DIY Spray Finishing Tutorial - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 27 Old 04-15-2008, 12:17 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got a few pm questions, so I started this thread to give a visual of spray finishing at home. I have access to a spray booth, but will do this in my garage to show results in a DIY setting. This will be for solid color mdf finishing.

This test box will be a gloss black.

A little background on me, I own a trim carpentry company, I am not a spray finisher by profession. But I do it out of an occasional necessity, and as a hobby. Very little audio theory knowledge though, and been here the last few months learning.

I skipped the box building, as from what I’ve seen, most of you guys get there w/o help. Just a tip, don’t leave your panels short on your corners. Better to leave them long, and trim them with a flush trim bit on the router. Less prep work.

*** Keep silicone out of the area. Silicone will mess up all finishes, if using it to seal inside the box, be careful what you touch!

PREP WORK:
Most important step. Don’t rush it. The higher the sheen (gloss), the more imperfections will be seen.

I’d start with bondo work. Regular automotive two-part, buy the gallon (well, I have other uses for it.) I’d go for a skim coat on all surfaces if you’re going for a gloss look. Raw MDF will finish differently than a filled one. I didn’t go into detail on Bondo work here, I’m sure there are plenty of auto body sites with step-by-step.

For sanding, random orbit sanders work, but the paper clogs quick with bondo. And you just end up following waves with the random orbit sander. You can use an 80 to take out the ridges, but I would not do all my sanding with a random orbit, just my initial clean up.

Don’t take it more than 1/3 past the edge, if you tip it you can round your flat surface. For a high gloss, ulltimate goal is the surface in the same plane.