Dayton OmniMic Precision Measurement System - Page 75 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 10Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2221 of 2223 Old 06-24-2017, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
 
jasonmichaelh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonmichaelh View Post
Anyone know what the mic level should be set at in Windows 10 properties to get an accurate SPL reading? If I adjust the level from say 100, down to 50 or 33 then the SPL changes drastically (in Omnimic 5.03 software). My guess is that it should set to 100.

I'm already set with 16-bit 2-channel stereo. Just need to know the level setting.

Thanks
Nevermind. My question was answered over at PE.

Just set the app to adjust auto gain for your measurement level.

My levels were off because I adjusted the level setting from windows after auto-gain adjustment.

Sony XBR-75Z9D | Oppo BDP-203 and 103D | UBD-K8500
Mirage OMD-28 (LR) | OMD-C2 (C) | OMD-5 (SS, FH, RH)
Yamaha CX-A5100 | NAD T973 x 2
SVS PB12Plus/2 | Dayton UM18-22 Sealed x2 w/ iNuke 6000DSP
Monster Power HTPS 2000
jasonmichaelh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2222 of 2223 Old 07-04-2017, 11:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 10,133
Mentioned: 481 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3076 Post(s)
Liked: 2691
I'd like to use my omnimic to record the local city firework show tonight. Is this possible? Any suggestions on the best way? The omnimic is the best mic I own. Second place would probably go to a Blue Yeti.

I'd obviously like to preserve the dynamics and avoid clipping if possible. Laptop, and Windows 7, and a mic stand are the rest of the accessories.

@desertdome
@bwaslo
@Luke Kamp
@lukeamdman

----------------------------------------
February 2017 - Kansas City Home Theater Crawl
Archaea is offline  
post #2223 of 2223 Old 07-05-2017, 03:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
derrickdj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,727
Mentioned: 100 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 982 Post(s)
Liked: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonmichaelh View Post
Nevermind. My question was answered over at PE.

Just set the app to adjust auto gain for your measurement level.

My levels were off because I adjusted the level setting from windows after auto-gain adjustment.

I have used the mic at several levels and get results within 1 to 2 db. It is usuall over 50 on the computer. The slider in the Omnimic GUI is adjusted if I am using high spl.
derrickdj1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off