Peavey IPR class D amps - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-27-2009, 05:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
findbuddha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brisbane, AUS
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Upcoming class D amps from Peavey, for your interest.... I'm hoping they perform with continous power it will cut the price on the system I'm building...


Quote:
* IPR1600 - Street Price: $299.99
* IPR3000 - Street Price: $399.99
* IPR4599 - Street Price: $499.99
* IPR6000 - Street Price: $599.99

In addition, the IPR DSP series features built-in DSP processing

* IPR DSP 1600 - Street Price: $449.99
* IPR DSP 3000 - Street Price: $599.99
* IPR DSP 4500 - Street Price: $649.99
* IPR DSP 6000 - Street Price: $799.99

Quote:
* IPR 1600 530W RMS x 2 at 4 ohms
* IPR 3000 1000W RMS x 2 at 4 ohms
* IPR 4400 1500W RMS x 2 at 4 ohms
* IPR 6000 2000W RMS x 2 at 4 ohms

* IPR DSP 1600 530W RMS x 2 at 4 ohms
* IPR DSP 3000 1000W RMS x 2 at 4 ohms
* IPR DSP 4400 1500W RMS x 2 at 4 ohms
* IPR DSP 6000 2000W RMS x 2 at 4 ohms

findbuddha is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-27-2009, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Willd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 5,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very interesting.
Willd is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 06:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Looneybomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 4,668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Hmm, if it performs well, that IRP4400 could replace 2 EP2500's and is cheaper. It's also pretty much be the largest (of that series) to work on a 15A line...for playing music that is.

YID DIY
Looneybomber is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,509
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 610
The question (always) in my mind is what can they do down low?

Very interesting. Due out in Q3. I believe they sold some earlier this year in Europe, IIRC. I'll be ordering one as soon as they hit the streets.

Bosso
bossobass is offline  
Old 10-09-2009, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fatawan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Bumping this up as it appears these are getting close to release. All the pro audio sites are listing them now, with very reasonable pricing. I have a list of questions in to Peavey--hope I get some answers I can share!

An old PR, but has details on each amp

http://www.peavey.com/news/article.c...7/20091501.cfm
Fatawan is offline  
Old 10-09-2009, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cinema mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Here Nor There..
Posts: 1,854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I know Sam of Entertainment warehouse in australia had A pre release Peavey on Demo A while back my mate was telling me...
my mate could'nt believe how light it was compared to the older CS series....
cinema mad is offline  
Old 10-09-2009, 10:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
LHD21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If that 6000 can be had for around $400 used I may swap out my EP series. I've been getting the 2500/4000 for $200 each pretty regularly. Class D sounds like fun.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vasyachkin
Even i, the genius, only vaguely understand what i am saying here.
LHD21 is offline  
Old 10-09-2009, 04:16 PM
Member
 
gbegland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
We just became a dealer @ my day job for Peavey, so I will see if these are availible yet.

Greg
gbegland is offline  
Old 10-09-2009, 04:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Warpdrv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Do they do bridged...? If so what do they do bridged...?

They would have some really good potential as a budget heavy hitting sub amp if they did....
Warpdrv is offline  
Old 10-09-2009, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fatawan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Even as a stereo amp, with 2,000 watts x 2 into 4 ohms for $599, you have quite a bargain.
Fatawan is offline  
Old 10-09-2009, 08:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
Manic1!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warpdrv View Post

Do they do bridged...? If so what do they do bridged...?

They would have some really good potential as a budget heavy hitting sub amp if they did....

I believe 6000 watts at 4 ohms bridged and it weighs 8 pounds. They come with or without DSP.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u0HEM...layer_embedded
Manic1! is online now  
Old 10-10-2009, 01:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thylantyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
The back panel in the video tells a story



The storm was gone, but dark clouds still hung around
The perfect setting for things to come......

thylantyr is offline  
Old 10-10-2009, 06:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
kouack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thylantyr has eagle eyes hee hee, Wow 6000 watts output for 400 watts at 120 volts input, also it says 800 watts per side at 2 ohms pufffffff
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/clos...6000--back.jpg

Warning to prevent risk of injuries, you should always be smarter than the equipment you are about to use.
kouack is offline  
Old 10-10-2009, 12:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,833
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 196
So obviously it can't deliver full rated output continuously.

The question is, how long can it do it, if at all.

Noah
noah katz is offline  
Old 10-10-2009, 02:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
kouack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Probably 1 nano second if you are sure the moon align with the sun at 12:59:05 on September 5th 2010 only , i just hope this is only a misprint in the silk screen and missing a 0 at 400 watts and they mixed the back panel with the IPR1600 perhaps, damn Chinese LOL

Warning to prevent risk of injuries, you should always be smarter than the equipment you are about to use.
kouack is offline  
Old 10-10-2009, 04:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Oklahoma Wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Eastend, SK, Canada
Posts: 1,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 27
It's a funny thing, I clicked on this thread and my QSC RMX-1850HD started laughing. Then I saw the picture of the 6000's back panel and started laughing myself. Love the 400W AC input silkscreen.

I'd really like to give Peavey the benefit of the doubt, and I'm looking forward to seeing how these do, but the inner skeptic in me won't let me get my hopes up at all over this one. Past Peavey amps have been decent, but these... I just don't know.

At the moment, Crest is the only part of Peavey I'd consider getting amps from, to be honest.

Edit - from this page:

Quote:


The Peavey IPR DSP 6000 2000 Watt Power Amplifier are designed with a resonant switch-mode power supply and a high-speed class D topology that yields the highest audio resolution and efficiency available.

Resonant SMPS design might give it a fighting chance... it would lighten the power supply area considerably. Still can't produce power from thin air, though, and I'm a little fuzzy on whether or not class D can be any more efficient than my class H QSC on the output side.
Oklahoma Wolf is offline  
Old 10-10-2009, 07:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thylantyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by kouack View Post

Thylantyr has eagle eyes hee hee, Wow 6000 watts output for 400 watts at 120 volts input, also it says 800 watts per side at 2 ohms pufffffff
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/clos...6000--back.jpg

They need to edit the silkscreen "Designed and Engineered in USA",
it's making this country look bad. No worries, Obama will make it better



The storm was gone, but dark clouds still hung around
The perfect setting for things to come......

thylantyr is offline  
Old 10-11-2009, 07:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 17,015
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 643 Post(s)
Liked: 1236
"Thylantyr has eagle eyes hee hee"

he is a highly tuned b.s. detector. we are fortunate he weighs in. at first pass, i was pretty excited about these amps. after digging a little deeper, not so much so. much thanks thy.

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is online now  
Old 10-11-2009, 07:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Warpdrv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yeah, no different then the EP4000 hooey...
Warpdrv is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ricci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 5,155
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Guess I won't be trading in my 8002's just yet.

C'mon guys...8lbs, $599, 6000watts? It just doesn't add up any way you look at it. This isn't a $600 CA18 replacement. CA18 is rated at only 5000w and weighs 77lbs, versus 6000w for this 8lb wonder.
Ricci is online now  
Old 10-12-2009, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Oklahoma Wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Eastend, SK, Canada
Posts: 1,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Yeah - the most efficient power supply topology in the world couldn't get six thousand watts of output from a 400W input.

Maybe it runs on pixie dust or something.
Oklahoma Wolf is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 09:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
LHD21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricci View Post

Guess I won't be trading in my 8002's just yet.

C'mon guys...8lbs, $599, 6000watts? It just doesn't add up any way you look at it. This isn't a $600 CA18 replacement. CA18 is rated at only 5000w and weighs 77lbs, versus 6000w for this 8lb wonder.

What class is the CA18?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vasyachkin
Even i, the genius, only vaguely understand what i am saying here.
LHD21 is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ricci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 5,155
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Class H.

I know what you are thinking. The way I see it any amp that has a realistic capability of reliably putting out that much power is going to have some heft to it. Even the newest amplifiers with all of the tech from Powersoft, Crown and LG weigh 20 or 30 lbs for that kind of performance and they cost a lot more.
Ricci is online now  
Old 10-12-2009, 01:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
kouack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricci View Post

Class H.

I know what you are thinking. The way I see it any amp that has a realistic capability of reliably putting out that much power is going to have some heft to it. Even the newest amplifiers with all of the tech from Powersoft, Crown and LG weigh 20 or 30 lbs for that kind of performance and they cost a lot more.

Already 2 lbs for the case, plugs/connectors around,fan you do not have much left to play with , one bridge of diodes so 120 volts AC should give about 170 volts DC ish connected directly to few output transistors using the case instead of heatsink to save weight then directly to the speakons connectors should do it, voila direct energy transfer

Seriously I'm looking forward to see some pictures of the guts of those amps and report of performance, this will be interesting to see how Peavey can do it with so little weight. Here one amp of 12 lbs for 12kwatts never tried or touch one though. http://www.d-amp.com/serie_hvi.htm


Warning to prevent risk of injuries, you should always be smarter than the equipment you are about to use.
kouack is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 03:43 PM
Senior Member
 
ENiGmA1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricci View Post

Class H.

I know what you are thinking. The way I see it any amp that has a realistic capability of reliably putting out that much power is going to have some heft to it. Even the newest amplifiers with all of the tech from Powersoft, Crown and LG weigh 20 or 30 lbs for that kind of performance and they cost a lot more.


Maybe it uses the same tech as Lab Gruppen? Dont call BS on their amps, they are AMAZING. Quad channel 10,000 watt amp in a dual rack space design weighing only 26lbs. Yes that is 2ohm power specs, but it is still amazing and it can output what it says.

Now Im not saying these new Peavey amps are anything close to Gruppen quality, but it is possible to make very high power designs in small space and low weight.

But definite BS on 6k watts with only 400w power draw from the wall. That Lab Gruppen I was just talking about has a max power draw of 30A on a regular 115v wall plug.
ENiGmA1987 is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 04:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
kouack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For sure 400 watts is a misprint unless Peavey has included a baby nuclear plant in their new amp, if you look at the 3000 and 4500 version they do have more realistic power consumption 800 and 1200 watts for 1/8 duty.

Warning to prevent risk of injuries, you should always be smarter than the equipment you are about to use.
kouack is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 05:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
LHD21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well something is amiss. I'm going out on a limb to be optimistic. I'm hoping its a misprint and perhaps some conservative weight estimates. Who knows at this point.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vasyachkin
Even i, the genius, only vaguely understand what i am saying here.
LHD21 is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Servicetech571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Looneybomber View Post

Hmm, if it performs well, that IRP4400 could replace 2 EP2500's and is cheaper. It's also pretty much be the largest (of that series) to work on a 15A line...for playing music that is.

No way the IRP4400 can be a continuous rating with a 15A line as a power source. 15A x 120V = 1800W input power. 2000W x 2 = 4000W "output power", You can't put out more watts than you take in.

Then again the 2400w rating on the 5200 is also impossible on a 15A outlet. Peak power perhaps, but not continuous. Are people really naive enough to think they can get more power OUT of an amp than it takes in?
Servicetech571 is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 06:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
LHD21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Servicetech571 View Post

No way the IRP4400 can be a continuous rating with a 15A line as a power source. 15A x 120V = 1800W input power. 2000W x 2 = 4000W "output power", You can't put out more watts than you take in.

Then again the 2400w rating on the 5200 is also impossible on a 15A outlet. Peak power perhaps, but not continuous. Are people really naive enough to think they can get more power OUT of an amp than it takes in?

The 2500 tested decently. 1600-2000 depending on frequency. I dont know if I've seen a transient response test. I couldnt even tell you what the secondary capacitance for it is. I'm willing to bet it will hit close to the 2400w claimed for short durations.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vasyachkin
Even i, the genius, only vaguely understand what i am saying here.
LHD21 is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 06:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
findbuddha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brisbane, AUS
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
(Some) people seem happy enough with the Powersofts and Lab Gruppens which are rated for peak power only, so if these Peaveys are rated similarly they're still excellent value, right?

findbuddha is offline  
 

Tags
Crown Audio Xti 2002 475w Stereo Power Amplifier 20hz To 20khz Frequency Response 1 4vrms Input Sens
Gear in this thread - 475w by PriceGrabber.com
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off