MiniDSP - Page 115 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 187Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2016, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,925
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
We are talking about the delay between the subs, not between the subs and the mains. While I have never tried it, if the OP has an AVR with two independently-configurable sub outputs (like with Audyssey XT32), then augmenting the delays with the AVR might work. Place the two Submersives (assumed equidistant) on one channel, and near-field sub on the other channel. Connect each sub channel to a separate input on the 2x4. Use a plug-in that maintains separate input channels, and this might work.
Sorry, my mistake. The theory still holds though. He still might be able to play with the numbers on all the other speakers and subs to compensate. Or if it's that critical I guess he can daisy chain a second unit in there to add more delays.
duc135 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2016, 09:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Mr. Electric Wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Bummer, more stuff to take into consideration.
I am getting ready to install two Infinite Baffle manifolds in my living room, each of which will require different delays because they are different distances to the MLP.
These manifolds are not going to be able to be moved once installed.
Is the issue that there is a global delay that the 2x4 introduces when installed in the system?
And to fix, you have to play with the delays inside the 2x4, and possibly in the upstream AVR as well?
Mr. Electric Wiz is offline  
Old 02-02-2016, 09:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Mr. Electric Wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 35
**double post**
Mr. Electric Wiz is offline  
Old 02-02-2016, 10:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,631
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5461 Post(s)
Liked: 3114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Electric Wiz View Post
Bummer, more stuff to take into consideration.
I am getting ready to install two Infinite Baffle manifolds in my living room, each of which will require different delays because they are different distances to the MLP.
These manifolds are not going to be able to be moved once installed.
Is the issue that there is a global delay that the 2x4 introduces when installed in the system?
And to fix, you have to play with the delays inside the 2x4, and possibly in the upstream AVR as well?
No. Each of four outputs has its own unique delay. So, you would measure the physical distance from each sub's speaker dust cap to the MLP (exactly where your ears will be). Pick the furthest sub distance. Subtract the distance of the closest sub. Divide the result (in inches) by 13,512 and multiply the result by 1,000 to get the delay in ms. Apply that delay to the closest speaker. Repeat for any other speakers.

Example" Sub1 @ 12'1", Sub2 @ 4'3.5". Diff=93.5". (93.5/13512)*1000=6.9ms

As long as the calculated delay is 7.5ms or smaller, you are good to go.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 02-02-2016, 10:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Mr. Electric Wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Jerry, have you ever had to reach out to MiniDSP support?
I sent them an email yesterday about my wiring question and they still haven't gotten back to me.
Mr. Electric Wiz is offline  
Old 02-02-2016, 10:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,631
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5461 Post(s)
Liked: 3114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Electric Wiz View Post
Jerry, have you ever had to reach out to MiniDSP support?
I sent them an email yesterday about my wiring question and they still haven't gotten back to me.
Yes. They are typically very responsive. There is a time difference, though.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 02-03-2016, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr. Electric Wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 35
**double post again**

Last edited by Mr. Electric Wiz; 02-04-2016 at 05:53 AM.
Mr. Electric Wiz is offline  
Old 02-03-2016, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr. Electric Wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 35
MiniDSP

Well I decided to go ahead and wire up my RCA cables to the input side as follows:
Pin = "+" on MiniDSP
Ring = "-" on MiniDSP
Jumper "-" to "S" on MiniDSP
I've seen at least a couple of photos of them wired up this way, so hopefully it's correct.

Last edited by Mr. Electric Wiz; 02-03-2016 at 06:45 PM.
Mr. Electric Wiz is offline  
Old 02-03-2016, 06:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
dashpuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Electric Wiz View Post
Well I decided to go ahead and wire up my RCA cables as follows:
Pin = "+" on MiniDSP
Sleeve = "-" on MiniDSP
Jumper "-" to "S" on MiniDSP
I've seen at least a couple of photos of them wired up this way.
is that on the input or the output ?
dashpuppy is offline  
Old 02-03-2016, 06:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr. Electric Wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Input. I should have specified.
I put XLR's on the outputs.
Mr. Electric Wiz is offline  
Old 02-03-2016, 06:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
dashpuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Electric Wiz View Post
Input. I should have specified.
I put XLR's on the outputs.
lol! Good Good !! Was going to say, doing that on the output well, not a good idea.. !
dashpuppy is offline  
Old 02-08-2016, 06:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Mr. Electric Wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I finally hooked everything up including the IB manifolds yesterday to confirm that everything worked.
IT DID!!!
A multimeter hasn't been placed on the sub output of my Pioneer Elite SC-65 yet to measure output voltage yet, but I presume it will probably be less than 2 volts.
I'm sure the input jumpers will need to be set at the lower voltage (2V- what's listed on the board or 1.8V per the manual).
The output from the MiniDSP was kind of low, and in order to get the first lights to light up on the iNuke 3000 I had to crank the gain knobs (RCA input/XLR output).
Output of course was low because the front and rear waves were cancelling each other out.
Now I just need to install these manifolds!

One thing I'm not sure about is that I have two Sub outputs on my receiver but they are basically the same signal internally connected together (think Y adapter).
I could bring both signals into the MiniDSP connected to Input 1 and 2, or just connect input 1.
I don't think it will matter actually. I'll have to try both and see what changes (if anything).
Mr. Electric Wiz is offline  
Old 02-08-2016, 06:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Mr. Electric Wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Pics!
Mr. Electric Wiz is offline  
Old 02-09-2016, 11:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 15,968
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4433 Post(s)
Liked: 4434
Cables are done....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	minidsp cabling.jpg
Views:	1018
Size:	81.1 KB
ID:	1241433  
lovinthehd is online now  
Old 02-28-2016, 05:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mixdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 2,282
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Maybe I am just seeing this now, but it looks like MiniDSP is now offering phoenix to xlr connecting cables for their balanced units.

https://www.minidsp.com/products/min...p-balanced-2x4

Sony XBR75X940C
Martin Logan Spires
Seaton Submersive Pair

Sharp Elite 70" For Sale!!!
Mixdoctor is online now  
Old 02-28-2016, 05:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
dashpuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixdoctor View Post
Maybe I am just seeing this now, but it looks like MiniDSP is now offering phoenix to xlr connecting cables for their balanced units.

https://www.minidsp.com/products/min...p-balanced-2x4
Those are HORRIBLE for audio connections. Perfect for Power tho.
dashpuppy is offline  
Old 02-28-2016, 05:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mixdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 2,282
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by dashpuppy View Post
Those are HORRIBLE for audio connections. Perfect for Power tho.

Why are they horrible for audio?

Sony XBR75X940C
Martin Logan Spires
Seaton Submersive Pair

Sharp Elite 70" For Sale!!!
Mixdoctor is online now  
Old 02-29-2016, 01:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by dashpuppy View Post
Those are HORRIBLE for audio connections. Perfect for Power tho.
What is wrong with them that would render them "horrible"? Not trying to be rude, maybe you are correct, I just don't know?
Tip24/96 is offline  
Old 02-29-2016, 01:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I have two questions:

First, I know that the balanced MiniDsp 2x4 requires a Phoenix connection on the input side, so for that, I plan to use an RCA cable from my AVR and Phoenix on the MiniDsp input, but, I was under the impression that I could use a balanced XLR (or TRS) with an XLR connector on both ends from the MiniDsp's output to the input on my inuke. The options on the MiniDsp website say that a Phoenix to XLR is available to purchase for the output coming from the MiniDsp (Phoenix end) to the amp (XLR end). Does this mean that I can't use my balanced cables with XLR's on both ends on the output side of the MiniDsp?
Tip24/96 is offline  
Old 02-29-2016, 05:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,631
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5461 Post(s)
Liked: 3114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tip24/96 View Post
I have two questions:

First, I know that the balanced MiniDsp 2x4 requires a Phoenix connection on the input side, so for that, I plan to use an RCA cable from my AVR and Phoenix on the MiniDsp input, but, I was under the impression that I could use a balanced XLR (or TRS) with an XLR connector on both ends from the MiniDsp's output to the input on my inuke. The options on the MiniDsp website say that a Phoenix to XLR is available to purchase for the output coming from the MiniDsp (Phoenix end) to the amp (XLR end). Does this mean that I can't use my balanced cables with XLR's on both ends on the output side of the MiniDsp?
The 2x4 has only Phoenix connectors, on both the input and the output sides. To be honest, rather than purchasing Phoenix-to-XLR converters, I would simply snip the XLR connectors off one end of the cable and wire directly into the Phoenix. It is not that difficult, and there are a number of posts here on AVS that have step-by-step instructions on how to do it. Let me know if you need a link.

The converters mean that you will end up with a pair of bulky XLR connectors behind your gear. Cutting the cables avoids the extra bulky connectors and allows the cables to be cut to the exact required length. A very much cleaner installation. JMO.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 02-29-2016, 07:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Mr. Electric Wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 35
It's much easier than I thought it was going to be.
Mr. Electric Wiz is offline  
Old 03-03-2016, 01:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
kingpin111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan CANADA
Posts: 946
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 239
I understand the cons of using adapters but I have run 50' xlr's in the ceiling where I am to get the amps out of the room.
I would really hate to cut these cables in case something happens. Has anyone found xlr to phoenix connectors that fit he balanced minidsp?
kingpin111 is offline  
Old 03-03-2016, 01:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,631
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5461 Post(s)
Liked: 3114
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingpin111 View Post
I understand the cons of using adapters but I have run 50' xlr's in the ceiling where I am to get the amps out of the room.
I would really hate to cut these cables in case something happens. Has anyone found xlr to phoenix connectors that fit he balanced minidsp?
If you check the balanced 2x4 web page, you can accompany your order with XLR-to-Phoenix adapters as an option.
kingpin111 likes this.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 03-03-2016, 02:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
kingpin111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan CANADA
Posts: 946
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
If you check the balanced 2x4 web page, you can accompany your order with XLR-to-Phoenix adapters as an option.
Thank you I'll have to send them an email as I already have received my unit before they were offered.
kingpin111 is offline  
Old 03-03-2016, 02:41 PM
Senior Member
 
dryeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 73
I would never cut my 50ft XLR's running to my amps either. Why not just buy some 3 or 6ft XLR cables and cut them in half? That's what I did. This way you control the length and can avoid any strain at the phoenix blocks.
dryeye is offline  
Old 03-03-2016, 02:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,631
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5461 Post(s)
Liked: 3114
Quote:
Originally Posted by dryeye View Post
I would never cut my 50ft XLR's running to my amps either. Why not just buy some 3 or 6ft XLR cables and cut them in half? That's what I did. This way you control the length and can avoid any strain at the phoenix blocks.
Obviously an option as well. However, both options involve a bulky XLR male/female mess in your equipment rack. I chose to cut XLR cables to avoid the bulky mess. If I had to have the mess, I probably would choose the adapters over the bare wire approach.

But either would work, of course.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 03-04-2016, 01:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 42
If you use XLR cables, does cutting the end off and wiring up the Phoenix connection make it unbalanced, or would it still be considered balanced?
Tip24/96 is offline  
Old 03-04-2016, 05:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,631
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5461 Post(s)
Liked: 3114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tip24/96 View Post
If you use XLR cables, does cutting the end off and wiring up the Phoenix connection make it unbalanced, or would it still be considered balanced?
I is still a balanced connection.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 03-04-2016, 05:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rhodesj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 803 Post(s)
Liked: 449
Cutting the ends off doesn't make it unbalanced. Using only two of the three wires would make it unbalanced. Phoenix connectors exist in both 2 and 3 pin (and many more) varieities.
dashpuppy likes this.
rhodesj is online now  
Old 03-04-2016, 08:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 29,328
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhodesj View Post
Cutting the ends off doesn't make it unbalanced. Using only two of the three wires would make it unbalanced. Phoenix connectors exist in both 2 and 3 pin (and many more) varieities.
Even using only the two signal lines, properly connected, would not make it unbalanced.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off