Dayton OmniMic Precision Measurement System - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 2112 Old 11-09-2011, 01:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Topend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceTBC View Post

I just downloaded v.3 of the OmniMic software off Dayton's page here http://www.daytonaudio.com/index.php...nt-system.html and my Norton Antivirus claims it's a security threat with this WS.Reputation.1 http://securityresponse.symantec.com...vid=4294919973. Is this a false detection that can be ignored? Perhaps Dayton needs to contact Symantec?

The best thing I ever did was to replace Norton with a free version of AVG. I couldn't believe how much faster my PC was without Norton.

It's been many years now and no issues at all.

Dave.

Topend

I listen to 50% HT and 50% 2 channel music.
Topend is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 2112 Old 11-12-2011, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
laugsbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 2,675
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 133
I used the OM with the test tone on my AVR to set speaker levels to 75dB at the LP and then double checked with my Galaxy digital SPL meter and it was reading a SPL of 65dB. I have the level range set correctly on the Galaxy meter.

Has anyone else used the OM to set speaker levels? How did it compare to your SPL meter?

TIA...
laugsbach is offline  
post #993 of 2112 Old 11-12-2011, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,139
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked: 372
I've used OM multiple times and it is accurate to Audyssey Pro. Are you using Peak or Max on OM to set the level? Use Max and set to C slow.
Gooddoc is online now  
post #994 of 2112 Old 11-12-2011, 07:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
laugsbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 2,675
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 133
^^

Hi Gooddoc, I am reading the dBSPL from the SPL/Spectrum Tab..there is a visual area that looks like the old analog RS meter needle...I guess that would be the same reading as the Max level.

The thing is, my room has never sounded better after using the OM. I found a quote from Bill Waslo about SPL:

"It does operate with absolute SPL (at least when measuring using Sine Sweep; it is relative dB with pink pseudo-noise)."
laugsbach is offline  
post #995 of 2112 Old 11-12-2011, 07:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
laugsbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 2,675
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooddoc View Post

Use Max and set to C slow.

I have OM set to "C" and "Slow" as well as my Galaxy SPL meter and there is a 10dB difference between the two using the test tone from my Onkyo 805 AVR.
laugsbach is offline  
post #996 of 2112 Old 11-12-2011, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,139
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by laugsbach View Post

^^

Hi Gooddoc, I am reading the dBSPL from the SPL/Spectrum Tab..there is a visual area that looks like the old analog RS meter needle...I guess that would be the same reading as the Max level.

There are Min, Max, and Peak readings under that meter needle. That is the Max number I speak of. Be sure to press the reset button before each measurement.
Gooddoc is online now  
post #997 of 2112 Old 11-12-2011, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
laugsbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 2,675
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 133
^^
Thanks Gooddoc! I will give it a try again tomorrow and reset the reading between each speaker measurement...
laugsbach is offline  
post #998 of 2112 Old 11-13-2011, 06:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hometheatergeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Morning all, Still on the fence about buying the OM. Anybody with the new software have a graph they can post showing the LFE can now be graphed below 20 Hz?

Hometheatergeek

aka AL
----------
My Current System
hometheatergeek is offline  
post #999 of 2112 Old 11-13-2011, 08:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
GPBURNS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by hometheatergeek View Post

Morning all, Still on the fence about buying the OM. Anybody with the new software have a graph they can post showing the LFE can now be graphed below 20 Hz?


something quick
LL

15400 Watts of Seaton Power -Quad SubMersived
GPBURNS is offline  
post #1000 of 2112 Old 11-13-2011, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
exojam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MA
Posts: 2,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
So I have downloaded and installed the latest version of Omni Mic and started getting errors when trying to load an FDR file.

I also add something like a 1-24 or 1-6 to the file name so I can tell what smoothing was used for the measurement. Now when I try to load the saved files I get a 1-24' is not a valid floating point value message popping up. The FDR does load though. Anyone else seeing this?

Running Omni on Windows 7.

James
LL
LL
exojam is offline  
post #1001 of 2112 Old 11-13-2011, 09:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
bwaslo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 81
The program is arranged to interpret numbers in the filename as indexes (usually for angles in polar plotting). Try putting a space after the '-', or use something other than '-' for the separator, such as an underscore _. The program is parsing the numerals and the negative sign, all valid number characters, and trying to interpret them as one number.

DIY Synergy horn spreadsheet http://libinst.com/SynergyCalc/
XSim -free crossover designer and simulator http://libinst.com/Xsim/XSimSetup.exe
bwaslo is offline  
post #1002 of 2112 Old 11-13-2011, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hometheatergeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by GPBURNS View Post

something quick

Thank you very much GP.

Hometheatergeek

aka AL
----------
My Current System
hometheatergeek is offline  
post #1003 of 2112 Old 11-13-2011, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
exojam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MA
Posts: 2,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwaslo View Post

The program is arranged to interpret numbers in the filename as indexes (usually for angles in polar plotting). Try putting a space after the '-', or use something other than '-' for the separator, such as an underscore _. The program is parsing the numerals and the negative sign, all valid number characters, and trying to interpret them as one number.

Cool, thanks Bill.

James
exojam is offline  
post #1004 of 2112 Old 11-13-2011, 11:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
GPBURNS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by hometheatergeek View Post

Thank you very much GP.

no problem - great product - highly recommended

The only issue I can forsee with the unit in the long run is the mini usb connection into the mic - I have already replaced it once.
You need to be really careful attaching it
as easy to damage the connection.

15400 Watts of Seaton Power -Quad SubMersived
GPBURNS is offline  
post #1005 of 2112 Old 11-13-2011, 11:29 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,278
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 836 Post(s)
Liked: 1015
Yeah, I just got my OmniMic. Installed the software but haven't taken any measurements yet.

My only complaints so far is the small usb, seems like it could break after some time. I'll have to be very careful with that connection. Also, the included mic clamp thingy ... umm.. not all that hot. Barely seems to hold the OmniMic at all. Needs a lock. May end up buying another cuz I foresee this one annoying the hell out of me.

Software looks awesome though!

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #1006 of 2112 Old 11-13-2011, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
 
dormie1360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by GPBURNS View Post

no problem - great product - highly recommended

The only issue I can forsee with the unit in the long run is the mini usb connection into the mic - I have already replaced it once.
You need to be really careful attaching it
as easy to damage the connection.

Thought is was just me. With the mic's connection being recessed like it is, I seem to struggle getting the connection lined up properly when inserting the cable.

Regards,
John

Regards,
John
dormie1360 is offline  
post #1007 of 2112 Old 11-13-2011, 11:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 19,135
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2164 Post(s)
Liked: 2086
Quote:
Originally Posted by dormie1360 View Post


thought is was just me. With the mic's connection being recessed like it is, i seem to struggle getting the connection lined up properly when inserting the cable.

Regards,
john

+1
kbarnes701 is online now  
post #1008 of 2112 Old 11-13-2011, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
laugsbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 2,675
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooddoc View Post

There are Min, Max, and Peak readings under that meter needle. That is the Max number I speak of. Be sure to press the reset button before each measurement.

Hi Gooddoc, I tried again today and my SPL meter is reading 65dB when my OM is reading 75dB while playing the test tone from the Onkyo 805 AVR. I found my old Avia Guide to Home Theater DVD and played the Reference Tones (85dB) at a MV of 0.0dB and the OM measured 85dB while the SPL meter measured 75dB.

I doubled checked all of the audio tests on this disc and everything measured as expected with the OM. I guess my cheapo SPL meter is bad...

Anyone else tested their OM against a SPL meter with test tones from their AVR or test disc?
laugsbach is offline  
post #1009 of 2112 Old 11-13-2011, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
laugsbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 2,675
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by dormie1360 View Post

Thought is was just me. With the mic's connection being recessed like it is, I seem to struggle getting the connection lined up properly when inserting the cable.

Regards,
John

Same here....I'm leaving it plugged in and leaving the mic in my stand until I am completely finished running all of my tests...
laugsbach is offline  
post #1010 of 2112 Old 11-13-2011, 05:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Phillips751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi i am new to this thread
Has anyone got any bass decay (both) graphs to share.
I downloaded the new software and notice that there is a spectrogram that only goes down to 300hz(?). Is this not intended for room only speaker close micd? I see that REW Spectrogram goes down to 15hz and the time vs frequency is the other way around.
Cheers
Phillips751 is offline  
post #1011 of 2112 Old 11-14-2011, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,139
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by laugsbach View Post

Hi Gooddoc, I tried again today and my SPL meter is reading 65dB when my OM is reading 75dB while playing the test tone from the Onkyo 805 AVR. I found my old Avia Guide to Home Theater DVD and played the Reference Tones (85dB) at a MV of 0.0dB and the OM measured 85dB while the SPL meter measured 75dB.

I doubled checked all of the audio tests on this disc and everything measured as expected with the OM. I guess my cheapo SPL meter is bad...

Anyone else tested their OM against a SPL meter with test tones from their AVR or test disc?

Glad to hear you've worked it out. Yes I have checked the meter against a known test tone. It was accurate within 1-2 dB of an Audyssey Pro calibration.
Gooddoc is online now  
post #1012 of 2112 Old 11-14-2011, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,139
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Waslo,
Could you explain the Peak measurement in the SPL tab. Is it an instantaneous measurement and, how do I say this tactfully....is it accurate? .

I ask because I'm seeing 112 dB peaks in reference level soundtracks which I'm told can't exist. Just trying to figure out what's going on. The system is properly calibrated(double and triple checked by multiple methods).

Thanks!
Gooddoc is online now  
post #1013 of 2112 Old 11-14-2011, 07:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
bwaslo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Think in terms of a peak in the time domain waveforms. It could happen if, for instance, the instantaneous pressure from various drivers (such as tweeter signal summing with woofer signal) plus various room reflections summed to a higher peak at an instant than any one driver could do in a sine wave.

Another way, you can see that a high peak could happen if the mic were shoved right up to a single driver, right? At a distance, that same pressure buildup could also happen with a summation in reflections, similar to what could be arranged to happen broadband if a speaker were playing into a concave reflector that reflected all the radiation back to a point elsewhere (like in a "listening gallery"). While in a room that effect wouldn't be broadband, at times with all the waves reflecting around there will be instantaneous peaks and nulls occurring, with rms (averaged) values still being normal.

DIY Synergy horn spreadsheet http://libinst.com/SynergyCalc/
XSim -free crossover designer and simulator http://libinst.com/Xsim/XSimSetup.exe
bwaslo is offline  
post #1014 of 2112 Old 11-14-2011, 10:50 PM
 
BiGBADDABOOM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Why can't a 112dB peak happen at reference level?
BiGBADDABOOM is offline  
post #1015 of 2112 Old 11-15-2011, 02:51 AM
Member
 
dannut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Lets just say that soundfields in room are statistical in nature. You can have changing peaks/nulls not only where exactly you measure but also depend on temperature/humidity/convection etc.
Spatial average gets you are more meaningful reading.

Also this 105dB peak at reference is for single channel only - all channels blasted gets easly above this.
dannut is online now  
post #1016 of 2112 Old 11-19-2011, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 6,513
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 700 Post(s)
Liked: 854
Quote:
Originally Posted by hometheatergeek View Post

Morning all, Still on the fence about buying the OM.

Would the fact the omnimic is on sale for $250 dollars at parts-express kick you off the fence? It did me!

Buying right now.

"Without subs it's just background music - with subs it's the main event!"
Archaea's Theatre Room
2011 KC Sub Shootout
2012 KC Blind Sub Shootout
My Subwoofer Recommendations by Pricepoint
Archaea is offline  
post #1017 of 2112 Old 11-19-2011, 03:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
GPBURNS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 111
be nice to see some of you DIY guys to post sweeps
showing decent flat ouput below 10Hz with the omni
my seatons are good to about 13/14hz

15400 Watts of Seaton Power -Quad SubMersived
GPBURNS is offline  
post #1018 of 2112 Old 11-19-2011, 06:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hometheatergeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaea View Post

Would the fact the omnimic is on sale for $250 dollars at parts-express kick you off the fence? It did me!

Buying right now.

No I was thinking to give REW one more shot durning the holidays. Free vs $ 250 is still a consideration.

Hometheatergeek

aka AL
----------
My Current System
hometheatergeek is offline  
post #1019 of 2112 Old 11-19-2011, 06:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 6,513
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 700 Post(s)
Liked: 854
Quote:
Originally Posted by hometheatergeek View Post

No I was thinking to give REW one more shot durning the holidays. Free vs $ 250 is still a consideration.

ahhh, but REW isn't free.

You need a calibrated mic ($100?), you need an SPL meter ($50), you need more time invested to figure out how to use the software, many times the onboard soundcard isn't of high enough quality to use for REW I've read($50?). All of these are concerns.

omnimic is more pick up and play, soundcard built into the mic -- pre-calibrated to know exactly what's going on, and simple plug in USB interface with calibration tones on a disk that play through the dvd player.

REW may be more powerful, and is likely cheaper overall - but it can't be considered free outside of the software download itself which definately isn't all that you need.

"Without subs it's just background music - with subs it's the main event!"
Archaea's Theatre Room
2011 KC Sub Shootout
2012 KC Blind Sub Shootout
My Subwoofer Recommendations by Pricepoint
Archaea is offline  
post #1020 of 2112 Old 11-19-2011, 07:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
laugsbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 2,675
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaea View Post

ahhh, but REW isn't free.

You have that right!
laugsbach is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off