XDR-F1HD connection question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 11-28-2009, 06:42 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mdovell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I might get this soon (price dropped again) I just want to make sure I get this right.

I already have a decent antenna (archer color eagle..oldie but goodie)

If I get this
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg...l/-/B0000AJ692

would it work in tangent with this
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...odsInSession=1

I know it isn't the best speaker in the world.

I just thought the rca input would go into the radio and the input of the speakers would go into this other.
mdovell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-01-2009, 10:33 PM
Senior Member
 
W1KNE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: East Providence, RI
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That Amazon link brings me to the home page.
However what I think youre asking is about the output of the XDR-F1HD.
It is line level only, you will need to have an amplifier to speakers or amplified speakers for it.

--Mike Fitzpatrick
Broadcast Engineer

Put your boots on folks, it's getting pretty deep in here!
Note: opinions and advice given here are mine and mine only.
W1KNE is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-04-2009, 04:14 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mdovell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well. if the output can go to rca cables can I plug in an rca to a line in converter cable and then to speakers? I'm just trying to figure out how to use speakers on this without a a receiver.
mdovell is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 12-04-2009, 05:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
fastl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Use "powered" speakers. Try searching websites like bswusa.com, sweetwater.com, guitarcenter.com. Generally, any of the websites that cater to professional audio types or musicians will have them.
fastl is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-18-2009, 06:26 PM
Member
 
Seanraff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Go to the Goodwill store and buy a set of old computer speakers, I got a nice set of Bose with the Sub for $5.00!
You will have to adapt the stereo single pin plug on the computer speakers to twin RCA plugs, put that is easy, if worse comes to worse, get out your wire strippers and soldering iron.....
Seanraff is offline  
Reply HD Radio

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off