PS3 as a CD Player - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 129 Old 06-24-2010, 12:55 PM
Member
 
aztlan67's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone , recently I upgraded my AV/R and since then when I play any CD it seems I lost my bass ,my setting for audio on PS3 where as follows HDMI then automatic configuration for blu-ray view, change from bitstream to LPCM to send PCM signal to receiver, on music settingS I tried MP3 and AAC, and now on regular or burn cd's only, I can't figure why there is not enough bass , any help please
Thanks
aztlan67 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 129 Old 06-26-2010, 07:28 AM
Newbie
 
tbtom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you have a subwoofer? Are your speakers set to "large" or "small"? I would check out the PS3 thread under Blu-ray Players.
tbtom is offline  
post #123 of 129 Old 07-13-2010, 07:44 AM
Newbie
 
UNCHeelYeah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I have noticed that when using my PS3 as a CD player, when I select a track, the first second or so is eliminated from that track. From that point on, if I let the CD play straight through, the other tracks aren't affected; however, if I manually select another track, then the omission occurs again.

I am using HDMI Sony premium cable, through a NAD T785HD A/V receiver. I have two bridged NAD C272's running from the preamp section of the 785 for listening to music in stereo mode. Prior to hooking up the two C272's I had the same issue just using the PS3 through the 785 by itself.

Anyone else ever experience this issue, and know what can be done to remedy it? The sound is quite excellent, but missing the first few seconds of a track that is manually selected is annoying.

Thanks!
UNCHeelYeah is offline  
post #124 of 129 Old 07-27-2010, 04:35 PM
Member
 
Brien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by razel View Post

Finally! After 3 years, there are no more surprizes for HDMI audio output. Firmware 3.1 finally resolves the multichannel issue. If your reciever supports multichannel up to 5.1 or 7.1 @ 176k when you play any music it will output with the correct number of channels. Before 3.1, the PS3 will output 5.1 or 7.1 @ 176k for 2 channel upsampled music. Now it will output 2 channels @ 176k without having to do the workaround.

Is there some sort of setting I need to switch? When I put in a 2ch CD, it always sends it as multi-track PCM to my AVR. I'd love to be able to send it to my receiver as 2ch. PCM.
Brien is offline  
post #125 of 129 Old 07-28-2010, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
razel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brien View Post

Is there some sort of setting I need to switch? When I put in a 2ch CD, it always sends it as multi-track PCM to my AVR. I'd love to be able to send it to my receiver as 2ch. PCM.

Assuming it's PS3 with firmware 3.1 or greater connected HDMI to your receiver. Some people had luck with having the PS3 redetect capability of the audio receiver. Also ensure 44.1, not 48k is set in the music setting and also check that the surround processing is off or set to 'straight' on your receiver.
razel is offline  
post #126 of 129 Old 08-16-2010, 02:06 PM
Senior Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
My Yamaha 661 automatically disables processing and goes to "Straight" when I play CDs at 176.4khz.It won't let you apply any soundfields or processing at all.
bradman is offline  
post #127 of 129 Old 09-16-2010, 01:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ryan Peddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Whitby, ON
Posts: 646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aztlan67 View Post

Hello everyone , recently I upgraded my AV/R and since then when I play any CD it seems I lost my bass ,my setting for audio on PS3 where as follows HDMI then automatic configuration for blu-ray view, change from bitstream to LPCM to send PCM signal to receiver, on music settingS I tried MP3 and AAC, and now on regular or burn cd's only, I can't figure why there is not enough bass , any help please
Thanks

I am experiencing the same thing. When I listen to music, I prefer to only use my front towers (Paradigm Studio 100 v5, connected to NAD M25, so plenty of power).

When I listen to music via cd, mp3 stored, or lossless stored, there is drop off in bass output.

Yet when I watch a movie and play it in stereo mode with the sub off, I still get great bass.

I am starting to think the PS3 is crappy for music audio quality for bass.

Custom Home Theater Sales Specialist.
Newmarket, ON.
Ryan Peddle is offline  
post #128 of 129 Old 05-04-2014, 09:44 AM
Newbie
 
zorro21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, I know this thread is old but hopefully someone can help me out.

I have a 1st gen (Fat) PS3 and whenever I play an audi CD on it, I can only hear music coming out of one side of my soundbar. I'm sure there is a setting that I'm overlooking that would permit the audio to come out from 2 channels.

Here's my equipment:

Player: Fat PS3
Receiver: Pioneer elite vsx60
Soundbar: Episode 300 (3 channel)

PS3 and receiver are hooked via HDMI.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you!
zorro21 is offline  
post #129 of 129 Old 05-12-2014, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phantom Stranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Between the known and the unknown...
Posts: 3,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by zorro21 View Post

Hey guys, I know this thread is old but hopefully someone can help me out.

I have a 1st gen (Fat) PS3 and whenever I play an audi CD on it, I can only hear music coming out of one side of my soundbar. I'm sure there is a setting that I'm overlooking that would permit the audio to come out from 2 channels.

Here's my equipment:

Player: Fat PS3
Receiver: Pioneer elite vsx60
Soundbar: Episode 300 (3 channel)

PS3 and receiver are hooked via HDMI.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you!
It's almost certainly a setting in your receiver that is causing the problem, unless your soundbar has gone bad on one side.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(last update: July 30, 2014)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Phantom Stranger is offline  
Reply CD Players & Dedicated Music Transports

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off