need some suggestions....for a 15" sub replacement driver for MFW15 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 25 Old 09-07-2009, 01:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 139
ok. i have an mfw15 that i want to change the driver out of and put something more "beefy" in....and i need help on what i should consider or might work well? the amp is 350 watts. i am hoping that i can get a cast basket monster sub driver to work in this box with this amp. so any suggestions? the mfw15 is great, but i wanted to play around with it and see if i could make it BETTER!!!

i have always felt the drivers they used in these subs were cheap and if they had offered an upgraded driver i certainly would have gone for it...so now i want to do some playing on my own....but i'm completely new to this

i'm counting on the experts around here to make some suggestions hopefully. THANKS!!!

here are the specs from av123 site

Type: Slot ported w/ internal fold; single-driver system
Driver: 15" custom designed woofer
Amplifier: Custom 350 watt
Voltage: 110/220V
Frequency Response: Ground Plane frequency response is 18-200Hz +/-4dB. Typical in-room response extends to 15-17Hz.
Inputs: Stereo high level input and output. Stereo low level and LFE input.
Phase Control: Variable 0-180
Size: (H x D x W): 23.94" x 22.44" x 18.125"
Weight: 125lbs shipped
Other Features: Gain, crossover adjustments (40Hz - 150Hz), auto / on / standby mode.

would something like this driver work well? perform better than the standard MFW15 driver?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 Old 09-09-2009, 08:36 AM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the same question, I would like to get a new driver that can handle the power of the amp better. It bottoms out to easy and I feel that the weakest link in this subwoofer is the driver.
post #3 of 25 Old 09-09-2009, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 20