"Official" Olive Thread Opus 4, Opus 6, Melody 2, Olive 2, Olive 4/ 4HD, 06HD - Page 123 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 59Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3661 of 3672 Old 06-23-2016, 10:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
mumsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Oh no. It's just a matter to tell your Olive that olive.us is online and that it's address is where your Olive is. 127.0.0.1 if I'm correct.
You add this to your hosts file and you're done.

When I am at my pc I will recite the complete file.

Marc
mumsoft is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3662 of 3672 Old 06-23-2016, 01:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
mumsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Here is the hosts file that I have. It's located in the etc map:

Quote:
127.0.0.1 localhost localhost.localdomain
#regel toegevoegd zodat internetradio ook werkt als de Olive-site down is (marc 31-05-2014)
127.0.0.1 olive.us olive
That does the trick. Of course it also keeps your Olive from getting updates, but who cares nowadays?

Marc
mumsoft is offline  
post #3663 of 3672 Old 06-24-2016, 03:53 AM
Member
 
GJ1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Instructions can also be found on
http://www.lydo.nl/olive/internet-down/

Since I mostly use an Olive 2 (write protected) I have not done the change myself.

Best regards,

Gertjan
GJ1970 is offline  
post #3664 of 3672 Old 06-25-2016, 01:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
mumsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by GJ1970 View Post
Instructions can also be found on
http://www.lydo.nl/olive/internet-down/

Gertjan
That is the real trick. Thanks! I just forgot about it. Merely changing the hosts file won't last.

Marc
mumsoft is offline  
post #3665 of 3672 Old 06-25-2016, 01:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Den Haag
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question Olive 04HD stuck at startup

Hi everyone,

I own my olive for almost 3 years now.
When I started it up today after not using it since last christmas, I noticed it's not starting up further then the white startup screen with the text "System starting up, please wait ...".

What could be the problem here?

I tried the following;
  • Starting it up with a UTP cable attached to it
  • Starting it up without a UTP cable to it
  • starting it up after a while
  • starting it up with an antenna attached to it
  • starting it up without an antenna attached to it

Now I don't have much music stored on it's harddrive so If a reset or anything is possible, I'd like to know how I could do that.
I already searched for an image to reset the disk completely but couldn't find any img files for an olive 04HD on the web.

If anyone has tips for me I'd be grateful
Admiraal is offline  
post #3666 of 3672 Old 06-27-2016, 05:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
mumsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Admiraal View Post
Hi everyone,

I own my olive for almost 3 years now.
When I started it up today after not using it since last christmas, I noticed it's not starting up further then the white startup screen with the text "System starting up, please wait ...".

What could be the problem here?

I tried the following;
  • Starting it up with a UTP cable attached to it
  • Starting it up without a UTP cable to it
  • starting it up after a while
  • starting it up with an antenna attached to it
  • starting it up without an antenna attached to it

Now I don't have much music stored on it's harddrive so If a reset or anything is possible, I'd like to know how I could do that.
I already searched for an image to reset the disk completely but couldn't find any img files for an olive 04HD on the web.

If anyone has tips for me I'd be grateful
Someone here must have a 4HD recovery disk. But usually these are also packed with a newly bought Olive (and seldom come with a second-hand one )

Marc (who still has to go to the post office to inquire for postage cost of some O3 parts)
mumsoft is offline  
post #3667 of 3672 Old 07-02-2016, 01:40 AM
Member
 
greywolf62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Reconnecting my Olive machines

Dear friends,
I have been away from this forum for quite some time. Just moved back to The Hague and setting up my stereo again. 2hd and 4hd still working fine except for the following issues: 1.app still freezes on iPad and iPhone. 2. No internet radio. I saw the posts concerning the second issue, but I don't think I can manage rewriting the Sw. Question for my Dutch friends: is there a local hi-fi store that used to sell these and still has enough technical knowledge to help me out? Also with future ambition to transfer 1tb of music to a more reliable and actually customer friendly machine (got a demonstration of NAÏM Unitilite at STOET hi-fi in the Hague). Why anyone would want to deal with Olive after the experiences we had over the last 8 years is a mistery to me.
Cheers, Tim
greywolf62 is offline  
post #3668 of 3672 Old 07-02-2016, 06:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
mumsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by greywolf62 View Post
Dear friends,
I have been away from this forum for quite some time. Just moved back to The Hague and setting up my stereo again. 2hd and 4hd still working fine except for the following issues: 1.app still freezes on iPad and iPhone. 2. No internet radio. I saw the posts concerning the second issue, but I don't think I can manage rewriting the Sw. Question for my Dutch friends: is there a local hi-fi store that used to sell these and still has enough technical knowledge to help me out? Also with future ambition to transfer 1tb of music to a more reliable and actually customer friendly machine (got a demonstration of NAÏM Unitilite at STOET hi-fi in the Hague). Why anyone would want to deal with Olive after the experiences we had over the last 8 years is a mistery to me.
Cheers, Tim
You got a pm.

Marc
mumsoft is offline  
post #3669 of 3672 Old 07-14-2016, 06:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Den Haag
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
Someone here must have a 4HD recovery disk. But usually these are also packed with a newly bought Olive (and seldom come with a second-hand one )

Marc (who still has to go to the post office to inquire for postage cost of some O3 parts)
So then my next question:
Who here has such a recovery disk and is willing to share it with me?
Admiraal is offline  
post #3670 of 3672 Old Yesterday, 06:02 AM
Senior Member
 
clpetersen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Admiraal View Post
Hi everyone,

I own my olive for almost 3 years now.
When I started it up today after not using it since last christmas, I noticed it's not starting up further then the white startup screen with the text "System starting up, please wait ...".

What could be the problem here?

I tried the following;
  • Starting it up with a UTP cable attached to it
  • Starting it up without a UTP cable to it
  • starting it up after a while
  • starting it up with an antenna attached to it
  • starting it up without an antenna attached to it

Now I don't have much music stored on it's harddrive so If a reset or anything is possible, I'd like to know how I could do that.
I already searched for an image to reset the disk completely but couldn't find any img files for an olive 04HD on the web.

If anyone has tips for me I'd be grateful
I do have the recovery files for the 04HD and the recovery CD image. About 2.4 GB in total size. if you have a dropbox or ftp site I can transfer it.
clpetersen is offline  
post #3671 of 3672 Old Today, 01:39 PM
Member
 
greywolf62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Streaming from 4HD

Dear friends,
Quick question:
Will a Bluesound node2 or a Naim Muso be able to "read" my O4Hd? I want to stream to another room
Thanks for any info
Cheers Tim
greywolf62 is offline  
post #3672 of 3672 Old Today, 02:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
mumsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I think so. But be aware of the fact that you won't see all fields, as those other streamers use different databases. But Artist-album-track should work.

Marc
mumsoft is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply CD Players & Dedicated Music Transports



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off