Sangean HDR-1 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 79 Old 03-10-2006, 11:03 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Jim1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Someone sent me a picture to the forthcoming Sangean HDR-1. Does anyone here know anyone more details about this? It looks pretty nice from the picture that I have seen.
Jim1348 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 79 Old 04-16-2006, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 1,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I checked their website, and they didn't say a work about it, so I fired off an e-mail to them. If you have the picture, please post it.
mattdp is offline  
post #3 of 79 Old 04-18-2006, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 1,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got an e-mail back from Sangean today. This is what they had to say:
Quote:


Yes, Sangean will be releasing mainstream HD radio by Q4 of this year.
I don't have the final price for you at this time since the expansive module
is not finalized in price yet.
Attached please find preliminary images and spec. for this HD radio under
developed.
Thank you for your interest in Sangean products.

They also sent me a 3850x1773 photo of the radio of the radio, and the spec sheet
mattdp is offline  
post #4 of 79 Old 04-20-2006, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
k2koq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: LongIsland NY
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Information display for channel no."
this is not good ...unless it is a very low price radio
k2koq is offline  
post #5 of 79 Old 09-18-2006, 05:15 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Jim1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I e-mailed Sangean about this over the weekend. They did state this:

"It will be available around the holidays, unfortunately we do not have MSRP
price for it yet."
Jim1348 is offline  
post #6 of 79 Old 09-18-2006, 05:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bob Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sonoma, CA, USA
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by k2koq View Post

"Information display for channel no."
this is not good ...unless it is a very low price radio

It says " Information display for channel no., channel frequency, ensemble label, service label, dynamic label, transmission mode, data rate, secondary service availability indicator." which I read to mean, 'channel number, channel frequency...
Bob Smith is offline  
post #7 of 79 Old 09-19-2006, 06:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
goobenet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is with these manufacturers?!?! These litttle crapass radios (unless they're trying to hide the imperfections of the codec (which there are very few, admitedly))

All i would like to see is a stand alone tuner, not made by McIntosh and other high-end brands. Why can't pioneer or kenwood release a home theater standalone tuner for under 300 bucks?!

Stupid question, but requires a smart answer.
goobenet is offline  
post #8 of 79 Old 09-20-2006, 01:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Carnivore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI Sangean just put out a press release on their HD Radios with MSRP details. It's dated Sept 14 on Sangean's web site but most media publications published it yesterday, Sept. 19.

Goobenet, you may be happy to see their standalone tuner for $199.


Link
Carnivore is offline  
post #9 of 79 Old 09-20-2006, 11:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
scowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 10,487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I don't think Pioneer or Kenwood even make home DAB receivers for European markets. They do make DAB car radios though. That's seems to be where manufacturers are putting their latest radio technology. People probably buy more car radios every year than home receivers.

NOW: my post on AVS Forum.
NEXT: someone else's post on AVS Forum.
scowl is offline  
post #10 of 79 Old 09-20-2006, 08:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
goobenet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm honestly not looking for a home receiver. I want a standalone tuner add-on! This is what the AVR market really would demand moreso than a whole new AVR. If i want to listen to the radio on a "radio", i'll stick to my GE superRadio 3. You cannot hear the improvements on a tabletop radio with HD, short of no static. See the point?
goobenet is offline  
post #11 of 79 Old 09-21-2006, 11:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
scowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 10,487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by goobenet View Post

I'm honestly not looking for a home receiver. I want a standalone tuner add-on!

I've never heard of these. What's the difference?

NOW: my post on AVS Forum.
NEXT: someone else's post on AVS Forum.
scowl is offline  
post #12 of 79 Old 09-21-2006, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Carnivore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by goobenet View Post

I'm honestly not looking for a home receiver. I want a standalone tuner add-on!


This Sangean HDT-1 Tuner isn't what you're looking for?
Carnivore is offline  
post #13 of 79 Old 09-21-2006, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 1,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
YAYYYYYYYYYYYYY



If that unit costs less than $200, I'll buy it!

Sangean has yet to give a price listing
mattdp is offline  
post #14 of 79 Old 09-21-2006, 05:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bob Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sonoma, CA, USA
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just wish it had a digital output---Price is sure right.

Bob
Bob Smith is offline  
post #15 of 79 Old 09-21-2006, 09:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
goobenet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Digital tuner, bout time! The only one out there aside from the rotel, which is about $1k. But yes, it would make sense to have a digital output on a digital tuner, doncha think? I think i'll email sangean about this. But if this guy comes in at under $200, here's the market penetration they've been needing.
goobenet is offline  
post #16 of 79 Old 09-21-2006, 11:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Carnivore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Published reports like this one at Endgadget have pegged the MSRP at $199 for the tuner.
Carnivore is offline  
post #17 of 79 Old 09-22-2006, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 1,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So... $200 is a great price point, especially for a component tuner. I just have one little concern.

I've owned a Sangean ATS 909 for around three years now. It has continuous coverage from 150 KHZ-30MHZ, tons of pre-sets with assignable names, SSB, a gain control, external antenna input, etc... It also covers FM, and has RDS support.

This, even after 10 years of being on the market, is the iPod of portable shortwave radios.

The FM is pretty darn sensitive (on par with my Kenwood component tuner). There is just one little problem- It's extremely prone to overload.

I live 7 miles from Rochester's KNXR tower, which a number of the local stations broadcast off of, including KNXR (97.5mhz/100kw) and KLSE (91.7/94kw).

My stereo is located 2" above ground in the basement, with a large hill and 2 metal garage doors in line with the KNXR tower, so overload is not an issue. I once moved the reciever to a room upstairs, in an attempt to see what kind of reception I could get from Cities stations.... and a I got an FM band full of KNXR and KLSE.

On another occasion, I brought the receiver up the hill where our antenna system will soon be mounted (where I can physically see the tower). What did I get? a band full of harmonics, but I was able to find a spot where I could null out the signal with the receiver's antenna. In this spot, the TC stations came in with 8 out 10 signal bars (at 75 miles)!

As some of you know, it won't be long until I'm tuning in stations with a 17+ ft long FM antenna and pre-amp (mounted atop this hill). Now, I think my component tuner will fare ok, but I plan to trap out KNXR and KLSE eventually.

Sometime soon, I want to upgrade to the Sangean HDT-1. I'm just doubtful as to whether it will overload.
mattdp is offline  
post #18 of 79 Old 09-23-2006, 12:56 PM
Newbie
 
N7BFD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Smith View Post

I just wish it had a digital output---Price is sure right.

Bob

Yeah. At $199, though, I'll live with that.

Sign me up. I'll buy 2 HDT-1 -- one for home and one for work -- and I can move the JVC from my home stereo to my car. (I was just at Fry's and saw the JVC KD-HDR1 there for $199. I was tempted to buy a second one but said "Naw, I'll look to see if anything else is coming out this year". Glad I resisted and came home to check the forum!)

From an I/O perspective, the only other product that had some appeal was the Radiosophy product, but no IR remote and still not shipping. Methinks Sangean just ate their lunch.
N7BFD is offline  
post #19 of 79 Old 09-24-2006, 09:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Tachy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any ideas when the HDT-1 will be released? It looks pretty nice. Only the table radios seem to be on the market so far.
Tachy is offline  
post #20 of 79 Old 10-25-2006, 06:54 PM
Member
 
jeffrypennock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Galveston, TX
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tachy View Post

Any ideas when the HDT-1 will be released? It looks pretty nice. Only the table radios seem to be on the market so far.

The most specific indication I've seen is November 2006, but it's not up for presale on Amazon or anywhere else (that I've seen) and the info on the sangean website is pretty scant, so I don't know if the November 06 is still correct or not.
jeffrypennock is offline  
post #21 of 79 Old 10-27-2006, 11:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
MechanicalMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffrypennock View Post

The most specific indication I've seen is November 2006, but it's not up for presale on Amazon or anywhere else (that I've seen) and the info on the sangean website is pretty scant, so I don't know if the November 06 is still correct or not.

FWIW, jr.com is accepting pre-orders for the HDT-1. I'll probably buy one. I also need a new tabletop radio, but the HDR-1 is too expensive, so I'm looking at the WR-2.
MechanicalMan is offline  
post #22 of 79 Old 10-30-2006, 05:36 PM
Newbie
 
jeffsantos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the HDR-1 available anywhere yet?
jeffsantos is offline  
post #23 of 79 Old 12-04-2006, 04:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Master Theseus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can look at the HDT-1 thread, but the HDR-1 will be available in the coming days. I am the one that does the Sangean website and I will make better use of the space in announcing the release dates in the future, but it get's difficult with all the delays we have been having, and yes, we ate Radiosophy, BA and all the others.

We bought out enough of the HD modules that most others will have to wait another 3 months to release their pathetic attempts at HD Radio. - I am biases since I work for Sangean, but I think this is the best product to come out of Sangean in many years. Also, for those of you who like the WR-2 and don't care about HD we will release the WR-3 model with stereo and the first Sangean radio to feature CD & MP3 function, as well as an upcoming Wi-Fi radio.
Master Theseus is offline  
post #24 of 79 Old 12-08-2006, 01:24 PM
Member
 
alins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In terms of raw performance, especially sensitivity to weak signals, and selectivity, which is better, the HDR-1 or the HDT-1?
alins is offline  
post #25 of 79 Old 12-08-2006, 09:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Master Theseus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alins View Post

In terms of raw performance, especially sensitivity to weak signals, and selectivity, which is better, the HDR-1 or the HDT-1?

The HDT-1 would be the likely winner. Although it depends on the setting. Many people I know have them stacked at a low position in their home and that could effect reception.

I know that at home and using a cheap wire FM antenna I was able to receive all HD stations in the LA area, but the same goes for the HDR-1 that I have on my desk in the office with the telescoping antenna.

The NY Times review also indicates that of the table models the HDR-1 has the second to best in reception, and when compared to the iSonic it has better sound I think we have a great product we can feel proud of in the market. I myself would have liked SPDIF like the HDR-1 was originaly designed with, but se-la-vie.

We should expect to see digital outputs on the next generation of HD Radios from Sangean.
Master Theseus is offline  
post #26 of 79 Old 12-10-2006, 01:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 1,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master Theseus View Post

We should expect to see digital outputs on the next generation of HD Radios from Sangean.

WOOT!

That would be just wonderful! It'd be great if you could put on both an Optical and Coaxial S/PDIF, and possibly a pair of balanced outputs.
mattdp is offline  
post #27 of 79 Old 12-19-2006, 08:13 AM
Member
 
wolfee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Terk Advantage works great reducing noise on AM. But, it has the "plug" at the antenna and the twin leads at the radio. The HDR-1 has the plug at the radio and the twin leads are already attached to the supplied loop. So, if I go to radio shack will they have some kind of adapter so I can have a plug at the radio and a plug at the antenna also? What size/spec do I need to know? If it fits, it works?
wolfee is offline  
post #28 of 79 Old 12-19-2006, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mike Walker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the outlet for the "plug" on your HDR-1 is the same size as the AM Advantage (1/8" mono), then you can go to Radio Shack and get a cable with 1/8" mono male plugs on both ends. Then you'll be "sittin' pretty".
Mike Walker is offline  
post #29 of 79 Old 12-19-2006, 09:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bob Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sonoma, CA, USA
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was under the impression that most AM tuners required that the inductance of the external loopstick or loop antenna must be at a specified value to resonate with the internal tuning capacitor (or varactor) of the tuner. Does the external after-market antenna have a specified inductance? If not, I'd be quite worried that the image rejection of the tuner would be disturbed. Most of these tuners don't have a tuned RF stage, and have poor image rejection even when the tuning capacitor is adjusted for antenna inductance, I'd be worried that an aftermarket antenna would have to be broadband and thus destroy the image rejection of the tuner. Even my trivoli (sp?) radios at home have problems with image rejection (usually manifested by birdies or whistles when tuning stations on the low or high end of the band). If it got much worse, you would get a lot of extraneous signals.

Bob Smith
Bob Smith is offline  
post #30 of 79 Old 12-19-2006, 10:19 AM
Member
 
wolfee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, I'll check Radio Shack for it. It looks to be about 1/8". Bob, if it makes any difference the antenna is "tunable". It has a little dial at the bottom with the same range as the AM radio dial. You dial the antenna to about the same as the AM station. It is not a powered antenna. When tuning the antenna, it doesn't have to be exact. As you get close to the radio frequency on the antenna, the sound comes in. Final reception is about the same with the Terk, but some stations have background hum that the Terk eleiminates. The radio I use it with now is an inexpensive Sangean PRD2V.
wolfee is offline  
Reply HD Radio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off