MiniDSP - Page 81 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 74Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2401 of 3105 Old 07-25-2014, 06:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Anaheim / Orange
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
alright, so I am trying to figure out how to take a single input on the open DRC and make it output to both outputs....How do you do that?
To mirror 1 input, on the main page you'll see a stereo option, l1 option, and l2 option..

Select l1 ( the middle option. And both outputs will play the same signal.)

AlSo I split my output 4 ways into 2 inukes and have had zero problems
kevings is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2402 of 3105 Old 07-26-2014, 09:16 AM
The Truth Hz
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 9,294
Mentioned: 95 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1724 Post(s)
Liked: 1382
Awesome! Thanks man!

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)
 
HT seats for sale!
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/211-ac...seat-rows.html
Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread
beastaudio is online now  
post #2403 of 3105 Old 07-29-2014, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,805
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Anyone using a voltage divider circuit to drop the input line voltage into their minidsp?

I have like ~12Vrms on my pre-outs and was gonna use 3ohms over 1ohm to cut line voltage to ~3Vrms....

Does this sound right?
NicksHitachi is offline  
post #2404 of 3105 Old 07-29-2014, 11:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 181
That's unnecessary, your receiver will give the miniDSP much lower RMS voltage after level matching. Going from 12 V to 3 V is only 6 dB down, your amplifier after the miniDSP will make up for that. Your receiver will never hit those voltages under normal circumstances
Bassment is online now  
post #2405 of 3105 Old 07-29-2014, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,805
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 185
I hope your right. I had to run my BFD in the +4dbu setting because it would still clip the input with the trims set at -12 on the AVR.

I'll see how it works as I don't really want to but if the inputs on the mini clip at 2Vrms, I don't see how I won't need to....
NicksHitachi is offline  
post #2406 of 3105 Old 07-29-2014, 12:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 181
How did you measure the 12 V rms? Did you input a 0 dB signal with the receiver at 0 dB? In that scenario if the voltage is 12 V RMS, then after level matching the LFE, if it's set to say -6 dB, then the max signal the LFE pre-out will do is 3V RMS. If you want to run above reference, you can get the additional output from either additional subs/amps, or turning the gain up on the external amp. As long as the miniDSP has the output voltage to drive your sub amp, then the AVR will never be the limiting factor, the signal just has to be turned down.
Bassment is online now  
post #2407 of 3105 Old 07-29-2014, 01:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,805
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Yes I measured 60Hz sine at 0dbfs on a multimeter to approximate rms voltage all trims maxxed and avr at "0"

I get what your saying but dont the A/D converters on the minidsp input clip at like 2.2Vrms or something crazy low?

I basically wanted to set it where the middle of the signal chain didn't clip before the amp... When doing this with just the AVR controls with the BFD I found I had to use extreme cuts to trims -12db on the related outputs to keep from clipping the inputs on the BFD. Also when using extreme cuts like this I found the dynamic range to be compressed and or the signal to be very "on-off."

Is there a problem with the attenuation circuit?
NicksHitachi is offline  
post #2408 of 3105 Old 07-29-2014, 01:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Using an attenuation circuit is worse than turning down the trims, because your receiver will put out more distortion with a higher voltage, and less distortion with a lower voltage. It should have zero effect on dynamic range. You should aim for - 6 dB trim, if it wants -12 dB, turn the amps down a bit.
Bassment is online now  
post #2409 of 3105 Old 07-30-2014, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wayne A. Pflughaupt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Katy, TX USA
Posts: 2,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12

What Bassment said: No reason to rig up a voltage divider when you have a sub level control that you can dial down. It’s all the same in the end, as far as getting the voltage cut you need goes. The only issue you might have is if your amp requires more than 2 volts to drive it to max. If that’s the case you’ll have to ditch the mini for a more suitable equalizer.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick****achi View Post
I basically wanted to set it where the middle of the signal chain didn't clip before the amp... When doing this with just the AVR controls with the BFD I found I had to use extreme cuts to trims -12db on the related outputs to keep from clipping the inputs on the BFD.
Are you saying that with the BFD set for +4, your receiver would still drive it into clipping??

Quote:
Is there a problem with the attenuation circuit?
What attenuation circuit, the one for the receiver’s sub output?

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt
Wayne A. Pflughaupt is offline  
post #2410 of 3105 Old 08-01-2014, 12:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,866
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 89
What is the best way to split 1 signal to 5? How about using lots of Y-cable/splitters?
I'm thinking of building 5 mid bass modules to reproduce 80-250Hz.
Skylinestar is offline  
post #2411 of 3105 Old 08-01-2014, 12:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
A9X-308's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,910
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylinestar View Post
What is the best way to split 1 signal to 5? How about using lots of Y-cable/splitters?
I'm thinking of building 5 mid bass modules to reproduce 80-250Hz.
Splitter are fine, or you could approach Blue Jeans Cables and see if they'll do a 1-5 in the lengths you need.

The thing you need to consider is the input impedance of the amps. They will add in the same way as speaker drivers in parallel so 5@10k = 2k. Make sure the MD, or whatever you're feeding them from can handle the load.
A9X-308 is offline  
post #2412 of 3105 Old 08-01-2014, 02:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,866
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by A9X-308 View Post
Splitter are fine, or you could approach Blue Jeans Cables and see if they'll do a 1-5 in the lengths you need.

The thing you need to consider is the input impedance of the amps. They will add in the same way as speaker drivers in parallel so 5@10k = 2k. Make sure the MD, or whatever you're feeding them from can handle the load.
You mean there's a chance of damaging the amp?
Skylinestar is offline  
post #2413 of 3105 Old 08-01-2014, 02:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
A9X-308's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,910
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylinestar View Post
You mean there's a chance of damaging the amp?
I typed a long reply here, but FF crashed and I lost it and not in the mood to do it again.

Detail exactly what you're connecting to what, and the input impedance of the amplifiers you're using; use the balanced Zin if using this way, unbalanced if not.
Mfusick and NicksHitachi like this.
A9X-308 is offline  
post #2414 of 3105 Old 08-01-2014, 04:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,805
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne A. Pflughaupt View Post

Are you saying that with the BFD set for +4, your receiver would still drive it into clipping??
Yep, quite easily in fact I still ran -8-10db cuts on the sub channels with the BFD set at +4db. I don't even run my stuff at reference either, normal movie listening is in the -10 range on the AVR dial.

Quote:

What attenuation circuit, the one for the receiver’s sub output?

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt
Yes I mean the voltage divider for the sub pre out. Its all conjecture at this point since the mini doesn't have a built in input attenuator or gain before the signal goes digital. I just wanted the knowledge up front in case I need to do something.
NicksHitachi is offline  
post #2415 of 3105 Old 08-01-2014, 04:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,805
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylinestar View Post
You mean there's a chance of damaging the amp?
He means whatever is feeding the amp. By paralleling all those connections your dropping the impedance of the circuit. With voltage constant your current will increase inversely proportional to impedance.

V=IR
NicksHitachi is offline  
post #2416 of 3105 Old 08-01-2014, 05:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,866
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by A9X-308 View Post
I typed a long reply here, but FF crashed and I lost it and not in the mood to do it again.

Detail exactly what you're connecting to what, and the input impedance of the amplifiers you're using; use the balanced Zin if using this way, unbalanced if not.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick****achi View Post
He means whatever is feeding the amp. By paralleling all those connections your dropping the impedance of the circuit. With voltage constant your current will increase inversely proportional to impedance.

V=IR
Denon 3312 AVR sub out > Antimode8033 >>>>> 3 crown XLS amps >>>>> 5 drivers
I guess it's a NO. What if minidsp in added into the chain (between antimode and amps) to split 1 to 5? will this drop the impedance too?
Skylinestar is offline  
post #2417 of 3105 Old 08-01-2014, 06:41 AM
The Truth Hz
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 9,294
Mentioned: 95 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1724 Post(s)
Liked: 1382
No, it wont, it will take the signal in from a single XLR and instead of paralleling, it multiplies the signal via the DSP. But can I please ask about the root of this situation...What in god's name would you need 5 different MBM's for?
NicksHitachi likes this.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)
 
HT seats for sale!
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/211-ac...seat-rows.html
Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread
beastaudio is online now  
post #2418 of 3105 Old 08-01-2014, 06:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,805
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Hmm what is need?
NicksHitachi is offline  
post #2419 of 3105 Old 08-01-2014, 07:29 AM
The Truth Hz
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 9,294
Mentioned: 95 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1724 Post(s)
Liked: 1382
Haha, yea, kind of the pot calling the kettle black here I guess, I was just pointing out, dual driver mbm's could be done, you want them seemingly co-located so why would a 5 way actually be needed? You could couple several drivers to a single source and not need all the separate XLR cables.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)
 
HT seats for sale!
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/211-ac...seat-rows.html
Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread
beastaudio is online now  
post #2420 of 3105 Old 08-02-2014, 12:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,866
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
Haha, yea, kind of the pot calling the kettle black here I guess, I was just pointing out, dual driver mbm's could be done, you want them seemingly co-located so why would a 5 way actually be needed? You could couple several drivers to a single source and not need all the separate XLR cables.
Oh. You're right. Silly me. I can just wire them up in a parallel-series way. 3 MBMs on a branch and another 2 MBMs on a branch.

5 MBMs. 1 for each channel in a 5.1 setup. All having same distance to the listening position. Is this considered as co-located? How about 5 MBMs line up in a straight line on the front stage. Is this considered as co-located?

Is this wiring correct (refer pic)?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	31.5 KB
ID:	192921  
Skylinestar is offline  
post #2421 of 3105 Old 08-02-2014, 03:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Martycool007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylinestar View Post
Oh. You're right. Silly me. I can just wire them up in a parallel-series way. 3 MBMs on a branch and another 2 MBMs on a branch.

5 MBMs. 1 for each channel in a 5.1 setup. All having same distance to the listening position. Is this considered as co-located? How about 5 MBMs line up in a straight line on the front stage. Is this considered as co-located?

Is this wiring correct (refer pic)?
What drivers are you planning to use for your MBM's? How do you plan to incorporate them into your existing setup with the current subs and speakers?
Martycool007 is offline  
post #2422 of 3105 Old 08-02-2014, 05:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 28,075
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 425 Post(s)
Liked: 1654
These things ship fast ! 2 days from Asia ???

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #2423 of 3105 Old 08-04-2014, 12:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,866
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martycool007 View Post
What drivers are you planning to use for your MBM's? How do you plan to incorporate them into your existing setup with the current subs and speakers?
JBL 15" 2035 stuff.
My plan is to set 250Hz XO for my main speakers. Anything below 250Hz will be passed on to Antimode8033, which will do the bass EQ. The Antimode has 2 sub outputs, 1st in-phase, 2nd out-of-phase. (Antimode design it that way for those who want XLR connection as output). The 1st Antimode output will link to a Crown XLS amp that will drive the 5 woofers in bridge mode. The 2nd Antimode output will link to 2 Rythmik subs via Y-splitter, and the phase will be reversed back via the Rythmik amp plate phase control knob.

Still not sure if MiniDSP is required.
Skylinestar is offline  
post #2424 of 3105 Old 08-04-2014, 03:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,805
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 185
For midbass i would think it preferred to handle the content for each channel discretely rather than set such a high crossover in the AVR and combine it into a single signal. Doing it that way removes the directionality of the content for all those channels.

IOW i would run avr at more common crossover frequency(~80hz) to subs and split the mains channel to the MBMs and mains with something like the minidsp.

What your proposing will work i think but its just "making do" with what you already have.
NicksHitachi is offline  
post #2425 of 3105 Old 08-05-2014, 04:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
A9X-308's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,910
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick****achi View Post
For midbass i would think it preferred to handle the content for each channel discretely rather than set such a high crossover in the AVR and combine it into a single signal. Doing it that way removes the directionality of the content for all those channels.

IOW i would run avr at more common crossover frequency(~80hz) to subs and split the mains channel to the MBMs and mains with something like the minidsp.
I agree with this. Having 5 summed mono MBMs is a waste of time and effort.
A9X-308 is offline  
post #2426 of 3105 Old 08-05-2014, 09:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
McStyvie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick****achi View Post
For midbass i would think it preferred to handle the content for each channel discretely rather than set such a high crossover in the AVR and combine it into a single signal. Doing it that way removes the directionality of the content for all those channels.

IOW i would run avr at more common crossover frequency(~80hz) to subs and split the mains channel to the MBMs and mains with something like the minidsp.

What your proposing will work i think but its just "making do" with what you already have.
Plus 2
McStyvie is offline  
post #2427 of 3105 Old 08-07-2014, 11:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Is there a noticeable quality difference between the balanced 2x4 and the 2x8 or 8x8? The specs are better, but can you actually hear the difference?
Bassment is online now  
post #2428 of 3105 Old 08-07-2014, 12:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr. Electric Wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Is the 2x4 Balanced the best way to go still?
Connecting it from the Sub Out on a Pioneer Elite SC-65, and to an iNuke NU3000.
Mr. Electric Wiz is offline  
post #2429 of 3105 Old 08-07-2014, 01:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
audio0947's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Midwest
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Has anybody tested the big plate amp pwr-dsp1?
audio0947 is offline  
post #2430 of 3105 Old 08-07-2014, 01:33 PM
Senior Member
 
rajacat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassment View Post
Is there a noticeable quality difference between the balanced 2x4 and the 2x8 or 8x8? The specs are better, but can you actually hear the difference?
+1. I'm interested in this too.
rajacat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off