Behringer EP2500 How to use - for a novice - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 08:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
E-A-G-L-E-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
In my research I have realized that the information for this commonly used amp is all over the place.
I thought, perhaps niavely, that the experienced guys could fill this thread with the common connections/set-ups for this amp.
Discussing any mods that are commonly done, like the fan mods, filters, etc.

A novice/beginner can be easily overcome by all the information and not be able to make heads or tails of it.

Perhaps this thread can be a sort of FAQ or User Guide. One can include parts names and possibly where to find them.
Seems as though most here would love to see people jump in the DIY ring, but I can tell you experienced guys that it is daunting and something like this could really help!

Thanks to anyone in advance who is so kind as to offer their help and knowledge on this amp.
E-A-G-L-E-S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mynym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
DIP Switch Configuration for EP2500 set up for bridged mono mode

1 - Right
2 - Left
3 - Right

4 - Left
5 - Left

6 - Right
7 - Right

8 - Right
9 - Left
10 - Left (It mentions: "Switch off the input 2 clip limiter and filter" in bridge mode on back of amp in top left corner)

Also make sure the Input 2 attenuator is turned down completely.
mynym is offline  
post #3 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 10:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
E-A-G-L-E-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
E-A-G-L-E-S is offline  
post #4 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 10:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
XanderMoser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To connect the LFE output of a receiver to a pro amp, use one of these adapters and an RCA cable of your choice:

http://www.fullcompass.com/product/297984.html

If you're having ground issues and you want to life the ground you can use a Direct Box with RCA inputs, such as this:

http://www.fullcompass.com/product/265769.html

-----------------------

Fan Mod:

http://www.hometheatershack.com/foru...er-ep2500.html
XanderMoser is offline  
post #5 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 10:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
E-A-G-L-E-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
How do I connect the eQ.2 in the middle?

I'm guessing RCA - RCA, then from eQ.2 RCA to XLR to the EP2500?(is an xlr the same as a TS adapter?)
E-A-G-L-E-S is offline  
post #6 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 67
XLR isn't the same as TS/TRS adapter.

XLR is the bigger round one with three pins, TS/TRS are the 1/4" diameter connections that resemble headphone plugs.

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
post #7 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
E-A-G-L-E-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Being that the EP2500 has both types of inputs, Icould use either, correct?(no difference?)

Thanks so much for walking me through this guys!!!
E-A-G-L-E-S is offline  
post #8 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NEO Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: North East Ohio
Posts: 2,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
RCA to XLR is the best way to go vs a RCA to 1/4" TS adapter


Best solution=

Regards,
Dan
NEO Dan is offline  
post #9 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NEO Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: North East Ohio
Posts: 2,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
The important part is that the S is not conected to -siginal, USE A TRS connector if you go 1/4"

YOU NEED #18 IF YOU GO 1/4"

Regards,
Dan
NEO Dan is offline  
post #10 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 11:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jerm357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Detroit
Posts: 787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NEO Dan View Post

RCA to XLR is the best way to go vs a RCA to 1/4" TS adapter


Best solution=

Why would RCA to XLR be any better then RCA to 1/4" TS?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jerm357 is offline  
post #11 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NEO Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: North East Ohio
Posts: 2,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Ground loop hum

Regards,
Dan
NEO Dan is offline  
post #12 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NEO Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: North East Ohio
Posts: 2,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
compaired to RCA to TS the RCA to XLR or TRS are much less likely to introduce a ground loop hum into the system.

Regards,
Dan
NEO Dan is offline  
post #13 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
E-A-G-L-E-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just realized that I actually have an RCA to TS( i think-has a headphone end) from my computer to my AVR...I get horrible noise on that line, just aweful.
That was going to be my next project, to try to solve that.

So I will be getting two rca cables and a single XLR adapter...plus 35' of 12 guage speaker wire and some solder.

Thanks so much guys!!! Invaluable!
E-A-G-L-E-S is offline  
post #14 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NEO Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: North East Ohio
Posts: 2,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
that awfull noise is why I was making all the fuss, LOL

TRS and XLR are your friends

Regards,
Dan
NEO Dan is offline  
post #15 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NEO Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: North East Ohio
Posts: 2,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Best low cost solution for your PC to AVR issue, go optical
http://www.turtlebeach.com/products/micro/home.aspx

Regards,
Dan
NEO Dan is offline  
post #16 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 03:46 PM
Member
 
mikeonyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dan is right,

I currently have a RCA to 1/4" and I hear this ground hum. I isolated the source of the hum to the unbalanced signal. I am waiting for monoprice.com to release the RCA to XLR cable. The date of its release is in a few days -> 8/31.

If the ground hum continues, I will get this device to balance the signal and the upside is boosting the line to prosound level:

http://www.rackmount-devices.com/002-8485.html
mikeonyx is offline  
post #17 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 04:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
catapult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:


I currently have a RCA to 1/4" and I hear this ground hum. I isolated the source of the hum to the unbalanced signal. I am waiting for monoprice.com to release the RCA to XLR cable. The date of its release is in a few days -> 8/31.

You still need to know the specifics of the cable. Whether it's XLR or TRS, you want two wires surrounded by a shield that's only connected at one end like Dan's pics show. If they build it with a simple coax wire, one wire and a shield, and connect (-) to the shield at the TRS or XLR connector, you will have all the same ground loop problems as an RCA-TS cable. Edit: even if they use two wires plus a shield, it fails if they connect the shield at the RCA end. Seems like you almost have to build it yourself to make sure it's right. Cut a TRS cable in half and solder RCAs on the ends like Dan's pic. If you buy one, make sure you can return it and check it out with an ohmmeter.

Dennis H
catapult is offline  
post #18 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 05:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
E-A-G-L-E-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
And what if those pictures are foreign to me and I don't know where to get one that is reliable from the factory....what would you advise?
E-A-G-L-E-S is offline  
post #19 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NEO Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: North East Ohio
Posts: 2,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
order the parts from parts express & DIY for the win

or paypal me and i'll build it up

Regards,
Dan
NEO Dan is offline  
post #20 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 06:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
E-A-G-L-E-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Dan....PM sent.
E-A-G-L-E-S is offline  
post #21 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 08:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
penngray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 26,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:


or paypal me and i'll build it up

Make 10 more

It is not "open-minded" to reject knowledge - Bob Lee
penngray is offline  
post #22 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 10:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Erich H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 5,328
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 557
And a few more if I'm gonna need them too!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Twelve 10" NHT subwoofer build.
Cloning of a NHT VR-3.
2 ACI 15" subwoofers.

Erich H is offline  
post #23 of 123 Old 08-29-2008, 11:27 PM
Senior Member
 
kingpin111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oshawa, Ontario Canada
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 31
lol. Poor Dan. You guys better give him a good tip.

MKtheater -"I just saw 300 tonight, great movie. I literally wanted to spear people after the show."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kingpin111 is offline  
post #24 of 123 Old 08-30-2008, 01:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
XanderMoser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-A-G-L-E-S View Post

I just realized that I actually have an RCA to TS( i think-has a headphone end) from my computer to my AVR...I get horrible noise on that line, just aweful.
That was going to be my next project, to try to solve that.

So I will be getting two rca cables and a single XLR adapter...plus 35' of 12 guage speaker wire and some solder.

Thanks so much guys!!! Invaluable!

Don't use speaker wire! Use 2 conductor, shielded cable. Belden mic cable is a good choice. Speaker wire is not shielded, you will lose all shielding properties and won't get any noise protection. Especially with a 35' cable.
XanderMoser is offline  
post #25 of 123 Old 08-30-2008, 03:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rightbrained's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: LA , Lower Alabama that is
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's my DIY XLR to RCA. I used Dayton Mic cable and Dayton connectors.

If at first you dont succeed , get a bigger hammer !
Rightbrained is offline  
post #26 of 123 Old 08-30-2008, 07:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
E-A-G-L-E-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by XanderMoser View Post

Don't use speaker wire! Use 2 conductor, shielded cable. Belden mic cable is a good choice. Speaker wire is not shielded, you will lose all shielding properties and won't get any noise protection. Especially with a 35' cable.

So no speaker wire from amp to enclosure?
Beldin mic cable??
E-A-G-L-E-S is offline  
post #27 of 123 Old 08-30-2008, 09:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rightbrained's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: LA , Lower Alabama that is
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes , microphone cable is the correct cable to use for DIY 1/4 to RCA or XLR to RCA (like the ones I made). Mic cable has 2 insulated conductors and an outer shield which is used to connect chassis grounds on balanced connections. The shield is not used on the RCA (unbalanced) end of the cable that connects to your avr LFE output
You will use speaker wire from amp to sub . Xander was referring to the fact that you dont use speaker cable to make your interconnects.

If at first you dont succeed , get a bigger hammer !
Rightbrained is offline  
post #28 of 123 Old 08-30-2008, 09:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jerm357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Detroit
Posts: 787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-A-G-L-E-S View Post

So no speaker wire from amp to enclosure?

Yes, you will still need that. I think there talking about the input cable. You will still need speaker wire to go from the amp to the driver itself.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jerm357 is offline  
post #29 of 123 Old 08-30-2008, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Looneybomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 4,668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
As a temporary thing, I built my cables out of CAT5 just to get things hooked up one night. That's been more than a year ago now and noise has never been a problem. The cable however, doesn't fit the connectors very well (too small in dia.), so I will later build them correctly with the right cable.

YID DIY
Looneybomber is offline  
post #30 of 123 Old 08-30-2008, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
re: the ground loop hum, several people have complained about that with the AudioSource AMP300 as well. I'm hoping to get one of those the next time they go on sale at the Fry's here in Austin. (They're on sale in Silicon Valley for a song this weekend!)
allargon is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off