"Official" Olive Thread Opus 4, Opus 6, Melody 2, Olive 2, Olive 4/ 4HD, 06HD - Page 101 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Audio > CD Players & Dedicated Music Transports > "Official" Olive Thread Opus 4, Opus 6, Melody 2, Olive 2, Olive 4/ 4HD, 06HD

CD Players & Dedicated Music Transports

mumsoft's Avatar mumsoft
02:25 PM Liked: 21
post #3001 of 3136
06-09-2014 | Posts: 812
Joined: Dec 2008
The Olive site is down for about a week now, and I still have internetradio on both units. So, my solution/workaround is okay. Olive might do it in a future update if they are so kind, but the site will have to be up again to deliver the update. eek.gif

Marc
JakeyCAkes's Avatar JakeyCAkes
02:26 PM Liked: 10
post #3002 of 3136
06-09-2014 | Posts: 9
Joined: Feb 2012
Hi TheBlo. Not sure how that would help me. I don't really understand. I don't want to use iTunes. I am thinking about the Sony HAP-Z1es when my Olive dies. I have been one of the lucky ones. Have had my 4HD for a few years now with no major problems. couple of little annoyances but... I just thinking down the road. thanks so much for your reply.
TheBlo's Avatar TheBlo
02:50 PM Liked: 10
post #3003 of 3136
06-09-2014 | Posts: 13
Joined: Feb 2014

Hi Jakey,

I mean, if you import your (converted?) files to iTunes, you can see them probably in the right order and not, as you say, alphabetical. And then you can export your music files from iTunes to wherever you like, the Apple Lossless files (.m4a extension) are about as big as FLAC files.

And I have chosen for the X30 from CocktailAudio (www.cocktailaudio.com), to take the place of my Olive 4HD, if that one ever "dies"! (At the moment I use both of them) I had to get used to that machine for some time (I own it a couple of months ), but now I "can read and write" with it! (a Dutch expression, maybe not known in English, but it means I can do anything with it!

So, maybe this is an alternative for you.

Theo.


ellsaesser's Avatar ellsaesser
02:25 AM Liked: 10
post #3004 of 3136
06-10-2014 | Posts: 4
Joined: Nov 2011
Hello,

I have some questions / problems regarding my olive products. I own a olive 4 and a olive 4HD.

1. ) The apps on my I phones closes at once when I connect to the olive 4 HD. There are no problem with this on my I pad or on the olive 4.

2.) The olive 4 and 4HD does not show the internet radio option sometimes in the start menu.

3. ) All my music is stored on the 4 (500GB hard disc) and I have found no solution yet to transfer the music to 4HD (2TB). I tried it via Backup. This finished correctly but at the end I can not find the files on the 4HD.

Does anybody have some ideas to solve my problems ?

Thank you in advance.
ehein324
07:42 AM Liked: 0
post #3005 of 3136
06-12-2014 | Posts: 6
Joined: Jun 2014
I have an Olive 06HD and am not able to correctly enter my own internet radio stations. The pre-loaded stations access fine. I believe that I am not entering the information correctly.

As example: I wish to load the station WWHP-FM 98.3.

The website is: www.wwhp.com.

The Audio Feed is: http://sc03.warpradio.com:8520/listen.pls.

Is there a correct method by which to enter this into my favorite stations?

My 06HD only allows me to enter information in capitol letters.

The instruction manual is not very clear on the method by which to enter favorite stations.

Thanks a lot.

Ed
clpetersen's Avatar clpetersen
09:01 AM Liked: 25
post #3006 of 3136
06-12-2014 | Posts: 192
Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ehein324 View Post
I have an Olive 06HD and am not able to correctly enter my own internet radio stations. The pre-loaded stations access fine. I believe that I am not entering the information correctly.

As example: I wish to load the station WWHP-FM 98.3.

The website is: www.wwhp.com.

The Audio Feed is: http://sc03.warpradio.com:8520/listen.pls.

Is there a correct method by which to enter this into my favorite stations?

My 06HD only allows me to enter information in capitol letters.

The instruction manual is not very clear on the method by which to enter favorite stations.

Thanks a lot.

Ed
Hello Ed - I have entered a few stations on the 06HD. It is painstaking using the touch panel, but Maestro doesn't support adding stations. You should be able to switch from upper case to lower case, symbols etc. Look for the keys to do so on the touch screen display.

Note that recently the Olive website has been sporadic, which has the unfortunate effect of blocking access to internet radio from the 06HD. see many posts on this recently.
clpetersen's Avatar clpetersen
09:11 AM Liked: 25
post #3007 of 3136
06-12-2014 | Posts: 192
Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
This morning no Olive site (sigh...)<br><br>
Luckily I had made some provisions in my other Olive tot test a little change, which seems to work well. That Olive showed Internet Available, even when I had pulled out the ethernet cable <img alt="rolleyes.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.avsforum.com/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif"><br>
In <b>/etc/init.d/rcS</b> I had added, just before the last line (exit), these lines:<br><div class="bbcode_code">
<div class="bbcode_code_head">Code:</div>
<pre>
<code># Maak Hosts file aan
cat &gt; /etc/hosts &lt;&lt; EOF
127.0.0.1 localhost localhost.localdomain
#regel toegevoegd zodat internetradio ook werkt als de Olive-site down is (marc 31-05-2014)
127.0.0.1 olive.us olive
EOF</code>
</pre></div>
<br>
And until now this works lovely.<br>
I know, there are several places in the Olive where the hosts-file is overwritten, and I am not sure if my solution will hold in any situation, but at least just refreshing the status does not affect the it.<br>
If you have an Olive 4, without the hope or need for updates, this solution works well. Internetradio and information from freedb will still be available, with the correct settings of course.<br>
If you have a newer Olive and hope for updates, this can also be a good solution, if you apply the update with an USB stick. After the update, all will be reset, and the Olive way of internet checking will be back in place. <img alt="tongue.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.avsforum.com/images/smilies/tongue.gif"><br><br>
But bear in mind that I am not responsible for any damage.<br><br>
My faint hope is, that now the little pauses in the music that my Olive showed, just occasionally, will be gone for ever.<br><br>
Marc
Hello Marc - any thoughts if this would work with the newer -HD versions? any way to quickly tell?
ehein324
10:53 AM Liked: 0
post #3008 of 3136
06-12-2014 | Posts: 6
Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by clpetersen View Post
Hello Ed - I have entered a few stations on the 06HD. It is painstaking using the touch panel, but Maestro doesn't support adding stations. You should be able to switch from upper case to lower case, symbols etc. Look for the keys to do so on the touch screen display.

Note that recently the Olive website has been sporadic, which has the unfortunate effect of blocking access to internet radio from the 06HD. see many posts on this recently.
Thanks a lot for the reply - I have seen the posts regarding the site being down.

As for entering a station I am not sure about the exact sequence to use.

Should I type "www." before the stream address?

Or, should I just enter the stations web address?
stebro's Avatar stebro
01:13 PM Liked: 10
post #3009 of 3136
06-12-2014 | Posts: 30
Joined: Dec 2007
This probably will be my last posting on this board. My Olive 6HD died after about sixteen months. Olive told me that the parts needed for repairs are not available. I really think Olive has stopped supporting their "old" products to focus on the Olive One--a bad omen for potential customers. Fortunately, I bought the Olive 6 with a credit card that extends the manufacturer's warranty for a year. I filed a claim and, after jumping through lots of hoops over several months, received a refund of the purchase price. I will say that Olive was very good about helping with the claim, in terms of providing documentation of the problem, etc. With the refund, I bought a Naim Unitiserve 2TB. It's a similar concept with one big difference--it works. My Olive did not recognize about 70% of my CDs (mostly classical) and filed them under "unknown artist" or "unknown composer". Using Olive's software to correct this was a nightmare with repeated crashes. The Naim recognizes about 95% of my CDs and the software is a pleasure. You can even edit using an iPad. When I had questions about the Naim, I emailed the company and got prompt, helpful responses. The sound quality of the Naim is equal to the Olive in my opinion. The Naim backs up to an external hard drive and doesn't use a proprietary system like Olive. If you exceed the 2TB capacity, you can store CDs on an external drive and play them back. Like the Olive, the Naim has Internet radio. The price is similar to the Olive 6. The Naim really shows what a well designed and well built product can do. I am done with Olive and bid everyone goodbye and good luck.
mumsoft's Avatar mumsoft
02:25 PM Liked: 21
post #3010 of 3136
06-12-2014 | Posts: 812
Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by clpetersen View Post
Hello Ed - I have entered a few stations on the 06HD. It is painstaking using the touch panel, but Maestro doesn't support adding stations.
Is that so? In Maestro I see an option Add New Station in the list after pressing Internet Radio.

Marc
mumsoft's Avatar mumsoft
02:35 PM Liked: 21
post #3011 of 3136
06-12-2014 | Posts: 812
Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by clpetersen View Post
Hello Marc - any thoughts if this would work with the newer -HD versions? any way to quickly tell?
Yes, I think so. At least it's worth trying. The software is the same for all Olive models, and differences are made in the code at several places, but if you add my code at the end of rcS it will work regardless of the model.
It tells your Olive that the Olive site is up all the times, so the code that checks this somewhere will get lured to think it's all right.
But you can't get updates from the Olive site this way, as it is sought locally.

Marc
mumsoft's Avatar mumsoft
02:42 PM Liked: 21
post #3012 of 3136
06-12-2014 | Posts: 812
Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by stebro View Post
This probably will be my last posting on this board. My Olive 6HD died after about sixteen months. Olive told me that the parts needed for repairs are not available. I really think Olive has stopped supporting their "old" products to focus on the Olive One--a bad omen for potential customers. Fortunately, I bought the Olive 6 with a credit card that extends the manufacturer's warranty for a year. I filed a claim and, after jumping through lots of hoops over several months, received a refund of the purchase price. I will say that Olive was very good about helping with the claim, in terms of providing documentation of the problem, etc. With the refund, I bought a Naim Unitiserve 2TB. It's a similar concept with one big difference--it works. My Olive did not recognize about 70% of my CDs (mostly classical) and filed them under "unknown artist" or "unknown composer". Using Olive's software to correct this was a nightmare with repeated crashes. The Naim recognizes about 95% of my CDs and the software is a pleasure. You can even edit using an iPad. When I had questions about the Naim, I emailed the company and got prompt, helpful responses. The sound quality of the Naim is equal to the Olive in my opinion. The Naim backs up to an external hard drive and doesn't use a proprietary system like Olive. If you exceed the 2TB capacity, you can store CDs on an external drive and play them back. Like the Olive, the Naim has Internet radio. The price is similar to the Olive 6. The Naim really shows what a well designed and well built product can do. I am done with Olive and bid everyone goodbye and good luck.
Interesting post, Stebro. I haven't had so many unrecognized cd's, but maybe I'am just lucky. The Olives get the information from freedb only, I think the Naims have more places to look at.
But could you tell something more about the way that classical music is treated? I love the way that Olive sees compositions from composers, does the naim do something similar?

Marc
stebro's Avatar stebro
03:13 PM Liked: 10
post #3013 of 3136
06-12-2014 | Posts: 30
Joined: Dec 2007
OK, I'll post one last time to answer the question posed by Mumsoft.
When you rip a CD on the Naim, you can then access it on a desktop, laptop, iPad, iPhone and I believe Android devices. You can list the burned CDs by genre, composer, artist, conductor,, playlist. or you can do a search. The Naim finds the metadata, including the album cover, almost always. If the cover isn't found or it's wrong, you can use any of the devices I listed to locate the CD and go to edit>change album cover. The software then does a search for possible covers and dozens of possibilities are shown--sort of like using Google images and entering "CD cover for xxxx". Very neat.
Hope that answers your question.
ellsaesser's Avatar ellsaesser
01:12 AM Liked: 10
post #3014 of 3136
06-13-2014 | Posts: 4
Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellsaesser View Post
Hello,<br><br>
I have some questions / problems regarding my olive products. I own a olive 4 and a olive 4HD.<br><br>
1. ) The apps on my I phones closes at once when I connect to the olive 4 HD. There are no problem with this on my I pad or on the olive 4.<br><br>
2.) The olive 4 and 4HD does not show the internet radio option sometimes in the start menu.<br><br>
3. ) All my music is stored on the 4 (500GB hard disc) and I have found no solution yet to transfer the music to 4HD (2TB). I tried it via Backup. This finished correctly but at the end I can not find the files on the 4HD.<br><br>
Does anybody have some ideas to solve my problems ?<br><br>
Thank you in advance.
Hello,

2 problems are soveld for now. Attached I share the answers. Does anybody have some ideas to solve problems no # 3 ?

Thank you in advance.

1. ) The apps on my I phones closes at once when I connect to the olive 4 HD. There are no problem with this on my I pad or on the olive 4.

---> Sollution: I have deleted the last CDs that I ripped. There have been an album that causes the trouble. After the deleting the albums everything woked fine again.

2.) The olive 4 and 4HD does not show the internet radio option sometimes in the start menu.

---> Probelm is linked with the olive www.olive.us webpage. If the side is down there was no internet radio option. Now the webpage is back again and also the internet radiooption is available again.

3. ) All my music is stored on the 4 (500GB hard disc) and I have found no solution yet to transfer the music to 4HD (2TB). I tried it via Backup. This finished correctly but at the end I can not find the files on the 4HD.

---> Still open
mumsoft's Avatar mumsoft
07:21 AM Liked: 21
post #3015 of 3136
06-13-2014 | Posts: 812
Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by stebro View Post
OK, I'll post one last time to answer the question posed by Mumsoft.
When you rip a CD on the Naim, you can then access it on a desktop, laptop, iPad, iPhone and I believe Android devices. You can list the burned CDs by genre, composer, artist, conductor,, playlist. or you can do a search. The Naim finds the metadata, including the album cover, almost always. If the cover isn't found or it's wrong, you can use any of the devices I listed to locate the CD and go to edit>change album cover. The software then does a search for possible covers and dozens of possibilities are shown--sort of like using Google images and entering "CD cover for xxxx". Very neat.
Hope that answers your question.
Not really. I don't search for cd's, cd's are just the media on which the music was, when it was transferred to the streamer. The cd's don't matter anymore after this, at least they are not so important. What I like, is to see a list of compositions from a certain composer, and to play a composition. Not a cd.
But never mind. Maybe I just misunderstood you. Have a nice time with your Naim!
ehein324
07:42 AM Liked: 0
post #3016 of 3136
06-13-2014 | Posts: 6
Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
Is that so? In Maestro I see an option Add New Station in the list after pressing Internet Radio.

Marc
Hello Marc,

Thanks for the reply.
I do get the screen to enter a new internet radio station.
My problem is that I must not be typing in the correct sequence or format - after entering I just get a "searching" message without ever getting to the station.
I guess that I am asking for the correct sequence of keystrokes to enter the station.
As example, WWHP "The Whip" has the following information:
Website: www.wwhp.com/
Audio Feed: sc03.warpradio.com:8520/listen.pls
How should I enter this? For the audio feed do I enter "www" before the stream information?
I have tried different ways for stations but do not connect to any. The preloaded stations on the 06HD connect just fine.
Ed
mumsoft's Avatar mumsoft
08:20 AM Liked: 21
post #3017 of 3136
06-13-2014 | Posts: 812
Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ehein324 View Post
Hello Marc,

Thanks for the reply.
I do get the screen to enter a new internet radio station.
My problem is that I must not be typing in the correct sequence or format - after entering I just get a "searching" message without ever getting to the station.
I guess that I am asking for the correct sequence of keystrokes to enter the station.
As example, WWHP "The Whip" has the following information:
Website: www.wwhp.com/
Audio Feed: sc03.warpradio.com:8520/listen.pls
How should I enter this? For the audio feed do I enter "www" before the stream information?
I have tried different ways for stations but do not connect to any. The preloaded stations on the 06HD connect just fine.
Ed
Just tried that.
The first field is a common station name, you can pick your choice: The Whip (press save)
The next field is more specific, the stream. The olive shows a string which starts with http://. Nice, just type sc03.warpradio.com:8520/listen.pls in this field, and press save.
Lastly, your Olive asks which genre it should give it. I choose Other, because I did not know the genre of The Whip.

There is no edit option anyware, so choose carefully.

The fastest way to get to The Whip now, in internet radio, is pressing Favorites. In the list All Favorites you must scroll to The Whip.

It plays fine... I think i like it
BTW, if I try other options in Internetradio, it searches for ages.

Marc
ehein324
08:33 AM Liked: 0
post #3018 of 3136
06-13-2014 | Posts: 6
Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
Just tried that.
The first field is a common station name, you can pick your choice: The Whip (press save)
The next field is more specific, the stream. The olive shows a string which starts with http://. Nice, just type sc03.warpradio.com:8520/listen.pls in this field, and press save.
Lastly, your Olive asks which genre it should give it. I choose Other, because I did not know the genre of The Whip.

There is no edit option anyware, so choose carefully.

The fastest way to get to The Whip now, in internet radio, is pressing Favorites. In the list All Favorites you must scroll to The Whip.

It plays fine... I think i like it
BTW, if I try other options in Internetradio, it searches for ages.

Marc
Marc,
Thanks so much for the help.
I will give this another shot this evening when I get home.
Ed
ehein324
08:39 AM Liked: 0
post #3019 of 3136
06-13-2014 | Posts: 6
Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
Just tried that.
The first field is a common station name, you can pick your choice: The Whip (press save)
The next field is more specific, the stream. The olive shows a string which starts with http://. Nice, just type sc03.warpradio.com:8520/listen.pls in this field, and press save.
Lastly, your Olive asks which genre it should give it. I choose Other, because I did not know the genre of The Whip.

There is no edit option anyware, so choose carefully.

The fastest way to get to The Whip now, in internet radio, is pressing Favorites. In the list All Favorites you must scroll to The Whip.

It plays fine... I think i like it
BTW, if I try other options in Internetradio, it searches for ages.

Marc
Marc,
One more question: are you able to enter the audio stream in lower case?
It seems that on the 06HD everything I type is in Upper Case.
Is this switchable between lower and upper case?
Ed
mumsoft's Avatar mumsoft
08:51 AM Liked: 21
post #3020 of 3136
06-13-2014 | Posts: 812
Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ehein324 View Post
Marc,
One more question: are you able to enter the audio stream in lower case?
It seems that on the 06HD everything I type is in Upper Case.
Is this switchable between lower and upper case?
Ed
You must obey the case. In Opus, there is an upwards arrowsign at the left, that switches from uppercase to lowercase.
Good luck.

Marc
ehein324
09:15 AM Liked: 0
post #3021 of 3136
06-13-2014 | Posts: 6
Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
You must obey the case. In Opus, there is an upwards arrowsign at the left, that switches from uppercase to lowercase.
Good luck.

Marc
Thank you Marc.!

Ed
clpetersen's Avatar clpetersen
01:37 PM Liked: 25
post #3022 of 3136
06-13-2014 | Posts: 192
Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
Is that so? In Maestro I see an option Add New Station in the list after pressing Internet Radio.

Marc
I will have to check. Probably missed that option. Thx for pointing that out.
mumsoft's Avatar mumsoft
03:57 PM Liked: 21
post #3023 of 3136
06-13-2014 | Posts: 812
Joined: Dec 2008
Sorry, I meant Opus, the browser version of the Olive screen, not Maestro.

Marc
ellsaesser's Avatar ellsaesser
12:30 AM Liked: 10
post #3024 of 3136
06-18-2014 | Posts: 4
Joined: Nov 2011
Hello erverybody,
I am still searching for an option to transfer my music from the olive4 to my new olive 4HD.
Any ideas ?
Kind regards
Rainer
clpetersen's Avatar clpetersen
03:57 PM Liked: 25
post #3025 of 3136
06-20-2014 | Posts: 192
Joined: May 2012
I found a new use for our Olive 06HD (use not including a boat anchor). Not too surprising since the Olive 2 was a multi-room server solution, but the 06HD and presumably the other -HD models works quite nicely as a multi-room server without any additional custom hardware from Olive.
We had three zones playing different music simultaneously, all without hitches.
Zone 1 - main 2 channel room - the Olive drove this directly
Zone 2 - media room. A Blu-ray player with networking capabilities found the Olive, browsed the albums/composers, etc. and played selections through the dedicated sound system. Hard-wired Ethernet.
Zone 3 - Here a small digital-ready amp fed by an apple TV drove a simple 2 speaker set-up. The AirPlayer iphone app found the Olive and again browsed the collection and played (now through airplay to the apple TV). 802.11 wireless.

Of course all this can be done in many ways.
hueser
05:43 AM Liked: 0
post #3026 of 3136
06-21-2014 | Posts: 5
Joined: Jun 2014
Hi everybody,

I bought an Olive 4HD second hand and cannot find any download link for the Maestro software ( not the app). Can anybody help?

Cheers from Germany

Marc H.
mumsoft's Avatar mumsoft
06:10 AM Liked: 21
post #3027 of 3136
06-21-2014 | Posts: 812
Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by hueser View Post
Hi everybody,

I bought an Olive 4HD second hand and cannot find any download link for the Maestro software ( not the app). Can anybody help?

Cheers from Germany

Marc H.
Maestro is an imbedded web-application to take control over your Olive from within your browser. You must know the ip-address of your Olive, say that it is 192.178.1.1, then, in your browser you can type http://192.178.1.1/maestro.php and bingo! there it is. In the same way you can have the screen of the Olive on your pc, with http://192.178.1.1/olive_opus.php.

Apparently you didn't get a manual with your unit.
Please visit http://www.olive.us/support/product/olive4olive2.html

Success
Marc

Cheers from Holland
mumsoft's Avatar mumsoft
06:15 AM Liked: 21
post #3028 of 3136
06-21-2014 | Posts: 812
Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by clpetersen View Post
I found a new use for our Olive 06HD (use not including a boat anchor).
I mentioned the manual in my previous post. On page 28 in my printed manual such possibilities are mentioned. Alas, the now available downloadable manuals are sparse in their information.

Marc
hueser
08:16 AM Liked: 0
post #3029 of 3136
06-21-2014 | Posts: 5
Joined: Jun 2014
Hi Marc,

thanks for the quick answer. I did not think of a web browser based application and thus did not look for it.

Cheers

Marc H.
hueser
05:16 AM Liked: 0
post #3030 of 3136
06-24-2014 | Posts: 5
Joined: Jun 2014
Hi everybody,

does anybody know which replacement hard drive is recommended or
does it make sense to get the original wd20evds and put it on stock in case
the one in the olive 4hd breaks?

Cheers

Marc H.

Reply CD Players & Dedicated Music Transports

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3