Amp Power and Clipping - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 51 Old 02-05-2010, 08:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am new to pro amps so excuse my ignorance or miss use of terminology.

If you are driving a sub hard is it safer to have an amp that won't overdrive the sub but can clip? So in that case you set the gain so only in the most extreme portions of the program you get a blinking clip light.

The alternative is to get an amp that exceeds what the speaker can handle. You might not ever get it to clip but could over power the speaker?

Restraint must be used of course if the speaker starts getting sloppy or making bad noises it must be turned down.

Any help is appreciated. I realize my explanation/question is vague.

T6

Clearwave 4TSE and 4CC build thread
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post19489740
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 51 Old 02-05-2010, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Underpowering a system, causing it to do significant clipping, is far more damaging to your speakers than "over" powering the speaker with the odd, non-clipped transient!!

Clipping generates high-order, odd harmonics which can toast a tweeter pretty quickly. Not "so" serious in a sub only but, nonetheless, clipping will generate heat in the voice coils.

"The greatest obstacle to discovery is not ignorance  it is the illusion of knowledge." - Daniel Boorstin
"Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.
" - MLK

post #3 of 51 Old 02-05-2010, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
For subs I prefer the first option. Yes I can show restraint but I've got young kids running around that may decide to crank that knob on the stereo just for run. Also I can't be accountable for what "drunk Jake" does, maybe I get trashed and go to show off one night and fry the thing