Foster plate amp for THT? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 04-25-2010, 11:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BigD5213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, I'm looking at one of the Foster WF-100K amps from Jack Hidley's website and wondering if it is a viable option for a THT. I searched around here and over at the BFM forums, and wasn't able to find any threads of anyone talking about this particular combination.

Hopefully someone with more experience than I can chime in and clue me in.

Thanks.

"Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity."
BigD5213 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 04-26-2010, 03:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tsloms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I'm using the Foster amp on an 8" tapped horn currently and it works great. However I think that it starts to roll off just under 30hz which is perfect for my application powering an MCM 55-2421 but you will lose output in the 22-28hz range. The amp can be changed as for the low pass crossover if you would like to change a couple of resistors. After that it should work great.
tsloms is online now  
post #3 of 11 Old 04-26-2010, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BigD5213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, it is mentioned that the amp has a HPF at 29hz. My soldering skills....don't exist, so I'd prefer not to have to modify whatever I happen to buy for an amp. Would I be better off just spending a little more and buying a 240w plate amp from PE? How much output is going to be sacrificed by having that high-pass filter in place?

"Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity."
BigD5213 is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 04-26-2010, 12:45 PM
Member
 
ccdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would argue that you will want some more power then it will provide, the filter has to go as the THT was meant to go down to 20hz and it does it very well. Though just about any plate amp you go with might need a filter change to make it work good.
ccdoggy is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 04-26-2010, 01:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
penngray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 26,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Why not just buy a cheap rack mount pro audio amp ?

It is not "open-minded" to reject knowledge - Bob Lee
penngray is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 04-26-2010, 02:29 PM
 
mjg100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by penngray View Post

Why not just buy a cheap rack mount pro audio amp ?

Because the Foster goes for $35 and a cheap pro amp goes for $200. You can bridge two Foster's and get 220 watts @ 8 ohms. You can't bridge two at 4 ohms nor 6 ohms. I knew 4 ohms would not work, but Jack thought that 6 ohms might work. Well it doesn't. I tried it.
mjg100 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 04-26-2010, 04:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BigD5213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe I will just stick with the Dayton SA240 then if the HPF is going to be an issue. Also, the extra wattage won't hurt.

Just wishful thinking that I'd be able to save a little cash, I guess.

"Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity."
BigD5213 is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 04-26-2010, 07:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Milt99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: West Of California
Posts: 5,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 65
BigD I know this is OT, but your sig made me snort

 

It ain't ignorance causes so much trouble; it's folks knowing so much that ain't so

Milt99 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 04-26-2010, 10:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BigD5213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Glad I could provide some amusement. Not sure where I read it, but always liked that quote.

"Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity."
BigD5213 is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 12-04-2010, 09:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Digital_Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Enfield, CT USA
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey BigD, and to anyone else looking into the Foster amps, I know this is old, but Jack now offers the Foster plate amp with a 20hz filter
Digital_Chris is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 12-05-2010, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stgdz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: MNsnowta in april :(
Posts: 2,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have both, get the PE plate amp.

The jack hidley plate amp does roll off where the PE plays down to about 19hz perfect for the THT.
stgdz is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off