Yamaha CD-N500 Networked CD Player Owners Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 90 Old 02-17-2013, 03:30 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

I'm new to AVS forum but felt compelled to start a thread on this new device as information is still pretty sparse on web.
http://au.yamaha.com/en/products/audio-visual/hifi-components/cd-players/cd-n500_w/?mode=model

I received the CD-N500 last week and so far very happy. I'd had the Yamaha AS-700 amplifier for a couple of years which was connected to an iPod dock. Like a lot of people I have many CDs (I guess over a 500 - mainly alternative rock but a bit of everything). In recent years I ripped many of them via ITunes and got into the habit of using Sounddocks. Not meaning to make this sound like Ipod Anonymous...

If you read some threads on this device, you have I guess a lot of younger people wondering why anyone would bother with CDs anymore. For me, the reason is I dislike the idea of losing quality with the compression. Also, it seems amazing to me that in Australia, it is often as cheap or cheaper to buy the CD that buying an album on iTunes. I also get some albums exclusively on MP3 as I've had a subscription to eMusic.com for years.

I have previously looked at routing MP3s to the stereo with a Squeezebox, but I was frustrated by this solution. Squeezebox was always being updated with it's firmware and would frequently stop working. It also needed a PC or NAS to be serve the music which I found a little painful. I guess the thing for me is also that I work with computers all day and so when I listen to music to relax I really wanted to be as unaware of the technology as possible. It bugged me that when I bought a CD, I couldn't just slap it on (needing first to convert to MP3 on my PC).