Does Rega rp1 turntable support dual voltage? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 
Thread Tools
Old 10-05-2011, 05:08 PM - Thread Starter
foobar007's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking at Rega rp1 turntable. Does it support dual voltage (110v and 220v)? I can't seem to find this information online.

foobar007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Old 10-05-2011, 06:32 PM
Advanced Member
Harrypt's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's an AC synchronous motor. At that price point I can all but guarantee that there is nothing in there but a motor and a switch. Even the motor upgrades require you to select the version for your country. You'll have to buy the correct version or use a converter.
Harrypt is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
ap1's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 20
None of TT with asynchronous motor can work in different power systems. Main problem is frequency - 50 vs 60 Hz. It has to be either DC motor or synchronous motor with its own generator (this later design is mostly used in really hi-end tables).
ap1 is online now  
Thread Tools

Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off