Its Official! Behringer amps can't handle 2 0hms - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 11:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gperkins1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have a Behringer EP4000 amp and it definitely cannot handle 2 ohm loads at all. It appears that the EP4000 has met its match. Yes.. Bassotronics!. It sent it into meltdown after 10 minutes. It purely cannot handle a 2 ohm load playing bassotronics. I play a couple of his tracks with the 2 ohm load from my 2 subs and it wimpered badly. It cut off after a couple of tracks. Such a shame as I was really enjoying them. I really don't know why they advertise these amps can take a 2 ohm load when they seriously cannot in any way shap or form.

Shame!

Graham
gperkins1973 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 11:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
kouack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In pro world 2 ohms is for the poor gigs and remember Berhinger is the low budget, when they need more power they bring more amps not only more speakers. Are you sure you actually have 2 ohms and no deep below at some freq.?

Warning to prevent risk of injuries, you should always be smarter than the equipment you are about to use.
kouack is offline  
post #3 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 12:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
LHD21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gperkins1973 View Post

I have a Behringer EP4000 amp and it definitely cannot handle 2 ohm loads at all. It appears that the EP4000 has met its match. Yes.. Bassotronics!. It sent it into meltdown after 10 minutes. It purely cannot handle a 2 ohm load playing bassotronics. I play a couple of his tracks with the 2 ohm load from my 2 subs and it wimpered badly. It cut off after a couple of tracks. Such a shame as I was really enjoying them. I really don't know why they advertise these amps can take a 2 ohm load when they seriously cannot in any way shap or form.

Shame!

Graham

Are you running it stereo or bridged?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vasyachkin
Even i, the genius, only vaguely understand what i am saying here.
LHD21 is offline  
post #4 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
soho54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
No offense, but this isn't really saying much. You left all the details out.

You can kill any amp with any ohm load it you have enough of a driver to soak all the power up.

Heck, I can trip the thermal switch in my Yamy receiver with no speakers hooked up, with some continuous 0dBFS low frequency tones. That doesn't mean it can't handle it normally. I just pushed it out of its operational range.
soho54 is offline  
post #5 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gperkins1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am running Dual 1 ohm Fi Q18 subs. I have two 11 cu ft subs tuned to 13.5hz and they are wired 2 ohms stereo. The behringer amp cannot handle 2 ohm loads believe me. Anyone who thinks it can is a liar. Its a wimpy amp as far as I am concerned. I need to find an amp that can truely handle 2 ohms.

Bassotronics and Opus Dei causes meltdown on a behringer amp in 2 ohms stereo (which apparenlty this amp handles). What a joke!

The best thing for this amp is November 5th when you need to start a fire and let the fireworks off!

cheers

Graham
gperkins1973 is offline  
post #6 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 12:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gperkins1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
2 x Fi Q18 drivers! Mate these drivers can way out handle the EP4000 amp very easily without even drawing a sweat. I have tried to bottom these babies out but I can't because the amp gives up way before the drivers do.

Such a shame.

cheers

Graham
gperkins1973 is offline  
post #7 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 12:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
penngray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 26,862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I ran 4 Q18s with an EP2500 to incredible SPL levels but I made sure scott made them 2 ohms each before I bought them. I couldnt get the SPL until I added a Samson S-convert box though.

As for you posting that the amp is a joke, you have to be kidding....do you know how many amps can run 2 ohms for significant amounts of time? I think its really crazy to even run 1 ohm drivers in house anyways.

Good luck with not spending large $$$ to solve the 2 ohm problem. You should have ask Scott @ Ficar to have your drivers > 2 ohms and not 1 ohm...that was your actual mistake and not assuming an amp can run 2 ohms (Behringer does not really confirm 2 ohms either).

It is not "open-minded" to reject knowledge - Bob Lee
penngray is offline  
post #8 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Looneybomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 4,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Crown CE4000, but now 120v becomes your enemy. Then there's that amp that Robertcharles used that he got from Bosso. I can't remember what it was.

YID DIY
Looneybomber is offline  
post #9 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 12:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
penngray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 26,862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Looneybomber View Post

Crown CE4000, but now 120v becomes your enemy. Then there's that amp that Robertcharles used that he got from Bosso. I can't remember what it was.

Bosso recommends marathon 5050 amps... Not a bad choice but who knows if any of these amps are going to serious power at 2 ohms over a long period of time. I think that is the real problem. We should never design 2 ohm setups in house..that is strictly a car thing.

It is not "open-minded" to reject knowledge - Bob Lee
penngray is offline  
post #10 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Looneybomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 4,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by penngray View Post

Bosso recommends marathon 5050 amps... Not a bad choice but who knows if any of these amps are going to serious power at 2 ohms over a long period of time. I think that is the real problem. We should never design 2 ohm setups in house..that is strictly a car thing.

It helps that it has twin fans. Will that be enough during a long bass heavy song(s)? We'll see.

YID DIY
Looneybomber is offline  
post #11 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gperkins1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Penngray,

I bought my Q18's from the UK distrubitor for Fi and I originally ran them them 4 ohms bridged with a dual sealed box. Had no issues at all. since making two ported subs and running them 2 ohms stereo with my D1 subs I have problems after a short time running low bass tracks. Scott! who! what a joke! I tried several times to get hold of him. Him they call the invisible man is just not contactable. He could learn a heck of alot from the main man at Exodus. I tried several times to contact him through the shack and got no answer. I am not the only person to have this problem believe me. Look! these drivers are fanastic but if an amp states it can run a 2 ohm load, then it should and not for just a premature few seconds. If you can't handle it then don't advertise you can.

cheers

Graham
gperkins1973 is offline  
post #12 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Looneybomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 4,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
The amp will handle 2ohms, but not at the output your demanding from it. You could try modifying the cooling system, for example, adding a higher speed fan?

YID DIY
Looneybomber is offline  
post #13 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 01:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
penngray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 26,862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by gperkins1973 View Post

Penngray,

I bought my Q18's from the UK distrubitor for Fi and I originally ran them them 4 ohms bridged with a dual sealed box. Had no issues at all. since making two ported subs and running them 2 ohms stereo with my D1 subs I have problems after a short time running low bass tracks. Scott! who! what a joke! I tried several times to get hold of him. Him they call the invisible man is just not contactable. He could learn a heck of alot from the main man at Exodus. I tried several times to contact him through the shack and got no answer. I am not the only person to have this problem believe me. Look! these drivers are fanastic but if an amp states it can run a 2 ohm load, then it should and not for just a premature few seconds. If you can't handle it then don't advertise you can.

cheers

Graham


Sorry to read that you can not get a hold of Scott. I havent talked to him in a long time (since I bought the Q18s several years ago).

Does Behringer really advertise the ability to handle 2 ohm loads?

It is not "open-minded" to reject knowledge - Bob Lee
penngray is offline  
post #14 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
brandonnash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: murfreesboro, tn
Posts: 3,954
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
You should run your winisd again with your model and look at the impedance shifts. It may dip below 2 ohms at certain frequencies.


Also, I didn't see, but you did wire the drivers series and not parallel right?
brandonnash is offline  
post #15 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 01:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gperkins1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Penngray,

Scott has always been a very big disappointed as far as I am concerned. Shame as I spoke to him on the phone from the UK. Seemed a very nice guy. I have had several conversations with Behringer regarding the original load I was running which was 4 ohms bridged and they said it was no problem. I have relayed a few comments to them regarding my 2 ohm load and they havn't suggested any issues. To be honest its a Pro amp which should run a 2 ohm load effeciently as they advertise clearly. When I bought the drivers it was suggested to me to get the dual 1 ohm drivers to run the 4 ohms bridged which worked fine. I really cant believe that if an amp advertises it can run 2 ohms and them it actually cannot for any periof of tim without getting hot should be able to advertise that in the first place. Very disappointing indeed. Normal viewing is fine but as soon as you start to give it some welly, bang, lots of heat.
cheers

Graham
gperkins1973 is offline  
post #16 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 01:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gperkins1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Series matey.

Done the checks.

cheers
graham
gperkins1973 is offline  
post #17 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
brandonnash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: murfreesboro, tn
Posts: 3,954
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Oh and your November 5th reference won't be as well understood here. Most Americans aren't aware of guy fawkes. I went to a party a few years ago and thought it was pretty cool to just openly burn a dummy and celebrate it.
brandonnash is offline  
post #18 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 01:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gperkins1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Heres my winisd plot file. Have a look for yourself.

cheers

Graham
gperkins1973 is offline  
post #19 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 01:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gperkins1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I cant seem to get it uploaded.

cheers

Graham
gperkins1973 is offline  
post #20 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 01:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
penngray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 26,862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I just do not see where Behringer states that they handle 2 ohms for extended periods. I also disagree that most pro amps should handle 2 ohm loads for extended periods.

really your best choice is to sell the EP4000 and spend more $$ on an amp that has been measured to handle 2 ohm loads or even < 2 ohm loads.

Have you actually measured your impedance curve of your two Q18s?

It is not "open-minded" to reject knowledge - Bob Lee
penngray is offline  
post #21 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Looneybomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 4,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Another option, use a removeable port that's shorter. It'll raise your tuning resulting in more output (for music) and move your impedance spike into higher frequencies.

YID DIY
Looneybomber is offline  
post #22 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 02:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gperkins1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Penngray,

How do you measure that? Here's my ohm plot in winish.

I have put a post regarding my new sub on here but haven't got much off a response to be honest.

cheers

Graham
LL
gperkins1973 is offline  
post #23 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 02:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
LHD21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gperkins1973 View Post

Penngray,

How do you measure that? Here's my ohm plot in winish.

I have put a post regarding my new sub on here but haven't got much off a response to be honest.

cheers

Graham

What is your subs passband?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vasyachkin
Even i, the genius, only vaguely understand what i am saying here.
LHD21 is offline  
post #24 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 02:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gperkins1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sorry not sure what you mean.


Graham
gperkins1973 is offline  
post #25 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ivan Beaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,660
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by gperkins1973 View Post

Sorry not sure what you mean.


Graham

He means the freq range your subs are operating over. From the lows to the highs.

Danley Sound Labs

Physics-not fads
Ivan Beaver is offline  
post #26 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 03:19 PM
 
mjg100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I ran a couple of 12" TC Sounds drivers dual 2 ohms wired parallel (1 ohm) on each channel of my Nady XA-2100 for a few days to see if the amp could handle it. Fan did kick up to high and one side of the amp got warm, but no problems. I did change both of them over to series wiring (4 ohm each) for long term performance. I do listen to HT action films loud.
mjg100 is offline  
post #27 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 04:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
penngray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 26,862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by gperkins1973 View Post

Penngray,

How do you measure that? Here's my ohm plot in winish.

I have put a post regarding my new sub on here but haven't got much off a response to be honest.

cheers

Graham

It would have to be measured electrically with something like WT3 from PE. WinISD just uses the default ohm value and isnt really accurate for figuring out real impedance curves.

It is not "open-minded" to reject knowledge - Bob Lee
penngray is offline  
post #28 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 09:36 PM
Member
 
ccdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also have a 15" Fi Q in a 12 cuft box 14hz tune, it is the dual 1 ohm so i had it wired for 2 ohms.

for a while i (not the best decision) hooked it bridged to my EP2500 thinking its gotta give it more power. essentially making it a 1 ohm load for each channel. surprisingly even after months of very bass heavy movies and test tones (to measure max output) it never once failed me. sure once i blew the fuse on the back but really that was my fault.

Honestly this amp (which is the same as the ep4000) can handle a 2 ohm load stereo. maybe not heat wise if you have done the fan mod or anything to it that might restrict air flow because thats what it sounds like. Heat build up causing some safety to kick in and turn the amp stage off to cool down for a bit.
ccdoggy is offline  
post #29 of 177 Old 05-30-2010, 11:12 PM
Member
 
Hyperlite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brevard, North Carolina
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OP, at one point you say your Q's are D1, and at another you say two 1-ohm Q's. Which is it? You obviously can't run two D1 subs @ 2ohms...unless i'm not thinking that through enough. And your impedance graph clearly shows significantly sub-2ohm loads @ tuning frequency.

It seems people have had success with similar loads on the same or lesser amp. Either check your wiring, or your amp is bunk...but two Q18's can easily suck the life out of en EP4000, so you may very well just be asking too much of it.

And not to lecture you, but the title and your statements herein are overarching, unfounded, and absurd.
Hyperlite is offline  
post #30 of 177 Old 05-31-2010, 12:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gperkins1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have done the fan mod which is some of the problem. I have bought another fan which runs a much higher CFM but it is a 12v fan. I have got a regulator which converts it to 24v but I have to figure out what is pos, earth and sensor on the fan. This fan is a 32 CFM rating which runs at only 14db. I really can't put up with the stock fan. The amp still runs hot even with the stock fan.

With reference to what drivers I have it is: 2 FI Q18 Dual 1 ohm drivers. I have two seperate subs wired into each channel 2 ohm load for each sub wired series. I hope that clears that up.

I also thought that Dual 1 ohm drivers run at slightly less than 1 ohms so wired in series would give about 1.4 ohms and not 2 ohms.

cheers

Graham
gperkins1973 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off