MiniDSP - Page 127 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 185Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3781 of 3798 Old 08-14-2016, 11:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,273
Mentioned: 119 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5194 Post(s)
Liked: 2950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tstan7777 View Post
Will this power supply work for a minidsp 2x4? It powers it up, but I want to make sure before leaving it powered.
Don't see why not. The MiniDSP product page calls for a 12V PSU, and that's what you are showing.
AustinJerry is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3782 of 3798 Old 08-14-2016, 12:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gorilla Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tennessee Mtns
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 297
For anyone else viewing, I was told by miniDSP that its not recommended to exceed 2000ma or 2 amps with the minidsp. 1 amp is what they recommend
Gorilla Killa is online now  
post #3783 of 3798 Old 08-14-2016, 12:55 PM
Member
 
Tstan7777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Sweet, thanks guys. I wish mini sold a proper power supply, it's pretty confusing trying to find one because there are multiple parameters and multiple connectors available. That's one I had around from my old audio interface. I guess it's not called diy for nothing!
Tstan7777 is online now  
post #3784 of 3798 Old 08-14-2016, 01:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gorilla Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tennessee Mtns
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tstan7777 View Post
Sweet, thanks guys. I wish mini sold a proper power supply, it's pretty confusing trying to find one because there are multiple parameters and multiple connectors available. That's one I had around from my old audio interface. I guess it's not called diy for nothing!
They do, its an extra 10$ at checkout. If you want to just buy the PSU, you have to email them and then they'll send a paypal invoice. Somewhat clunky , but thats the miniDSP way
Gorilla Killa is online now  
post #3785 of 3798 Old 08-14-2016, 01:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,273
Mentioned: 119 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5194 Post(s)
Liked: 2950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tstan7777 View Post
Sweet, thanks guys. I wish mini sold a proper power supply, it's pretty confusing trying to find one because there are multiple parameters and multiple connectors available. That's one I had around from my old audio interface. I guess it's not called diy for nothing!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gorilla Killa View Post
They do, its an extra 10$ at checkout. If you want to just buy the PSU, you have to email them and then they'll send a paypal invoice. Somewhat clunky , but thats the miniDSP way
I just checked the MiniDSP web site, and both the unbalanced and balanced 2x4's now have an option to add a PSU. Note that the unbalanced 2x4 PSU is listed as a 5V unit, and the balanced 2x4 PSU is listed as a 12V unit. I don't believe your original post specified which 2x4 you have, so be aware of the difference.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #3786 of 3798 Old 08-14-2016, 01:59 PM
Member
 
Tstan7777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
I just checked the MiniDSP web site, and both the unbalanced and balanced 2x4's now have an option to add a PSU. Note that the unbalanced 2x4 PSU is listed as a 5V unit, and the balanced 2x4 PSU is listed as a 12V unit. I don't believe your original post specified which 2x4 you have, so be aware of the difference.
Ahh, let's role that back then. Because I have the unbalanced which says 5v. I kept seeing posts on using a 12v which is why I asked. I thought you had to match the volts on the unit to the supply but many were saying use 12v. So having the unbalanced 5v I need a 5v power supply right? Not sure whst happens if they're not matched. If so, I'll email mini and try that route so I get the right one.
Tstan7777 is online now  
post #3787 of 3798 Old 08-14-2016, 04:29 PM
Member
 
Tstan7777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 20
According to mini, the unbalanced can use 5v-24v power supply because it's internally regulated. The balanced version uses 12v only according to the interweb.
AustinJerry likes this.
Tstan7777 is online now  
post #3788 of 3798 Old 08-14-2016, 04:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,273
Mentioned: 119 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5194 Post(s)
Liked: 2950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tstan7777 View Post
According to mini, the unbalanced can use 5v-24v power supply because it's internally regulated. The balanced version uses 12v only according to the interweb.
Thanks for obtaining that clarification.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #3789 of 3798 Old 08-14-2016, 08:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
dashpuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gorilla Killa View Post
For anyone else viewing, I was told by miniDSP that its not recommended to exceed 2000ma or 2 amps with the minidsp. 1 amp is what they recommend
you want to try that again ? ( because that doesn't make sense at all )
dashpuppy is offline  
post #3790 of 3798 Old 08-14-2016, 08:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zeus33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,777
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gorilla Killa View Post
For anyone else viewing, I was told by miniDSP that its not recommended to exceed 2000ma or 2 amps with the minidsp. 1 amp is what they recommend
Quote:
Originally Posted by dashpuppy View Post
you want to try that again ? ( because that doesn't make sense at all )

It's crystal clear. What part don't you understand? They recommend not exceeding a 2 amp power supply, so you can use up to a 2 amp, but not anything higher. However, a 1 amp is the recommended amperage.
zeus33 is offline  
post #3791 of 3798 Old 08-14-2016, 08:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
dashpuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus33 View Post
It's crystal clear. What part don't you understand? They recommend not exceeding a 2 amp power supply, so you can use up to a 2 amp, but not anything higher. However, a 1 amp is the recommended amperage.


You realize that a 3 6 10 30 or 100 amp psu at 12v isn't going to make a difference at all right ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
dashpuppy is offline  
post #3792 of 3798 Old 08-14-2016, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyc56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus33 View Post
It's crystal clear. What part don't you understand? They recommend not exceeding a 2 amp power supply, so you can use up to a 2 amp, but not anything higher. However, a 1 amp is the recommended amperage.
In a competent design that isn't a fire hazard, overcurrent on the power supply is handled by fuses within the device itself, that is, fuses on the power supply lines of the circuit board of the miniDSP itself. If such fuses aren't present, this is design incompetence and an unsafe situation with regard to a fire hazard when connected to a supply capable of too high a current. If they do have the appropriate fuses on the miniDSP power supply lines, they are admitting incompetence on the support side by not understanding that their power supply fuses will protect against an overcurrent condition.
dashpuppy likes this.

Last edited by andyc56; 08-14-2016 at 09:15 PM.
andyc56 is offline  
post #3793 of 3798 Old 08-14-2016, 09:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zeus33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,777
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyc56 View Post
In a competent design that isn't a fire hazard, overcurrent on the power supply is handled by fuses within the device itself, that is, fuses on the power supply lines of the circuit board of the miniDSP itself. If such fuses aren't present, this is design incompetence and an unsafe situation with regard to a fire hazard when connected to a supply capable of too high a current. If they do have the appropriate fuses on the miniDSP power supply lines, they are admitting incompetence on the support side by not understanding that their power supply fuses will protect against an overcurrent condition.

I don't know their design, but why take a chance of blowing fuses? If they recommend a lower amperage power supply, just use it. Besides, a 1 amp is a pretty common one anyways. I make a habit of listening to a manufacturers recommendations when it comes to products that they designed. Don't you?
zeus33 is offline  
post #3794 of 3798 Old 08-14-2016, 09:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
dashpuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus33 View Post
I don't know their design, but why take a chance of blowing fuses? If they recommend a lower amperage power supply, just use it. Besides, a 1 amp is a pretty common one anyways. I make a habit of listening to a manufacturers recommendations when it comes to products that they designed. Don't you?


The statement that don't use anything over 2amps doesn't make sense at all.

When you put it into a car you can't limit the current going to it. So saying a 2 amp or higher psu will damage it is kinda miss leading.

It will only draw what it needs and nothing more.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bassment likes this.
dashpuppy is offline  
post #3795 of 3798 Old Yesterday, 02:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gorilla Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tennessee Mtns
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gorilla Killa View Post
For anyone else viewing, I was told by miniDSP that its not needed to exceed 2000ma or 2 amps with the minidsp2x4. 1 amp is what they recommend
Sorry for the ****e storm, this is how my post should have read
andyc56 and dashpuppy like this.
Gorilla Killa is online now  
post #3796 of 3798 Old Yesterday, 10:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
dashpuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gorilla Killa View Post
Sorry for the ****e storm, this is how my post should have read


It's all good just trying to clear things up is all


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
andyc56 likes this.
dashpuppy is offline  
post #3797 of 3798 Old Yesterday, 11:32 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,880
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 744 Post(s)
Liked: 438
I am about to give this a try - use a 2x4 to integrate my dual subs into my system. In looking at how to do this, and mentioned specifically (though optionally) in Jerry's guide, I see that there is software that can be used to optimize each individual sub. Sensing another rabbit hole within the 2x4 rabbit hole ... and with Jerry's "optional" comments in mind, is it consensus that there could only be minimal benefit with individual sub EQ before Dirac room correction?

Could I use the MSO software to assist in placing my two subs? Or does REW do that much? Additional context there is that my subs are each collocated pairs with limited possible lateral movement in front (behind a false wall/screenwall) and in the rear near my rack.

I suppose I should ask this generically so as to not run afoul of the OTP. Is ANYBODY using the miniDSP 2x4 to EQ the individual subs before applying room correction?

Jeff

"Veni, vidi, vino!"
(I came, I saw, I drank wine!)

Last edited by pepar; Yesterday at 01:29 PM.
pepar is offline  
post #3798 of 3798 Old Yesterday, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyc56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
I am about to give this a try - use a 2x4 to integrate my dual subs into my system. In looking at how to do this, and mentioned specifically (though optionally) in Jerry's guide, I see that there is software that can be used to optimize each individual sub. Sensing another rabbit hole within the 2x4 rabbit hole ... and with Jerry's "optional" comments in mind, is it consensus that there could only be minimal benefit with individual sub EQ before Dirac room correction?

Could I use the MSO software to assist in placing my two subs? Or does REW do that much? Additional context there is that my subs are each collocated pairs with limited possible lateral movement in front (behind a false wall/screenwall) and in the rear near my rack.
To prevent going off-topic in this thread, I've responded in the MSO thread.
andyc56 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off