AkAbak for Dummies ;) - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 71 Old 08-29-2012, 10:37 AM
Newbie
 
DDAUDIO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

I've found this thread absolutely FANTASTIC! Before that, I though AkAbak as a not-viable software for my simulations, but now I can model everything and I am really in love with it!

Just one question comes to my mind: if I would like to simulate a car audio subwoofer response INSIDE of the vehicle, where the environment closed volume is small compared to box volume and have its effect on the response, is it possible in AkAbak to "tell" to the software that the subwoofer is located inside a bigger box, and place the mic somewhere inside this big box?

I'm Italian, so I hope you can get what I mean with my English.

What I would like to get is a plot of frequency response measured at the fron window of the car, giving to AkAbaK all needed measures (clearly we must virtually consider the inside of the car as a squared small room, but even with this approximate of shape the results should be good).
DDAUDIO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 71 Old 01-03-2013, 09:58 PM
Member
 
OscarJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Laredo, Tx
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 24
the major problem with trying to do that is getting the cabin leakage and absorption losses. Unless your vehicle is airtight and made of lossless walls that are infinitely rigid, it will be almost impossible to determine these things. The walls of a vehicle flex too much for the "lossless" approach to be close to valid---just look at how windows and roofs flex with multi-thousand watt systems.
OscarJr is offline  
post #63 of 71 Old 01-05-2013, 07:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ricci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 5,342
Mentioned: 103 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 574
The best thing to do is take a small sealed subwoofer and measure it at a known drive level at 1m outdoors and the again with it inside the vehicle. Subtract the outdoor response from the in cabin and you will have a good picture.
Mfusick likes this.
Ricci is offline  
 
post #64 of 71 Old 01-01-2014, 08:22 PM
Newbie
 
suktan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

This is a very useful thread. I am an Akabak beginner.

suktan is offline  
post #65 of 71 Old 01-02-2014, 06:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jpmst3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Davidsville, PA
Posts: 8,364
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Cool resource here!
Thanks for posting this.

______________________________________________
Joe = LFE Addict
Joe's LOWARHORN build
Dual LMS-5400 Ultra Endtables build
jpmst3 is offline  
post #66 of 71 Old 07-30-2014, 02:51 PM
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 29,684
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 2698
I just wanted to say thanks for this thread
Mfusick is offline  
post #67 of 71 Old 09-27-2016, 04:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello and thank you for this tutorial

I would like to know how to simulate two subwoofers in series, and 2s/2p ou 2p/2s
Alexandre Bitter is offline  
post #68 of 71 Old 08-16-2017, 12:46 PM
Member
 
OscarJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Laredo, Tx
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Does anyone know of an easy way to make Akabak work on Win-10, 64-bit? (tried & true)
OscarJr is offline  
post #69 of 71 Old 08-19-2017, 03:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
3ll3d00d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 104 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1666 Post(s)
Liked: 646
Install XP in a VM (eg virtualbox)
3ll3d00d is online now  
post #70 of 71 Old 09-09-2017, 02:04 AM
Member
 
frenchfries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 25
You could also use hyper v, which is already installed if you have pro

Sent from my ASUS_Z017DA using Tapatalk
frenchfries is offline  
post #71 of 71 Old 09-09-2017, 02:04 AM
Member
 
frenchfries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Our you could try the compatibility modes

Sent from my ASUS_Z017DA using Tapatalk
frenchfries is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off