Thinking of porting my sealed enclosure - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 08-14-2008, 01:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
agulha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I have a sealed enclosure, about 2" cube, for my SDX15 with a BASH500 amp. I'm realizing I could use a little more SPL, plus finding my amp is overheating too much, so Im thinking really seriously about porting the enclosure. My one concern is that the geometry of the enclosure is close to a cube, which I have heard can be problematic for resonances with a ported box. Any thoughts on this?
I suppose if it sounds terrible, I can re-seal it.
Would love to hear your ideas/opinions.
Thanks
agulha is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 08-14-2008, 01:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NEO Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: North East Ohio
Posts: 2,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Go passive radiator

Regards,
Dan
NEO Dan is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 08-14-2008, 01:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
agulha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
why passive radiator? less resonance problems?
I might not be able to because of all the bracing. But there might be a way.
Thanks
agulha is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 08-14-2008, 02:16 PM
Senior Member
 
mgboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN, USA
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
About two inches cubed? two cubic inches?

=X

But really, is that two cubed feet or 2ft*2ft*2ft? The former is too small to port effectively.
mgboy is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 08-14-2008, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
agulha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes i stuffed a 15" driver in a 2" cubed box =) Had to break some laws of physics, but its quite compact...

(i think this is called a spinal tap moment.)

no really its about 2'x2'x2'. I think it worked out to around 190L.
Sorry about the confusion
agulha is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 08-14-2008, 02:41 PM
Senior Member
 
mgboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN, USA
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Haha, I figured - just being silly and pointing out a typo. It's all good. Well in that enclosure if you did want to port it, I'd use a 6" port, about 29 inches long. That results in about a 17-19 Hz tune depending on the volume taken by the driver, port, and any bracing.
mgboy is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 08-14-2008, 02:53 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
agulha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what about 2 ports? say 4" diam each? Im not sure I can fit 6" tubing between the holes in the bracing.
agulha is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 08-14-2008, 04:02 PM
Senior Member
 
mgboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN, USA
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by agulha View Post

what about 2 ports? say 4" diam each? Im not sure I can fit 6" tubing between the holes in the bracing.

Well, two four in. ports at 28 inches each would work too, but you have less cross section, therefore more chuffing and what not.
mgboy is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 08-14-2008, 06:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
penngray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 26,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:


Im not sure I can fit 6" tubing between the holes in the bracing

Extend the tub out of the box, kind of like what the HSU Turbo designs do.

It is not "open-minded" to reject knowledge - Bob Lee
penngray is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 08-18-2008, 01:54 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
agulha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cool i was just thinking about that.. so there is no reason the port tubes need to be _inside_ an enclosure right??
thanks
agulha is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off