MiniDSP - Page 81 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2401 of 2413 Old 07-25-2014, 06:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Anaheim / Orange
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
alright, so I am trying to figure out how to take a single input on the open DRC and make it output to both outputs....How do you do that?
To mirror 1 input, on the main page you'll see a stereo option, l1 option, and l2 option..

Select l1 ( the middle option. And both outputs will play the same signal.)

AlSo I split my output 4 ways into 2 inukes and have had zero problems
kevings is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2402 of 2413 Old 07-26-2014, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 7,014
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 573
Awesome! Thanks man!

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #2403 of 2413 Old 07-29-2014, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Anyone using a voltage divider circuit to drop the input line voltage into their minidsp?

I have like ~12Vrms on my pre-outs and was gonna use 3ohms over 1ohm to cut line voltage to ~3Vrms....

Does this sound right?
NicksHitachi is online now  
post #2404 of 2413 Old 07-29-2014, 11:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 66
That's unnecessary, your receiver will give the miniDSP much lower RMS voltage after level matching. Going from 12 V to 3 V is only 6 dB down, your amplifier after the miniDSP will make up for that. Your receiver will never hit those voltages under normal circumstances
Bassment is offline  
post #2405 of 2413 Old 07-29-2014, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 106
I hope your right. I had to run my BFD in the +4dbu setting because it would still clip the input with the trims set at -12 on the AVR.

I'll see how it works as I don't really want to but if the inputs on the mini clip at 2Vrms, I don't see how I won't need to....

Don't waste time reading signatures.....
NicksHitachi is online now  
post #2406 of 2413 Old 07-29-2014, 12:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 66
How did you measure the 12 V rms? Did you input a 0 dB signal with the receiver at 0 dB? In that scenario if the voltage is 12 V RMS, then after level matching the LFE, if it's set to say -6 dB, then the max signal the LFE pre-out will do is 3V RMS. If you want to run above reference, you can get the additional output from either additional subs/amps, or turning the gain up on the external amp. As long as the miniDSP has the output voltage to drive your sub amp, then the AVR will never be the limiting factor, the signal just has to be turned down.
Bassment is offline  
post #2407 of 2413 Old 07-29-2014, 01:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Yes I measured 60Hz sine at 0dbfs on a multimeter to approximate rms voltage all trims maxxed and avr at "0"

I get what your saying but dont the A/D converters on the minidsp input clip at like 2.2Vrms or something crazy low?

I basically wanted to set it where the middle of the signal chain didn't clip before the amp... When doing this with just the AVR controls with the BFD I found I had to use extreme cuts to trims -12db on the related outputs to keep from clipping the inputs on the BFD. Also when using extreme cuts like this I found the dynamic range to be compressed and or the signal to be very "on-off."

Is there a problem with the attenuation circuit?

Don't waste time reading signatures.....
NicksHitachi is online now  
post #2408 of 2413 Old 07-29-2014, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Using an attenuation circuit is worse than turning down the trims, because your receiver will put out more distortion with a higher voltage, and less distortion with a lower voltage. It should have zero effect on dynamic range. You should aim for - 6 dB trim, if it wants -12 dB, turn the amps down a bit.
Bassment is offline  
post #2409 of 2413 Old 07-30-2014, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wayne A. Pflughaupt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Katy, TX USA
Posts: 2,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

What Bassment said: No reason to rig up a voltage divider when you have a sub level control that you can dial down. It’s all the same in the end, as far as getting the voltage cut you need goes. The only issue you might have is if your amp requires more than 2 volts to drive it to max. If that’s the case you’ll have to ditch the mini for a more suitable equalizer.


Quote:
Originally Posted by NicksHitachi View Post
I basically wanted to set it where the middle of the signal chain didn't clip before the amp... When doing this with just the AVR controls with the BFD I found I had to use extreme cuts to trims -12db on the related outputs to keep from clipping the inputs on the BFD.
Are you saying that with the BFD set for +4, your receiver would still drive it into clipping??

Quote:
Is there a problem with the attenuation circuit?
What attenuation circuit, the one for the receiver’s sub output?

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt
Wayne A. Pflughaupt is offline  
post #2410 of 2413 Old Today, 12:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 56
What is the best way to split 1 signal to 5? How about using lots of Y-cable/splitters?
I'm thinking of building 5 mid bass modules to reproduce 80-250Hz.
Skylinestar is online now  
post #2411 of 2413 Old Today, 12:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
A9X-308's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia; now run by adults.
Posts: 5,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylinestar View Post
What is the best way to split 1 signal to 5? How about using lots of Y-cable/splitters?
I'm thinking of building 5 mid bass modules to reproduce 80-250Hz.
Splitter are fine, or you could approach Blue Jeans Cables and see if they'll do a 1-5 in the lengths you need.

The thing you need to consider is the input impedance of the amps. They will add in the same way as speaker drivers in parallel so 5@10k = 2k. Make sure the MD, or whatever you're feeding them from can handle the load.
A9X-308 is offline  
post #2412 of 2413 Old Today, 02:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by A9X-308 View Post
Splitter are fine, or you could approach Blue Jeans Cables and see if they'll do a 1-5 in the lengths you need.

The thing you need to consider is the input impedance of the amps. They will add in the same way as speaker drivers in parallel so 5@10k = 2k. Make sure the MD, or whatever you're feeding them from can handle the load.
You mean there's a chance of damaging the amp?
Skylinestar is online now  
post #2413 of 2413 Old Today, 02:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
A9X-308's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia; now run by adults.
Posts: 5,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylinestar View Post
You mean there's a chance of damaging the amp?
I typed a long reply here, but FF crashed and I lost it and not in the mood to do it again.

Detail exactly what you're connecting to what, and the input impedance of the amplifiers you're using; use the balanced Zin if using this way, unbalanced if not.
A9X-308 is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off