previous problem scenes and do not freeze.

Thanks ravenous.

TekWorm
TekWorm is offline  
post #111 of 113 Old 11-26-2007, 06:45 AM
Senior Member
 
bygdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Marshall, MI.
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I updated my A2 to 2.7 and "The Host" now plays through.

"We're not here for a long time, we're here for a good time"
bygdaddy is offline  
post #112 of 113 Old 10-30-2008, 04:38 PM
Newbie
 
nikeajax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I asked the same question in the onkyo 805 users thread, but I have not got any reply yet.

So, I would like to ask anyone who has a combination of XA2, TX-SR805 and this movie, "The Host" in HD.

I purchased this movie recently and it is my only HD DVD movie encoded in DTS-HD. I was excited to hear the audio in HD format and bitstreamed the audio through HDMI cable to an Onkyo TX-SR805 receiver. However, the onkyo says it is a DTS.

I am getting DTHD bitstream signal from the XA2 without any problem, so I don't think it's a setting problem.

Anyone has a clue?
nikeajax is offline  
post #113 of 113 Old 10-31-2008, 09:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 19,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikeajax View Post

So, I would like to ask anyone who has a combination of XA2, TX-SR805 and this movie, "The Host" in HD.

I purchased this movie recently and it is my only HD DVD movie encoded in DTS-HD. I was excited to hear the audio in HD format and bitstreamed the audio through HDMI cable to an Onkyo TX-SR805 receiver. However, the onkyo says it is a DTS.

I am getting DTHD bitstream signal from the XA2 without any problem, so I don't think it's a setting problem.

I believe The Host HD DVD only has standard DTS audio, despite the misleading packaging.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
Reply HD DVD Software

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off