"Official" Olive Thread Opus 4, Opus 6, Melody 2, Olive 2, Olive 4/ 4HD, 06HD - Page 102 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3031 of 3047 Old 06-24-2014, 11:30 AM
Member
 
clpetersen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by hueser View Post
Hi everybody,

does anybody know which replacement hard drive is recommended or
does it make sense to get the original wd20evds and put it on stock in case
the one in the olive 4hd breaks?

Cheers

Marc H.
Hello Marc H - you should be able to use any hard drive you want. If you look back some pages, I had a detailed post of a hard drive replacement where I used a 2.5" notebook drive to replace the original 3.5" desktop drive for lower noise. Be sure you have a viable recovery USB stick, don't rely on cloning these disks (Marc (mumsoft)) has a number of posts re: the unique partitions used by Olive. I tried cloning and was unsuccessful.
clpetersen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3032 of 3047 Old 06-24-2014, 01:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Olive out of busness?

Have tried to contact olive but they don't answer e-mails and phone lines say disconnected. Anyone heard anything? Thanks.
bigsaxy97124 is offline  
post #3033 of 3047 Old 06-25-2014, 04:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi,

you can contact the oliveone guys. They had responded to
my last support request a couple of weeks ago.

Best

Marc H.
hueser is offline  
post #3034 of 3047 Old 06-25-2014, 04:17 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
cl ,
thanks a lot for the answer regarding the hard drive!
hueser is offline  
post #3035 of 3047 Old 07-06-2014, 02:26 PM
Newbie
 
Gigamesure's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Vaux-le-Vicomte
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigamesure View Post
Hi,
I have an OLIVE 4HD. Last month, I bought on 2nd hand market an OLIVE 2 to listen music in another room with WIFI. My problem is to connect these players together. OLIVE 4HD is able to connect with any network or Android smartphone (mine and neighbours too) and the OLIVE 2 too. With ethernet network it works but no in WIFI ! When I search about WIFI network on OLIVE 2 physically close to OLIVE 4HD, it appear "no network" on the screen.
Could you please help me (and excuse me too for my poor english !) ?

Laurent
I make an auto-quote because I've just found the solution and I think it 's interesting to know it.
My Wifi network used the channel 13 and the 04HD worked well. But, after some days of "experiment", I discover the OLIVE2 accept only WIFI channels up to Ch.11. I changed all network components to this channel and now OLIVE2 is able to connect to OLIVE4HD and to my PC !
clpetersen likes this.
Gigamesure is offline  
post #3036 of 3047 Old 07-11-2014, 02:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
mumsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I have done over 2700 cd's. Ripped them, edited them, and so often I have found some quirk in the name of a composer, mostly in not so important matters as extended characters (Bela Bartok in stead of Béla Bartók), but also some really nasty errors, as in "Felix Mendessohn-Barth." in stead of "Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy".
If you try to correct this in Maestro, you often end with the composer without first name (Felix), and adding this name makes Maestro behaving awkward. Refreshing it all the time is no fun
So, yesterday I was fed up with this behaviour.
I installed my third Olive, just a second hand one (no, not an Olive One ), and checked if that one also suffered from Mendessohn, which it did.
With sshfs I magically mounted the Olive disk onto a map in my PC, and ordered it to search for "Mendessohn".

It found it in /zapp/zgui/client/pl2_autocomplete.js
Nice!
This file contains all the composers names, conductor names, choruses and orchestras
Nice again!

I fixed Mendessohn, saved the file and tried an edit with Mendelssoh-Bartholdy, and that worked like a charm.
I also copied this file on my work-Olive. That had many Mendessohn-Barth. compositions. I pasted them on Mendelssoh-Bartholdy, results from my earlier wrestling with Maestro, and now all Mendesshon-Barth. disappeared and all are now compositions of Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy.

I think this opens a way to control the composers, conductor, orchestras and choruses the Olive recognizes. But take care.

Marc
mumsoft is offline  
post #3037 of 3047 Old 07-11-2014, 06:40 AM
Newbie
 
polarbear0104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by clpetersen View Post
Hello Marc H - you should be able to use any hard drive you want. If you look back some pages, I had a detailed post of a hard drive replacement where I used a 2.5" notebook drive to replace the original 3.5" desktop drive for lower noise. Be sure you have a viable recovery USB stick, don't rely on cloning these disks (Marc (mumsoft)) has a number of posts re: the unique partitions used by Olive. I tried cloning and was unsuccessful.
Hello-- just want a clarification on the comment regarding the cloning of the internal disc. I have an 04hd which I plan to open this summer to clone the disc. I'm on a Mac, the hard drive will be put on an external bay alongside the blank hard drive and will use Carbon Cloner software.. I tried it before and was successful in making an exact copy for another project...

I wonder if anyone has tried cloning before and can confirm it's possible.

This is just my second protection- the first one is the back-up drive in case something goes wrong..

Thanks in advance for inputs..
polarbear0104 is offline  
post #3038 of 3047 Old 07-11-2014, 07:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
mumsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by polarbear0104 View Post
Hello-- just want a clarification on the comment regarding the cloning of the internal disc. I have an 04hd which I plan to open this summer to clone the disc. I'm on a Mac, the hard drive will be put on an external bay alongside the blank hard drive and will use Carbon Cloner software.. I tried it before and was successful in making an exact copy for another project...

I wonder if anyone has tried cloning before and can confirm it's possible.

This is just my second protection- the first one is the back-up drive in case something goes wrong..

Thanks in advance for inputs..
Cloning has given positive results regarding the posts I have read, if one used Acronis software (Windows)
With Carbon Cloner you might try it, it may succeed, it may fail.
In my Linux setup, I used Clonezilla. That is very good, almost too good, as it forces to check the filesystem. The filesystem of partition 1 is a made-up mixture of Olive, and once fixed by Clonezilla, not functioning anymore. Clonezilla fixes the source, so, if that is your valid Olive disk, after the cloning....

But I succeeded with a mixture of a recovery, and copying the cfg and data partitions (5 and 7)

Good luck
Marc
mumsoft is offline  
post #3039 of 3047 Old 07-14-2014, 09:59 AM
Newbie
 
polarbear0104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
Cloning has given positive results regarding the posts I have read, if one used Acronis software (Windows)
With Carbon Cloner you might try it, it may succeed, it may fail.
In my Linux setup, I used Clonezilla. That is very good, almost too good, as it forces to check the filesystem. The filesystem of partition 1 is a made-up mixture of Olive, and once fixed by Clonezilla, not functioning anymore. Clonezilla fixes the source, so, if that is your valid Olive disk, after the cloning....

But I succeeded with a mixture of a recovery, and copying the cfg and data partitions (5 and 7)

Good luck
Marc
Thanks for the info Marc..

Just got confirmation from the Carbon Cloner guys that the aforementioned software will NOT be able to clone the linux-based hard drive of Olive players....So all Mac users take note..
polarbear0104 is offline  
post #3040 of 3047 Old 07-14-2014, 01:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
mumsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by polarbear0104 View Post
Thanks for the info Marc..

Just got confirmation from the Carbon Cloner guys that the aforementioned software will NOT be able to clone the linux-based hard drive of Olive players....So all Mac users take note..
I would try Knoppix then. That makes a machine a Linux machine without touching it, and you can do all kind of administrative things with it. I believe it has in-built cloning capabilities.
But take care, if you don't know what you do, you could easily harm your Mac without knowing so.

Marc
mumsoft is offline  
post #3041 of 3047 Old 07-14-2014, 01:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
mumsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Lightbulb Edit radiostations

Our beloved or not so beloved Olives have internet radio inside, with many stations already available from start.
You can add a station, either on screen, tapping an ugly keyboard, or with Opus, the software variant of this screen in the browser. Alas, there is no edit button. And if anything is sure, than it is that once in a while your valuable internet radio stations change their internet address, or even disappear, which yields the same result: silence.

That has happened to me more than once, and of course, I sought a solution.
In the data map (partition 7) is the file radiostation.xml, an xml-file that you can edit with any Linux-based editor. It contains all the dead radio stations you once added in your Olive, and with some care, you can edit the file and get rid of the unwanted stuff, or change the internet addresses of the moved stations.

An entry in radiostation.xml looks like this:
Code:
<item id="ROOT_ALLIR_IR3" parentID="ROOT_ALLIR">
<StationName>Concertzender live</StationName>
<upnp:class>object.item.audioItem.radioItem</upnp:class>
<StationType>music</StationType>
<StationLogo>N/A</StationLogo>
<res>http://streams.greenhost.nl:8080/live</res>
</item>
I highlighted the editable stuff. In this case it is the info I found for the Dutch concertzender
Now, if you can get at this file (I did it with sshfs on my pc), you can finally edit, add and delete radiostations without the awkward Olive way of doing so, or better, not doing so.

Marc

edit: There is a way to delete radiostations from the list of favorites, with the Ok button.

Last edited by mumsoft; 07-15-2014 at 05:45 AM. Reason: Didn't give Olive some credits
mumsoft is offline  
post #3042 of 3047 Old 07-14-2014, 03:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I am the owner of a 06HD and have experienced a great number of the issues reported here. I have decided to move to a mac mini based server using my 0ppo bdp-105 as the dac. I have been amazed at the technical know how of the folks on this forum. Unfortunately, my computer acumen is lacking, so forgive my denseness!
A couple of comments/questions...
First, I hooked the hard drive that I houses my olive back-up data directly to my oppo and was happy to see that the oppo could read and play the files. In fact i like the sound of the oppo dac much more than the 06HD. The issue is that every time I access the drive from the oppo, it takes a great deal of time to access the files. I am assuming that if I were using the mac with appropriate software that would not be an issue.
I want to maintain the high resolution files and play them off the mac. From what I have read here there are a few options to transfer the linux files. One being XBMC. I have read that JRiver could read the files as well. Does anyone know if Amarra would work for that purpose or would I need an additional step?
Hopefully this makes sense. Thanks in advance for any help!

Josh
Joshnich is offline  
post #3043 of 3047 Old 07-16-2014, 01:04 PM
Newbie
 
JakeyCAkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
XBMC Problems

Started copying albums from Olive to my computer using XBMC. Tried selecting all and copying but it copied about 10 albums and stopped. I wanted to start where it left off but couldn't find a way to select to copy just a few at a time. I started copying individual albums one at a time. After every album is finished copying, XBMC quits. I have to re-open it and set up my source and destination before copying another album. Is there a better way.
JakeyCAkes is offline  
post #3044 of 3047 Old 07-16-2014, 04:15 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
olive 4hd

Hi all
my problem is that my computers are not creating an import file to enable me to import music from my pc I'm running a mixture of windows 8.1 and windows 7, I can however use maestro.
Thanks
bryan

Last edited by Bryan Levine; 07-16-2014 at 04:19 PM.
Bryan Levine is offline  
post #3045 of 3047 Old 07-17-2014, 07:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
mumsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan Levine View Post
Hi all
my problem is that my computers are not creating an import file to enable me to import music from my pc I'm running a mixture of windows 8.1 and windows 7, I can however use maestro.
Thanks
bryan
With what software? It's not meant for browsers, a filemanager should fit better.

Marc
mumsoft is offline  
post #3046 of 3047 Old Yesterday, 06:02 AM
Member
 
clpetersen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
I would try Knoppix then. That makes a machine a Linux machine without touching it, and you can do all kind of administrative things with it. I believe it has in-built cloning capabilities.
But take care, if you don't know what you do, you could easily harm your Mac without knowing so.

Marc
I tried a dedicated hardware cloning system, that was claimed to be Linux compatible, so no risk to any OSX or Windows system, and if it worked, much faster than a software clone. However, no luck.
But, simply using the Olive recover software (USB stick) and then reloading the music form a back-up disk worked very well, all completed using the Olive itself. So no risk to the original disk or any other OS. And, I believe, much faster than cloning.
clpetersen is offline  
post #3047 of 3047 Old Yesterday, 06:14 AM
Member
 
clpetersen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshnich View Post
I am the owner of a 06HD and have experienced a great number of the issues reported here. I have decided to move to a mac mini based server using my 0ppo bdp-105 as the dac. I have been amazed at the technical know how of the folks on this forum. Unfortunately, my computer acumen is lacking, so forgive my denseness!
A couple of comments/questions...
First, I hooked the hard drive that I houses my olive back-up data directly to my oppo and was happy to see that the oppo could read and play the files. In fact i like the sound of the oppo dac much more than the 06HD. The issue is that every time I access the drive from the oppo, it takes a great deal of time to access the files. I am assuming that if I were using the mac with appropriate software that would not be an issue.
I want to maintain the high resolution files and play them off the mac. From what I have read here there are a few options to transfer the linux files. One being XBMC. I have read that JRiver could read the files as well. Does anyone know if Amarra would work for that purpose or would I need an additional step?
Hopefully this makes sense. Thanks in advance for any help!

Josh
If you look back several posts from myself, you will see a post detailing using XBMC to move the files from the Olive to create a portable set of files. I used JRiver to read this set of files, no issues. As pointed out in several posts by Mumsoft, any edits done using Maestro are not embedded into the music files tags but just the Olive database (true of most library software).
I suggest using something that will create another library database from the exported files (like JRiver, or Sonos, or Bluesound, ...) so the music is much easier searched.

Now, I rip into the portable set of files (using XLD for Mac), and then import into Olive and/or re-synch with JRiver (which actually does this automatically).
clpetersen is offline  
Reply CD Players & Dedicated Music Transports

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off