amp choices for active speakers - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 44 Old 06-19-2010, 11:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
DL86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by LTD02 View Post

|sidebar|

dl86, did you ever get your horn sub time aligned? i'm curious to know if after time alignment if it adds much beyond your direct radiating 18 sound sub.

Yes, everythings working great, has to be the best bass I have heard in my room, very defined. Death metal sounds absolutly sick, drumming comes through great.

I had to get rid of the filter on the THT it was causing a weird FR in room. The THT is definately more efficient overall and can play deeper than the 18 sound with less THD.

I also got rid of the harshness in my mains with a new crossover design.

To improve the black level performance of your projector: Shine bright light into your eyes every 5 minutes.
DL86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 44 Old 06-20-2010, 12:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,177
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 943
what delay are you running on the tht in order to time align it with your mains?

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is online now  
post #33 of 44 Old 06-20-2010, 12:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
DL86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am not running any delays in my system, apart from the distance setting in my receiver which is set at 14ft for all of my 3 subs.

Eagerly awaiting the Integra 40.2

To improve the black level performance of your projector: Shine bright light into your eyes every 5 minutes.
DL86 is offline  
post #34 of 44 Old 06-20-2010, 12:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,177
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 943
14 ft seems about spot on for the tht.

i was thinking time alignment might be an issue, but apparently not.

:-)

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is online now  
post #35 of 44 Old 06-20-2010, 12:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
DL86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Every case is different.

In my case I didn't feel it was required from measurements I took.

To improve the black level performance of your projector: Shine bright light into your eyes every 5 minutes.
DL86 is offline  
post #36 of 44 Old 06-20-2010, 12:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,177
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 943
ok...i'm smacked down...

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is online now  
post #37 of 44 Old 06-20-2010, 02:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
DL86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just sayin, what I thought before hand as to what the delays should be set at wasn't true once the speakers were in the room and measurements were being done.

Bit hard to predict 3 different subs working together :P

To improve the black level performance of your projector: Shine bright light into your eyes every 5 minutes.
DL86 is offline  
post #38 of 44 Old 06-20-2010, 04:46 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Hot Grits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Queens, NYC
Posts: 877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So far it seems like the A500 is a great budget option minus the youtube vid DL86 posted.
I really like the idea of no fan noise.

I would probably use it for the cds and the woofers.
Maybe I would bridge it for the woofers. but the extra 3db doesnt seem worth it.

For reference, my room is about 20 x 14 with 17' cathedral ceilings at its highest point. It is completely open to a large kitchen. My listening distance is about 14'.

Quick off topic question.

If I do run into a problem mixing pro and home gear, I understand I could get a line shifter like the ART cleanbox.

Where in the chain does this go? Would I need something for each channel or would one cleanbox take care of everything.
Hot Grits is offline  
post #39 of 44 Old 06-20-2010, 01:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,177
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 943
i'd skip the a500 and go for the ep2000. it's only a hundred bucks more, but is a hell of a lot more amp--no gain control issues, bigger power supply, a lot more secondary capacitance, etc. with the big amp you also get the benefit of a reduced risk of clipping your signal and frying your tweets.

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is online now  
post #40 of 44 Old 06-20-2010, 01:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,177
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 943
if you are running a dcx2496 crossover, you shouldn't need a cleanbox. the box would typically be put in between the pre out on your receiver and the input on the pro amp.

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is online now  
post #41 of 44 Old 06-20-2010, 01:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
penngray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 26,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by LTD02 View Post

i'd skip the a500 and go for the ep2000. it's only a hundred bucks more, but is a hell of a lot more amp--no gain control issues, bigger power supply, a lot more secondary capacitance, etc. with the big amp you also get the benefit of a reduced risk of clipping your signal and frying your tweets.

I tried using the EP2500 with my tweeters. Its not really a great full range amp, honestly. I can not tell you what the problem was but it wasnt a clean sound.

It is not "open-minded" to reject knowledge - Bob Lee
penngray is offline  
post #42 of 44 Old 06-20-2010, 02:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,177
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 943
penn, good info...can you post a distortion plot or something as that may provide some clues as to what is wrong...

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is online now  
post #43 of 44 Old 06-20-2010, 02:58 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Hot Grits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Queens, NYC
Posts: 877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I already got an ep2500 not being used. Was gonna use it for an av15 pr box after my mains are done.

I'm a little worried bout fan noise with more than one running.
Hot Grits is offline  
post #44 of 44 Old 04-17-2013, 06:16 AM
Newbie
 
LetItRane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: East Aurora, New York
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know I am late to the party answering this question but I thought to answer it anyway for future AV questions. As my screen name implies LetItRane I'm rather fond of the Rane MA 6 multi-channel amps. I have a few of them all without VC's. I use them with a Outlaw 7.1 pre amp and B & O RL 60 speakers for the (LCR RS/LS RRS/LRS + Subs). The amps have a fan and 1/4" mono-phono plugs and screw speaker terminals. The MA 6 are well made and will deliver more than enough power for your system. They can be bridged for added power which I have done for the (LCR & Subs) but it is not necessary. Depending on where you have the amp the fan can be herd when system is in mute. These amps will last you forever and are very dependable. Bring a friend when installing a Rane MA 6 because it's a heavy one! The Rane MA 6 with the VC's would be the correct amp to use for your situation.

Your VC problem could be due to dust in the VC mech and a can of compressed air blown into it might fix your problem if it's touchy or it scratches when moved. Take off the top of the pre amp to do this so to get the best angle to spray.

You see MA 6's often on eBay and can get a great deal on one depending on how bad you want it. Myself I like the non-VC MA 6's because you already have a VC on the pre amp and adding another VC is unnecessary. If you still are having problems with your VC, use your remote to control the VC and adjust each speaker through the pre amps menu to make sure your getting the best out of your pre amp and amp. Hope this helps.....
LetItRane is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off