DAB reception vs FM same antenna ? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 02-18-2009, 11:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
zeiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you need different antenna to receive DAB if your tuner is equipped or you can use FM antenna ?
zeiter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 02-19-2009, 11:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
scowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 10,586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 37
What's DAB?

NOW: my post on AVS Forum.
NEXT: someone else's post on AVS Forum.
scowl is online now  
post #3 of 18 Old 02-19-2009, 03:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
zeiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DAB is Digital Audio Broadcast, or sometimes called DRB Digital Radio Broadcast.
zeiter is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 02-19-2009, 04:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
scowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 10,586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeiter View Post

DAB is Digital Audio Broadcast, or sometimes called DRB Digital Radio Broadcast.

So that's what it stands for. What is it?

NOW: my post on AVS Forum.
NEXT: someone else's post on AVS Forum.
scowl is online now  
post #5 of 18 Old 02-19-2009, 08:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jim1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 11
http://www.uk-dab.info/stationlist.php

I am not very familiar with DAB, but I gather from the above website that UK DAB digital radio transmissions operate on the following frequencies:

11B: 218.640 MHz
11C: 220.352 MHz
11D: 222.064 MHz
12A: 223.936 MHz
12B: 225.648 MHz
12C: 227.360 MHz
12D: 229.072 Mhz

FM Broadcast Band can vary depending on what country you are referring to, but it often starts at about 76 or 88 mHz and may stop at 107.9. Considering the frequency range of FM vs. DAB probably the answer is usually no, but also keep in mind that any antenna may get some signal at various frequencies, so I think a discone antenna may be an option if you are looking for an antenna that will work for both. I have used discone antennas and there is no gain, but they are very wide banded. Mine is rated from 100 mHz to about 1 gHz.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FM_radio

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FM_broadcast_band

http://www.avforums.com/forums/dab-d...endations.html

http://www.aerialsandtv.com/fmanddabradio.html
Jim1348 is online now  
post #6 of 18 Old 02-20-2009, 06:37 AM
Member
 
jerrya1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeiter View Post

Do you need different antenna to receive DAB if your tuner is equipped or you can use FM antenna ?

Digital Radio and Digital TV are still transmitted on a analog signal with digital data superimposed on that on that analog signal .Trying to transmit digital data by itself is not going very far without a carrier.The same antenna you used for regular radio will also work fine for digital (HD)
jerrya1 is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 02-20-2009, 08:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
zeiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually I was looking for an indoor antenna .My tuner has an FM antenna connection, and another one for DAB . I contacted Dynalab and they recommended ST-2 for FM but said no good for DAB, for that they said to go for SR-100 ( 20 miles max range ).

http://www.magnumdynalab.com/fmantennas-overview.htm
zeiter is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 02-20-2009, 08:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
scowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 10,586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 37
What country are you in, zeiter (does that imply Germany)? We don't have DAB in the U.S. since those frequencies are in use for other things.

NOW: my post on AVS Forum.
NEXT: someone else's post on AVS Forum.
scowl is online now  
post #9 of 18 Old 02-20-2009, 03:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
zeiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scowl View Post

What country are you in, zeiter (does that imply Germany)? We don't have DAB in the U.S. since those frequencies are in use for other things.

I'm in Canada and we have so far about 60 DAB stations I think. Does not concern me much, as I heard DAB range is about 50 KM. I live in Montreal, and there are about 12 or 13 DAB stations. Tuner I got ( Arcam ), in menu setting , says DAB for US and Canada. And by the way, my Tuner came from Arcam US as Canada were out.
zeiter is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 02-20-2009, 03:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
scowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 10,586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Does this radio support DAB+? That's closer to what HD Radio provides with codec and error correction.

NOW: my post on AVS Forum.
NEXT: someone else's post on AVS Forum.
scowl is online now  
post #11 of 18 Old 02-20-2009, 05:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
zeiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scowl View Post

Does this radio support DAB+? That's closer to what HD Radio provides with codec and error correction.

Yes it does support DAB+ where available. Just remember if you decide to buy it that DAB is optional. You'll have to check with your dealer to have the chip installed. Maybe other brands are standard, I don't know.By the way I learned that in the US, L frequency for DAB is restricted to military communications only, so not sure what's used instead for DAB if any.
zeiter is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 02-21-2009, 03:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
scowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 10,586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeiter View Post

By the way I learned that in the US, L frequency for DAB is restricted to military communications only, so not sure what's used instead for DAB if any.

DAB is not broadcast in the U.S. on any frequencies. HD Radio is the only digital radio system here.

NOW: my post on AVS Forum.
NEXT: someone else's post on AVS Forum.
scowl is online now  
post #13 of 18 Old 02-21-2009, 05:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N5XZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
That freqs, is in somewhere in 1.4 GHz for DAB "L-band" I heard they are having a lots of problems mostly due to microwave's propagation issue.

Just google it, on Canadian DAB's broadcast issues and why they started in the bad place to do it.

2-21-09

"73's N5XZS"
From Timothy C. Johnson
Live Long and Prosper...
N5XZS is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 02-22-2009, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DAB in Canada is pretty much dead. Nobody monitors the signal. Some stations go with left or right channel missing for months. Also some are in mono even though on FM they are stereo.

Here is the link to Canadian forum that discuses DAB and HD radio. http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...t=34783&page=8
CKNA is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 02-23-2009, 10:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
scowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 10,586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by CKNA View Post

Here is the link to Canadian forum that discuses DAB and HD radio. http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...t=34783&page=8

I've complained about engineers messing up their HD audio but the posts on that thread show that Canadian stations have let their DAB stations become completely unlistenable.

I hope DAB+ will revive it. It has a better codec and much more error correction than old DAB. I like the idea of digital audio being broadcast with a non-proprietary codec and in its own band.

NOW: my post on AVS Forum.
NEXT: someone else's post on AVS Forum.
scowl is online now  
post #16 of 18 Old 02-24-2009, 05:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
zeiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Deception. Module for DAB+ I ordered from my Arcam dealer won't be coming at all. I got a call saying that Arcam dropped the hole DAB+ thing for North America.It will be only for Europe, and the optional internal module won't be available for North America . So that cancels the whole post, and which antennna does not matter anymore. No DAB or DAB+ for North America ( at least from that manufacturer ).
zeiter is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 02-25-2009, 07:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scowl View Post

I've complained about engineers messing up their HD audio but the posts on that thread show that Canadian stations have let their DAB stations become completely unlistenable.

I hope DAB+ will revive it. It has a better codec and much more error correction than old DAB. I like the idea of digital audio being broadcast with a non-proprietary codec and in its own band.

DAB+ uses the same codec as HD Radio which is AAC+. However Ibiquity licenses it under HD Radio codec to make it easier. DAB+ will be a failure just like DAB, and it is completely incompatible with with any DAB receivers.

Many countries that had DAB and shut it down, are actually testing HD Radio.
Spectrum is at the premium nowadays, and can be used for other and better things beside duplicating what is already on the air on FM and AM.

The only country that has any DAB that actually people use is UK, and even there it sucks. Many stations are in mono, even if they are stereo on FM, and many stations are at 80Kbps Mpeg1 audio that is the worst audio codec ever developed.

In Canada they will probably be switching to HD Radio at least for FM. There is already station that broadcasts it. Also many people that live close to US border are buying HD Radio tuners to listen stations from US.
CKNA is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 12-17-2013, 06:44 AM
Newbie
 
munei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can we used as same antenna to received the FM and DAB? Is there need any spliter circuit? I'm not sure our car antenna can received the frequency band from 76mhz to 108mhz, Then 175mhz 230mhz
munei is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HD Radio



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off