Q about routing the holes for speaker drivers... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 04-22-2009, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ChaoticBliss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When you cuts the holes for your drivers, do you make them the exact size of the inner diameter of the driver? Or do you make them a little bigger. Reason is ask is because if I make them the exact size of the inner diameter, I don't have the proper rabbeting bit size to flush mount them. So I figure I could adjust the hole size so that it works about my rabbeting bit will be the perfect size. Hope that made sense.

Thanks
ChaoticBliss is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 04-22-2009, 08:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
LHD21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you use a straight/up cut and a plunge router on some sort of jig you can dial in your flushing depth and your overall cutout diameter. Make a couple of passes at the diameter of your driver rim, until you get to the desired flush mount depth. Then reset for your cut out hole size. If your driver has a large basket you may have to do several concentric circles to get the flusmount the right width.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vasyachkin
Even i, the genius, only vaguely understand what i am saying here.
LHD21 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 04-22-2009, 09:42 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ChaoticBliss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Right now I don't have a plunge router and the only bits I have are a rabbiting bit set I borrowed from someone. So I need to cut the holes with my rotory tool (which I have a circle jig for) and then use my router for the flush mount. Problem is, I need to cut the holes a little larger than the driver basket so when I add the rabbit the driver will be flush with no gaps. So I guess my question is, can I make the hole a little larger than the driver basket or does it have to be the exact size? (The biggest rabbiting bit I have is 1/2 inch and by my calculation I need .66 inch for the driver I have).

Thanks
ChaoticBliss is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 04-22-2009, 10:57 AM
Senior Member
 
djarchow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 25
One thing to be careful of is to leave enough material for your screws or t-nuts. The more the better, especially if this is a heavy sub driver.

Regards,

Dennis
djarchow is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 04-22-2009, 08:26 PM
Senior Member
 
gimpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a little confused, but, if possible, do the flush mount rout first, then cut the hole out after you have done the flush mount.

Frank, "Still the one"
gimpy is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 04-23-2009, 07:26 AM
Senior Member
 
NJTEX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just test what you want to do on scrap board first so you can check if your driver can be mounted properly. I cut baffles the "normal" way and still test my set-ups on scrap wood first.
NJTEX is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 04-23-2009, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stgdz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: MNsnowta in april :(
Posts: 2,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Is it better to use this bit to make the initial flush mount depth to insert the up spiral bit into?
http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?page=19461

Or do you just use the upspiral bit to make your flush mount depth?
http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?p...forester%20bit
I would want the carbide 1/4" bit correct?
stgdz is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 04-23-2009, 10:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
penngray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 26,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:


(The biggest rabbiting bit I have is 1/2 inch and by my calculation I need .66 inch for the driver I have).

Can your driver mount on 1/2 inch?? You can cut your hole a little wider so that you could use the 1/2inch rabbit.

I measure the outside of the driver then create my hole based on the rabbits I own to create the flush mount.

It is not "open-minded" to reject knowledge - Bob Lee
penngray is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 04-23-2009, 02:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ChaoticBliss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by penngray View Post

Can your driver mount on 1/2 inch?? You can cut your hole a little wider so that you could use the 1/2inch rabbit.

I measure the outside of the driver then create my hole based on the rabbits I own to create the flush mount.

Its going to be close. I think a 3/4 inch would work out better but I am having a hard time finding a a bit that will do a 3/4 inch rabbit.
ChaoticBliss is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 04-23-2009, 03:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
penngray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 26,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaoticBliss View Post

Its going to be close. I think a 3/4 inch would work out better but I am having a hard time finding a a bit that will do a 3/4 inch rabbit.

Yep, that has been my problem too but for larger drivers, I use double baffles and then cut holes individually, the driver sits flush with the first baffle.

It is not "open-minded" to reject knowledge - Bob Lee
penngray is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 04-23-2009, 07:58 PM
Member
 
dawg1161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Anamosa, Iowa
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you don't do it penngray's way (which the double baffle is best for your enclosure imho) make sure if you cut the hole alittle larger that your screws have something to hit and are not to close to the edge(i have made this mistake)

Use a practice piece first as that was a good tip also. Good Luck.
dawg1161 is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off