THT-Infinity 12" Photos - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 01-15-2010, 07:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 73
I am working on a pair of THTs for a friend, using an Infinity 12" 1252W in each cabinet.
Many thanks to MaxMercy for running the numbers for me in HornResp and advising me on the build.
Following Max's advice, these are using 16" wide panels, for a 17" width overall.
I know there have been a lot of THT builds already, but I thought I'd try to take a lot of pictures. Hopefully, I didn't overdo it.

Cutting the sheets slightly oversized, to allow for error on long cuts.

Trim to size.

Making a template to make a template.
The setup.

Lower the blade.

Power on.

Raise the blade.

Make the cut.

Move the fence 1/2" and do it again.

1/2" wide channel...almost.

Now, it's a channel

Ready to make a THT template.
I don't think I would do this for making just one THT, but only because I'm not very experienced at making templates yet.

THT template in the works.

Bit by bit.

1/4" MDF added to allow sufficient thickness, so that the bearing can contact the template walls without the bit contacting the workpiece.
This way, I can plunge cleanly into the workpiece after the router comes up to speed.
Additional 1/4" MDF was later added along the sides, to allow for easy clamping.

"Still, a man hears what he wants to hear and disregards the rest." --Paul Simon The Boxer
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-15-2010, 07:43 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Nice. I'm also jealous of your equipment (especially table saw) and the wood you have. Wow. The cuts look good. Good job.

Frank, "Still the one"
Old 01-15-2010, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)