"Official" Olive Thread Opus 4, Opus 6, Melody 2, Olive 2, Olive 4/ 4HD, 06HD - Page 113 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 37Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3361 of 3377 Old 05-13-2015, 03:28 PM
Member
 
GJ1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
Yes, me.

Anyone interested in an improved list of composers and conductors for your Olive?
It's a file called pl2_autocomplete.ps and it has to be placed in a certain directory on the Olive. It's easy to do with sshfs. But before I go into the gory details, I just like to know if someone is interested.
I found it a nuisance to see so much errors and missing composer names in this file, that I constantly have edited it, since I found out where the file was. Now it's pretty complete, although not faultless. It has 168 composers, about 20 more than original.

Marc
And me...
Marc, yes please!
GJ1970 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3362 of 3377 Old 05-15-2015, 04:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How do i get the import folder for the OHD 6. It doesn't appear under networks. And how do i know the Olive is connected to the same network as the pc.

Last edited by olive hd; 05-15-2015 at 07:54 PM.
olive hd is offline  
post #3363 of 3377 Old 05-16-2015, 05:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
mumsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by olive hd View Post
How do i get the import folder for the OHD 6. It doesn't appear under networks. And how do i know the Olive is connected to the same network as the pc.
Can you run Maestro and/or Opus in your browser? Then your Olive is on the same network as your pc.
Maestro can be reached in your browser with http://ip-address/maestro.php and Opus with http://ip-address/olive_opus.php
ip-address here is the ip address that your Olive has. You can find it on screen when you select Settings -> Network setup -> Network Info.

The import folder can be reached, in your file manager, with smb://ip-address/import/
The screen of your Olive should be on, or else this would not work.

Marc
mumsoft is online now  
post #3364 of 3377 Old 05-16-2015, 07:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
Can you run Maestro and/or Opus in your browser? Then your Olive is on the same network as your pc.
Maestro can be reached in your browser with http://ip-address/maestro.php and Opus with http://ip-address/olive_opus.php
ip-address here is the ip address that your Olive has. You can find it on screen when you select Settings -> Network setup -> Network Info.

The import folder can be reached, in your file manager, with smb://ip-address/import/
The screen of your Olive should be on, or else this would not work.

Marc
I got the ip from the Olive. However i put in the smb://ip number/import/ in the windows address bar and i got a error.
there is no program associated to perform the requested action.
olive hd is offline  
post #3365 of 3377 Old 05-16-2015, 07:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
mumsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by olive hd View Post
I got the ip from the Olive. However i put in the smb://ip number/import/ in the windows address bar and i got a error.
there is no program associated to perform the requested action.
It should be done with a file explorer, NOT a browser.
I do this with konqueror in Linux

Marc
mumsoft is online now  
post #3366 of 3377 Old 05-16-2015, 08:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
It should be done with a file explorer, NOT a browser.
I do this with konqueror in Linux

Marc
So i shouldnt be doing this in windows explorer file manager.
olive hd is offline  
post #3367 of 3377 Old 05-16-2015, 10:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
mumsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I think you should.

Marc
mumsoft is online now  
post #3368 of 3377 Old 05-16-2015, 12:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
I think you should.

Marc
It didnt work though as i got that error in the previous post.
I just found that my PC and router is showing on the Olive.

Last edited by olive hd; 05-16-2015 at 12:53 PM.
olive hd is offline  
post #3369 of 3377 Old 05-16-2015, 01:06 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Marc,

I found a folder called import share. Do i put my music from the PC into this folder and then it should show up in Maestro. Is this correct. Thank you for your help.
olive hd is offline  
post #3370 of 3377 Old 05-16-2015, 01:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
mumsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by olive hd View Post
Marc,

I found a folder called import share. Do i put my music from the PC into this folder and then it should show up in Maestro. Is this correct. Thank you for your help.
Yes. Don't do too much at a time, as it is always a bit difficult to find where Maestro thinks it should show up.
Congratulations btw.

Marc
mumsoft is online now  
post #3371 of 3377 Old 05-16-2015, 03:20 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi Mark,

Thanks for your help. I have another question. When importing music to the Olive if i have the same Album on the Olive but added songs or different versions that i am importing will this overwrite the album in the Olive or will it create two albums of the same.
olive hd is offline  
post #3372 of 3377 Old 05-16-2015, 03:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
mumsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 25
It will never overwrite.

Marc
mumsoft is online now  
post #3373 of 3377 Old 05-16-2015, 11:39 PM
Newbie
 
clinchj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
Yes, me.

Anyone interested in an improved list of composers and conductors for your Olive?
It's a file called pl2_autocomplete.ps and it has to be placed in a certain directory on the Olive. It's easy to do with sshfs. But before I go into the gory details, I just like to know if someone is interested.
I found it a nuisance to see so much errors and missing composer names in this file, that I constantly have edited it, since I found out where the file was. Now it's pretty complete, although not faultless. It has 168 composers, about 20 more than original.

Marc
Yes, please Marc, me too.
I've always been exasperated that they couldn't even spell Mendelssohn, for example, let alone add the complete Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, nor include the extended alphabet characters such as in Dvořák
clinchj is offline  
post #3374 of 3377 Old 05-17-2015, 01:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
mumsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Correct. This F. Mendesohn guy got me searching. I can't tell the file is now perfect, as I have updated it once I found an error. The last was Nicolo Paganini, now Nicolò Paganini.
GJ has offered to place the file on his site with instructions, just wait a bit.

Marc
mumsoft is online now  
post #3375 of 3377 Old 05-17-2015, 06:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
mumsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Lightbulb Improved composers list available

GJ1970 has placed the improved composers (and conductors etc.) list on his site, with instructions, both for Linux users and Windows users.

See: http://www.lydo.nl/olive/improved-li...rs-conductors/

Have fun.

Warranty: NONE
Maintenance: uhhhhh? Maybe... Suggestions are welcome.

Marc
mumsoft is online now  
post #3376 of 3377 Unread Today, 02:26 PM
Senior Member
 
clpetersen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Impressive

Quote:
Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
GJ1970 has placed the improved composers (and conductors etc.) list on his site, with instructions, both for Linux users and Windows users.

See: http://www.lydo.nl/olive/improved-li...rs-conductors/

Have fun.

Warranty: NONE
Maintenance: uhhhhh? Maybe... Suggestions are welcome.

Marc
Well, you and Gertjan are certainly improving the Olive experience. Maybe you should take over the company!
I might try moving the composers file over to our sole remaining 03HD. Latest rips have been in ALAC, so I would need to transcribe into FLAC first. Pretty much moved over to JRiver and Sonos.

any thoughts on the process in MAC environment? Can bring home my Windows laptop I suppose...
clpetersen is online now  
post #3377 of 3377 Unread Today, 02:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
mumsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I have no Mac, so, please fill in this ugly gap. I was quite impressed by GJ to see his description for Windows.
I have offered Olive a free Dutch translation, but I got no reply, alas. That is as far as will go for Olive.

Marc
mumsoft is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply CD Players & Dedicated Music Transports

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off