Battlestar Galactica replacement thread with Universal Studios address, email, phone - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-30-2008, 09:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ZZtop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nimo View Post

Disk 4 would not even load in my 5k and A30, but the PC with anyd and the add on played just fine. Yes I have audio sync issues with disks 1,2,3 disk 4 won't load disk 5 is badly scratched. Will be contacting Universal Monday for replacements.

Has Universal released discs with the Audio sync issues fixed?

Just curous, for what I paid I would want them replaced, being the thread op of course

owner of several Samsung LCD Panels
ZZtop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-30-2008, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stumlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZtop View Post

Has Universal released discs with the Audio sync issues fixed?

Just curous, for what I paid I would want them replaced, being the thread op of course

I'm wondering if in December, when they prep people for the Season 4 final episodes if they will release S4 part 1 on blu and also release S1 on blu. At this point, I wonder if we can send in our out-of-sync HD DVDs for some hopefully in sync blu-rays.

Lex Luthor, Ruler of Australia, activate the machine!
stumlad is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WLA CA
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZtop View Post

Has Universal released discs with the Audio sync issues fixed?

Just curous, for what I paid I would want them replaced, being the thread op of course

I have no idea maybe someone that went through the exchange can clarify. All I know is in the PC all the disks play fine with no audio sync issues or loading blocks. I emailed Universal this morning so I will be going through the motions I'll keep you guys posted.
Nimo is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WLA CA
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My replacements showed up today they sent the whole collector box set. So now I have two I may just make a custom cover for this using a 5 disc case. Anyway I tested all of the discs and they all play in the 5k no scratches or audio lag and disc 5 played without a hitch.
When I sent mine back I actually stuffed all 6 in a European HD DVD case I wasn't sure if I was supposed to send the whole thing back thinking it might not make the shipping cost due to it's width. It only took them three weeks but hey at least I can play all the discs.
Nimo is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 09:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Matt_Stevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Is this still available? I just bought season 1 off Amazon for $15 without knowing about this issue.

Vimeo is the home of the Super8 Shooter...
http://vimeo.com/super8shooter
Matt_Stevens is offline  
Old 01-04-2010, 08:57 AM
Senior Member
 
MTAtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a problem with a couple of my Season 1 HD-DVD disks. I emailed Universal at the email on page one of this thread (thanks for posting it). Hopefully, their solution will be to replace them with the Blu-Ray version, since I have both HD-DVD and Blu-Ray.
MTAtech is offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 12:45 PM
Senior Member
 
MTAtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I emailed Universal at the address given and they offered to replace it with the Season 1 Standard DVD. I told them that the equivalent was the Blu-Ray and they basically said, the HD-DVD was discontinued two years ago, take it or leave it.
MTAtech is offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 08:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTAtech View Post

I emailed Universal at the address given and they offered to replace it with the Season 1 Standard DVD. I told them that the equivalent was the Blu-Ray and they basically said, the HD-DVD was discontinued two years ago, take it or leave it.

Man...what asses. The CS person makes it sound like it is coming out of their pocket. The MSRP on the HD DVD set was probably comparable to the BD set, not the DVD set.
Brian81 is offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 08:33 PM
Senior Member
 
MTAtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian81 View Post

Man...what asses. The CS person makes it sound like it is coming out of their pocket. The MSRP on the HD DVD set was probably comparable to the BD set, not the DVD set.

No argument here. They also gave me the choice of two DVDs from a list that included crap that they wanted to get rid of.
MTAtech is offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 10:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's really bad, too bad they aren't like Fox. I purchased the BD of Die Hard 2 with the audio error. Emailed Fox, and they sent out a replacement disc free of charge without showing any proof of owning a copy. Granted the audio problem wasn't fixed and I now have two discs of Die Hard 2, but at least the Customer Service people there were kind enough to send out a replacement disc.
Brian81 is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 04:20 AM
Senior Member
 
MTAtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Brian, I think with BD it is different because the studio has inventory. With HD-DVD there is no inventory left for them to replace it. But to offer only the DVD when I paid a premium for HD-DVD is cheap. For them, the cost of a BD vs the DVD is nominal.

What I ended up doing is ordering another HD-DVD copy on Amazon and I plan on selling the DVD when it arrives.
MTAtech is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTAtech View Post

Brian, I think with BD it is different because the studio has inventory. With HD-DVD there is no inventory left for them to replace it. But to offer only the DVD when I paid a premium for HD-DVD is cheap. For them, the cost of a BD vs the DVD is nominal.

What I ended up doing is ordering another HD-DVD copy on Amazon and I plan on selling the DVD when it arrives.

If the problem is due to the packaging, I'll say that the UK verson came in different/better packaging.
Brian81 is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
webdev511's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian81 View Post

If the problem is due to the packaging, I'll say that the UK verson came in different/better packaging.

Yup, same thing is true for the full series on blu. US packaging is, um, creative whereas the UK packaging is nice and also sensible. One would think that the headaches caused by the 'creative' HD DVD packaging would have tempered designs that followed.

Webdev511
San Jose, CA
TrueHD = DTS-MA = LPCM
Low Bit Rate AVC > Low Bit Rate VC-1
High Bit Rate VC-1 > High Bit Rate AVC
MPEG-2 = Great for DVD and that's about it.
webdev511 is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 10:56 AM
Senior Member
 
MTAtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Mine had no visible imperfections. It just froze at certain points on both of my HD-DVD players.
MTAtech is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 12:07 PM
Member
 
joeags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The same thing happened to me in September of 2008 from Universal. From that time, they were already replacing defective HD DVD discs with DVD ones, so this isn't any surprise. I bought mine in July, 2008 for $20 from Inetvideo, and they luckily offered to send me a replacement HD DVD disc. I had problems with all of my 3rd generation players with one of the discs, so I think it was more of an authoring problem, as opposed to a problem from the scratches on the disc or anything like that (I tried the hot water trick like crazy, but still had problems with, I believe, disc 3). As a note, I played the discs fine on my LG BH200 when I picked it up a month later. Not sure how they would have worked on a 2nd generation unit.

I understand being ticked, but it's been at least 1 1/2 years, closer to 2, that the BSG S1 was sold at a premium, especially anywhere near the price that the new S1 Blu-ray release will be at. It sucked that these had the problems that they did, but thinking that anything HD DVD will be fixed by a manufacturer or studio these days is just wrong.
joeags is offline  
Old 01-08-2010, 05:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Electone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought this set on HD DVD off of Inetvido for $10. Worth the money for sure, but disc #3 will only play in one of my HD-A1s and refuses to play in either of my HD-A3s.
Electone is offline  
Old 01-09-2010, 09:26 AM
Senior Member
 
MTAtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Electone View Post

I bought this set on HD DVD off of Inetvido for $10. Worth the money for sure, but disc #3 will only play in one of my HD-A1s and refuses to play in either of my HD-A3s.

Sounds like a similar tune around here. Fortunately, there are still HD-DVD copies around.

The other alternative is renting the blu-ray from Netflix.
MTAtech is offline  
Old 01-16-2010, 03:17 PM
Member
 
MTBDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We recently watched the first disc, which took a couple of attempts to get it to load and play. The second disc wouldn't play, period. Hadn't had to reflash the player for anything else in a long while; used the latest, still wouldn't play.

Finally got fed up, and bought the complete BluRay via Amazon.uk and it looks and plays beautifully. Not sure WHAT the problem is with the HDDVD, but that just stinks.

I guess I will see about a swap for the regular dvds to pass on to someone else.
MTBDOC is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off