1Likes
  • 1 Post By mister_xenomorph

post #1 of 5 Old 08-06-2014, 12:42 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Looking for advice on purchasing turntable and necessary hardware

I'm wanting to get into listening to vinyl records, but I have no knowledge on what makes a turntable good, nor do I really know what additional hardware I'll need to utilize a turntable. I've done a little bit of research, and I've generally gotten two different opinions: 1) vintage turntables are overall superior to modern ones, and 2) that statement is complete malarkey. I'd honestly rather believe the second opinion since vintage turntables seem quite a bit harder to come by, but I don't know what to believe since, well, I have no knowledge with this stuff.

I really want to buy used since I'm guessing the total cost would be too pricey for me if I bought everything new (and I'll need *everything,* even speakers). I would prefer the expenses to stay below $300. I probably won't use the system too heavily, so I'd imagine $300 is a decent budget.

My request at this point is that I get some advice on what brands of turntables I should be searching for (and maybe I could get some assistance in the searching) as well as advice for the additional hardware.

Any and all assistance is appreciated!

P.S. I assume for turntables this forum is the correct one to post in... if not, I apologize. :P
Divergent9999 likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 08-06-2014, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 324
$300 for a whole system, including turntable? In that case, new is out of the question. But buying a used turntable is a very dodgy business for someone who admits to knowing nothing about them. I suggest you rethink this.

If you can't explain how it works, you can't say it doesn't.—The High-End Creed

post #3 of 5 Old 08-06-2014, 09:21 PM - Thread Starter

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1