HD-DVD Playback Software? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 44 Old 08-16-2007, 05:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
SteveMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I have an HD-DVD drive that I pulled from a Toshiba HD-A1 HD-DVD player. Does anybody know of any HD-DVD playback software that is available for PCs? Thank you in advance!
SteveMB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 44 Old 08-16-2007, 05:41 PM
Rom
Member
 
Rom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cyberlink PowerDVD Ultra 7.3 (I think that is the latest release) supports both HD DVD and Blu Ray.

Samsung PS50P96FD Full HD Plasma, Toshiba HD-E1, US PS3, SkyHD, HTPC (AMD3000+), Onkyo 605, Kef Q Series.
Rom is offline  
post #3 of 44 Old 08-16-2007, 05:46 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
SteveMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rom View Post

Cyberlink PowerDVD Ultra 7.3 (I think that is the latest release) supports both HD DVD and Blu Ray.

Thank you very much!
SteveMB is offline  
post #4 of 44 Old 08-16-2007, 06:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MidnightWatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 6,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are your system specs? (OS, video card, memory, CPU)? Also, make sure you download the latest patches if you purchase it.

Please feel free to visit MidnightWatcher's Blogspot or follow my NEWS feed on Twitter.
MidnightWatcher is offline  
post #5 of 44 Old 10-24-2007, 03:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
SteveMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm sorry to bump up an old thread, but a friend is having problems with his HD-DVD player. It plays DVDs fine, but it does not play HD-DVDs. Some specs

Vista Ultimate
8GB RAM
Dual DX10 8800GTX
Quad-core CPU

He said he tried Cyberlink PowerDVD. Does any one have any solutions or any other software he can try? Thank you!
SteveMB is offline  
post #6 of 44 Old 10-24-2007, 03:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
valkyrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Seattle WA USA
Posts: 1,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I thought I heard the HD drive in the A1 wouldn't play discs on a PC. Can anyone confirm that it does?
valkyrie is offline  
post #7 of 44 Old 10-24-2007, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MidnightWatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 6,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveMB View Post

I'm sorry to bump up an old thread, but a friend is having problems with his HD-DVD player. It plays DVDs fine, but it does not play HD-DVDs. Some specs

Vista Ultimate
8GB RAM
Dual DX10 8800GTX
Quad-core CPU

He said he tried Cyberlink PowerDVD. Does any one have any solutions or any other software he can try? Thank you!

This link might help.

Please feel free to visit MidnightWatcher's Blogspot or follow my NEWS feed on Twitter.
MidnightWatcher is offline  
post #8 of 44 Old 10-25-2007, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Patrick.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cowansville, Quebec
Posts: 2,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveMB View Post

I'm sorry to bump up an old thread, but a friend is having problems with his HD-DVD player. It plays DVDs fine, but it does not play HD-DVDs. Some specs

Vista Ultimate
8GB RAM
Dual DX10 8800GTX
Quad-core CPU

He said he tried Cyberlink PowerDVD. Does any one have any solutions or any other software he can try? Thank you!

8 Gigs of ram? Do you work for the Secret Service or something? LOL who could possibly need 8 gigs of ram. By the time you use half of it everyone will be on the next DDR spec. Oh and the NEC drive from the A1 lacks the necessary hardware to playback HD DVDs on PCs (I know I've tried) if you dig around AVS forum people have posted about it.

Be a fan of displays, not companies or technologies!
Patrick. is offline  
post #9 of 44 Old 10-25-2007, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomsHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Douglassville, PA
Posts: 4,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rom View Post

Cyberlink PowerDVD Ultra 7.3 (I think that is the latest release) supports both HD DVD and Blu Ray.

It seems to support one or the other but not both

It was pre-installed on my new dell but from what I have read during installation you select which format you want it to play.

If anyone knows more about this I would love to hear a solution. I have both an HD and a BR drive and want to play both formats
TomsHT is offline  
post #10 of 44 Old 10-25-2007, 10:10 AM
Senior Member
 
evdberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by valkyrie View Post

I thought I heard the HD drive in the A1 wouldn't play discs on a PC. Can anyone confirm that it does?

Yes, that's correct. The NEC drive from the HD-A1 only supports decrypting through KCD, and not by the 'standard' method of exchanging certificates which is used by PowerDVD and WinDVD.
evdberg is offline  
post #11 of 44 Old 10-25-2007, 08:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
SlaughterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alsip, IL
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are there any free programs?
SlaughterX is offline  
post #12 of 44 Old 10-25-2007, 09:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MidnightWatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 6,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomsHT View Post

It seems to support one or the other but not both

It was pre-installed on my new dell but from what I have read during installation you select which format you want it to play.

If anyone knows more about this I would love to hear a solution. I have both an HD and a BR drive and want to play both formats

It supports both Blu-ray and HD DVD. You just need to update to the latest build.

Please feel free to visit MidnightWatcher's Blogspot or follow my NEWS feed on Twitter.
MidnightWatcher is offline  
post #13 of 44 Old 10-25-2007, 10:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OggideM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 25
probably a waste of time to ask.. but ... will the xbox addon play on pc's (with enough hardware) with Cyberlink PowerDVD Ultra 7.3 ??

Quit failing to flip the switch
OggideM is offline  
post #14 of 44 Old 10-25-2007, 10:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by OggideM View Post

probably a waste of time to ask.. but ... will the xbox addon play on pc's (with enough hardware) with Cyberlink PowerDVD Ultra 7.3 ??

Yes

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=748426

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #15 of 44 Old 10-25-2007, 10:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OggideM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:

thanks very much.

Quit failing to flip the switch
OggideM is offline  
post #16 of 44 Old 06-29-2008, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bumping this thread.


Is there a list of (or what are the) available HD DVD playback software options?


I'd also like to know what (if any) limitations there are as far as installing on multiple PCs.
Brian81 is offline  
post #17 of 44 Old 07-01-2008, 02:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Corellianrogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cyberlink have removed HD DVD playback from PowerDVD 8. (The only PowerDVD that allows us lowly cheap 5.1 system owning peasants to actually have our sound from the PowerDVD player be in 5.1!) I hope whoever came up with that bright idea dies an excruciatingly slow and painful death!

Stacy>>>>>>>>>>Fergie http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ne0rqn_VAOE

Kids Incorporated (original members)>>>>>>>>>>Any band since! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0gbcgNhYC7M
Corellianrogue is offline  
post #18 of 44 Old 07-02-2008, 07:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bjmarchini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nero 8 and anydvd hd

HD DVD: 45 SD DVD: 350 BR: 120
PCs: 12, Mame Arcade:1, HD HTPC: 1, WHS Server: 1, HD A3: 2, HD-A30: 1

bjmarchini is offline  
post #19 of 44 Old 07-02-2008, 09:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blasst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: So.California
Posts: 3,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 26
WinDVD is in the mix also.

The Mod Squad: New vs. Classic TV Series Opening https://vimeo.com/63119329
Blasst is offline  
post #20 of 44 Old 09-25-2008, 09:53 AM
Member
 
The Big Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I looked on the Nero web site and didn't see a specific reference to HD DVD playback capability, but am I right to assume that Nero 8 can be used to play HD DVDs on the PC?
The Big Bad is offline  
post #21 of 44 Old 09-25-2008, 10:18 AM
Member
 
Canuck-eh!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As a user of Nero 8 with the Blu-ray/HD DVD Video Plug-in , I can confirm that you can play HD DVDs with no problem. The plug-in also includes the DTS 5.1 channel support. Works well with my Onkyo 606. With AnyDVD HD rips to HDD and Nero 8 Showtime, I can play ISO files from the HDD.

Canuck-eh! is offline  
post #22 of 44 Old 10-12-2008, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rdunnill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: South Surrey, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Arcsoft TotalMedia Theater continues to support HD-DVD playback.

Blu-ray: 50+
HD-DVD: 23
DVD: 600+ and lost count
rdunnill is offline  
post #23 of 44 Old 10-13-2008, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bjmarchini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
These last two look great.

I am using Arcosft TMT as my main player and Nero 8 as the backup in case I have problems. For some reason I was able to play Elizabeth: TGA in Nero 8 and not in TMT.

Between the two, I think TMT edges out Nero 8 in PQ, but not by much. On the other hand TMT is much more hardware demanding than Nero 8.

HD DVD: 45 SD DVD: 350 BR: 120
PCs: 12, Mame Arcade:1, HD HTPC: 1, WHS Server: 1, HD A3: 2, HD-A30: 1

bjmarchini is offline  
post #24 of 44 Old 10-13-2008, 07:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
tteich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdunnill View Post

Arcsoft TotalMedia Theater continues to support HD-DVD playback.

... and Arcsoft TMT integrates seamlessly with Windows Media Center (lets starting and control of HDDVD/BDs from within MCE, and supports the compatible remotes)

OEM version of PowerDVD has a MCE plugin as well (called "Play Movie"), but this one behaves a bit strange, at least on my machine.

Laserdiscs: ~350
HiVision LDs: 42
HD DVD count: 379 / still 20 on the wishlist
tteich is offline  
post #25 of 44 Old 10-13-2008, 08:08 AM
Member
 
Canuck-eh!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tteich and bjmarchini - Arcsoft TMT Full only supports BD, you must get Extreme for HD DVD support. I have yet to find a BD or HD DVD that doesn't play in Nero 8. Alas, Nero 9 appears to no longer support HD DVD (only has a BD plug-in).
Canuck-eh! is offline  
post #26 of 44 Old 10-13-2008, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rdunnill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: South Surrey, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canuck-eh! View Post

tteich and bjmarchini - Arcsoft TMT Full only supports BD, you must get Extreme for HD DVD support. I have yet to find a BD or HD DVD that doesn't play in Nero 8. Alas, Nero 9 appears to no longer support HD DVD (only has a BD plug-in).

Are you sure about that? As of last night, Arcsoft's feature chart stated that the $90 version of TMT supported HD-DVD.

Blu-ray: 50+
HD-DVD: 23
DVD: 600+ and lost count
rdunnill is offline  
post #27 of 44 Old 10-13-2008, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bjmarchini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canuck-eh! View Post

tteich and bjmarchini - Arcsoft TMT Full only supports BD, you must get Extreme for HD DVD support. I have yet to find a BD or HD DVD that doesn't play in Nero 8. Alas, Nero 9 appears to no longer support HD DVD (only has a BD plug-in).

IF TMT doesn't support HD DVD, then why am I able to watch HD DVDs on it? It works. If I was at home, I would include a screen shot of it playing the HD DVD logo, but I am not. You do realize that TMT = TotalMedia Theater? It doesn't list it, but it does play it. The extreme basically includes video editing and capture just as totalmedia does this for SD - I have the OEM version of this that came with my TV Tuner.

I added it in September to my HTPC. So far I have played Rundown, TMNT, Superman, Dune and a few others. The plus side of TMT from what I remember is that is decodes DTS-MA which is something that Nero doesnt (which I found out from experience). the only one that I had any problems with was Elizabeth. I am not sure if was the player or something I had set up wrong. So I just switched to Nero 8 as I didn't feel like fiddling with it.

I do like Nero alot and I think it has the best interface, but in comparison tests, I find the PQ on TMT to be a hair better and closest to my HD805 (close enough that I am considering selling it - please don't PM me for it).

I don't use media center, just XP pro with xlobby 2 and it works just fine for me. Also I have AnyDVD HD installed as I am using a 6600GS which is not HDCP compliant.

I used to add media to my server. I recently took it down and went back to keeping them on disk instead. Just a personal preference. so I use my HTPC player now for music/photos/Direct Optical playback/web browsing and on-demand via the internet (I really like the new HD NBC direct - been watching Heroes on it). For TV, I just use my Cable box for now. Perhaps someday I will get a cable card. I had an HDTV tuner in it, but it ran hot and while I enjoy OTA, I just could deal without Comcast Sportsnet and ESPN as well as the free on-demand movies.

I think it is a rip that they still have to pay licensing fees to HD DVD at this point (or enough to make it worth not including). Of course, taht is what they could be spinning while the real reason may be that the BDA insisted or incentivised them not to include its support.

I think down the road, there is enough support that a player like the one included in the CCCP pack will include its support. For now, it seems TMT is the only one that has not dropped it. PD 8 is out (unless you want to hack it - though the next version prob won't include it), Nero 9 apparrently doesn't, and I don't think WinDVD 9 does either.

HD DVD: 45 SD DVD: 350 BR: 120
PCs: 12, Mame Arcade:1, HD HTPC: 1, WHS Server: 1, HD A3: 2, HD-A30: 1

bjmarchini is offline  
post #28 of 44 Old 10-13-2008, 09:48 AM
Member
 
The Big Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any place I can still buy Nero 8 and the HD DVD plug in?
The Big Bad is offline  
post #29 of 44 Old 10-13-2008, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bjmarchini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Big Bad View Post

Is there any place I can still buy Nero 8 and the HD DVD plug in?

Nero 8 can already play BD and HD DVD. You can buy any retail copy, update it and then pruchase the plugin.

I would contact Nero. They may still sell you the license key to you if you have nero 8 and explain the situation.

Worste case scenario, there are other ways to find the necessary key.

I have alot of HD DVDs which is Why I am going with two different programs. covering my bases.

HD DVD: 45 SD DVD: 350 BR: 120
PCs: 12, Mame Arcade:1, HD HTPC: 1, WHS Server: 1, HD A3: 2, HD-A30: 1

bjmarchini is offline  
post #30 of 44 Old 10-13-2008, 12:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
tteich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canuck-eh! View Post

tteich and bjmarchini - Arcsoft TMT Full only supports BD, you must get Extreme for HD DVD support. I have yet to find a BD or HD DVD that doesn't play in Nero 8. Alas, Nero 9 appears to no longer support HD DVD (only has a BD plug-in).

ArcSoft TMT (standard version for $89) supports HDDVD, DVD, and BD.

Edit: ...and, as experience shows, Nero behaves like a virus. Once installed it places a lot of strange executables into every corner of your Windows system, which you won't get rid of after you find out it's buggy and uninstall it. Frankly spoken I would not recommend it.

Laserdiscs: ~350
HiVision LDs: 42
HD DVD count: 379 / still 20 on the wishlist
tteich is offline  
Reply HD DVD Software

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off