Crest CC4000 or CC5500 - Page 4 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-16-2013, 08:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 3,690
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 537 Post(s)
Liked: 207
LOL......I have seen the light Luke thanks. Whoaru99 do the CC amps have a universal power supply?
chrapladm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-16-2013, 08:39 PM
Senior Member
 
johnplayerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I managed to snag one of the emotiva xpr 2s 5 months old, So it will be nice to compare the toroid to the CV 5000 to see where the extra 15 lbs is. Wow and i thought Luke had the thread on ignor long ago............smile.gif Welcome back one liner LUKE. May your one liners prop yo u up to new heights of prestige and stardom in the New Year. rolleyes.gif

I just figured out what those icons next to the message box are for. smile.gif

A Good amplifier requires a adequate power supply, It does not matter what the amplifier is capable of if the power supply will not provide the power required. Most amplifiers have under rated power supplies. It is up to you to make sure you get the ones that are
least under rated if at all.
johnplayerson is online now  
Old 12-16-2013, 08:47 PM
Senior Member
 
johnplayerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnplayerson View Post

I managed to snag one of the emotiva xpr 2s 5 months old, So it will be nice to compare the toroid to the CV 5000 to see where the extra 15 lbs is. Wow and i thought Luke had the thread on ignor long ago............smile.gif Welcome back one liner LUKE. May your one liners prop you up to new heights of prestige and stardom in the New Year. rolleyes.gif

I just figured out what those icons next to the message box are for. smile.gif
. Happy new year and Merry christmas to all you 5000 post know it alls too. smile.gif The forum would not be here without you. Wow i just did one of those quotes everyone else like to do to. What skill i now have...

A Good amplifier requires a adequate power supply, It does not matter what the amplifier is capable of if the power supply will not provide the power required. Most amplifiers have under rated power supplies. It is up to you to make sure you get the ones that are
least under rated if at all.
johnplayerson is online now  
Old 12-16-2013, 08:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrapladm View Post

LOL......I have seen the light Luke thanks. Whoaru99 do the CC amps have a universal power supply?

Not clear which you mean for sure.

The CC series Crest amps I believe are plain old "big iron" power supplies. If the mains voltage can be changed I don't know.

If you mean CE Crown amps then yes, the CE4000 has universal SMPS; 100-240VAC plug and play. No adjustments necessary (proper line cord plug needed, of course).

That said, there is also a CE1000 and a CE2000 but they are completely different amps inasmuch as they are conventional (big iron) power supply and conventional (non-switching) output stages; totally dissimilar from the CE4000 on the inside. About the only thing the CE1000 and CE2000 have in common with CE4000 is they are amplifiers and have somewhat of a family resemblance.

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
Old 12-16-2013, 09:00 PM
Senior Member
 
johnplayerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 40
http://www.arizonachurchsound.com/ProAVmaxCutSheets/Crest_CC5500_Rvw_FOH.pdf

Nice review here of the CC 5500

Pros, nice bright lights for outside gigs.

Cons a little on the heavy side.

A Good amplifier requires a adequate power supply, It does not matter what the amplifier is capable of if the power supply will not provide the power required. Most amplifiers have under rated power supplies. It is up to you to make sure you get the ones that are
least under rated if at all.
johnplayerson is online now  
Old 12-17-2013, 02:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 3,690
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 537 Post(s)
Liked: 207
I have the Crest Pro 200 series and they have a universal power supply sort of. They have a jumper inside when using 110vac. So when I moved to Australia I just had to take the jumper out. I know a lot of JD designed amps have this feature but not all. I like the CC5500 amp for the value but wondered if I could still buy it from the USA or not.

Either way thanks.
chrapladm is offline  
Old 10-12-2015, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lukeamdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 2,459
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 626
lukeamdman is offline  
Old 10-12-2015, 04:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zeus33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,445
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 827 Post(s)
Liked: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeamdman View Post
I did some basic output testing on my Crest CC4000 and CC5500 today:

Interesting. Looking forward to the Crest 7.5 results. Thanks for sharing.
zeus33 is online now  
Old 10-12-2015, 04:39 PM
Member
 
steste1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
That is insane, my CC4000 recently stopped working and blew one of my 18 Sounds 21lw1400. This makes me want to see about getting it fixed.
steste1122 is offline  
Old 10-12-2015, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lukeamdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 2,459
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by steste1122 View Post
That is insane, my CC4000 recently stopped working and blew one of my 18 Sounds 21lw1400. This makes me want to see about getting it fixed.
The 5 year warranty should come in handy for that.
lukeamdman is offline  
Old 10-12-2015, 05:04 PM
Member
 
steste1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Except I bought it in 2008. It sat mostly unused for the last 7 years. It could have probably used to good inspection for parts that may have went bad.
steste1122 is offline  
Old 10-12-2015, 07:05 PM
Senior Member
 
SpinMonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeamdman View Post
I did some basic output testing on my Crest CC4000 and CC5500 today:

http://data-bass.ipbhost.com/index.p...plifier-tests/
Thanks for the test results.
I like those models. I didn't know they existed when I bought my 2 CS4080hz's.
I may be in the game for 4 of the CC5500's if the voltage limiter will save my TC 18's.
What would it lower the output to with the lower voltage gain setting? (20 vs 40)

Thanks again for all you do.
SpinMonster is offline  
Old 10-12-2015, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lukeamdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 2,459
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpinMonster View Post
Thanks for the test results.
I like those models. I didn't know they existed when I bought my 2 CS4080hz's.
I may be in the game for 4 of the CC5500's if the voltage limiter will save my TC 18's.
What would it lower the output to with the lower voltage gain setting? (20 vs 40)

Thanks again for all you do.
Going from 40 to 20 will lower the output by 6db.

What voltage limiters are you referring to?
lukeamdman is offline  
Old 10-12-2015, 07:27 PM
Senior Member
 
SpinMonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeamdman View Post
Going from 40 to 20 will lower the output by 6db.

What voltage limiters are you referring to?
There is a switch on the back of the 5500
SpinMonster is offline  
Old 10-12-2015, 07:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lukeamdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 2,459
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpinMonster View Post
There is a switch on the back of the 5500
That switch is basic signal attenuation, really no different than dialing the knobs on the front of the amp from all the way up to "-6".


For example, if you were to hit clipping on the amp with your receiver volume dial at -10db, pressing that switch would lower the amps output by 6db, but you'd still hit clipping if you then changed your receiver volume to -4db.


That switch won't limit the amount of voltage the amplifier is capable of outputting, it will just require more input voltage from the source to output the same levels.
LTD02 likes this.
lukeamdman is offline  
Old 10-12-2015, 07:39 PM
Senior Member
 
SpinMonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 78
OK, I guess the 5500's would be too dangerous for the TC's. The baskets can't be replaced. I hope the Ultras are worth the worry. I'll stay with the cs4080's. They're 2000 per driver.
SpinMonster is offline  
Old 10-12-2015, 07:43 PM
Senior Member
 
SpinMonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeamdman View Post
That switch won't limit the amount of voltage the amplifier is capable of outputting, it will just require more input voltage from the source to output the same levels.
Will the FP14000 clones allow voltage limiting with the dip switches in the back?
SpinMonster is offline  
Old 10-12-2015, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lukeamdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 2,459
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpinMonster View Post
Will the FP14000 clones allow voltage limiting with the dip switches in the back?

Yes, on the Sanway clones there are dip switches for both limiting output voltage and also for input voltage gain.
lukeamdman is offline  
Old 10-12-2015, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Decadent_Spectre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,249
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpinMonster View Post
OK, I guess the 5500's would be too dangerous for the TC's. The baskets can't be replaced. I hope the Ultras are worth the worry. I'll stay with the cs4080's. They're 2000 per driver.
Use a bridged CC4000. Based on lukes tests it should juice the LMS about right.
Decadent_Spectre is offline  
Old 10-12-2015, 07:52 PM
Senior Member
 
SpinMonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 78
I guess I'm forced to go that way (clones) but I don't have any luck with China. I'm 0-2 with mini-dsp

Last edited by SpinMonster; 10-12-2015 at 07:56 PM.
SpinMonster is offline  
Old 10-12-2015, 07:54 PM
Senior Member
 
SpinMonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Decadent_Spectre View Post
Use a bridged CC4000. Based on lukes tests it should juice the LMS about right.
I have OCD with buying lesser amps when bigger/better exist. I change subs often and will eventually upgrade regretting the 4000's. Given the choice, I'd get the clones
SpinMonster is offline  
Old 10-12-2015, 10:01 PM
d_c
AVS Special Member
 
d_c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: KCMO
Posts: 1,765
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 589 Post(s)
Liked: 635
Crest CC4000 or CC5500

I'm pretty happy with both my clones and I punish them on a regular basis, but I hope for a pair of 5500 for my Othorns
d_c is online now  
Old 10-13-2015, 08:31 AM
Member
 
Hoodcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeamdman View Post
I did some basic output testing on my Crest CC4000 and CC5500 today:

http://data-bass.ipbhost.com/index.p...plifier-tests/
Nice to know as an owner of a CC4000. Definitely looking forward to seeing your results on the Crest Pro-LITE 7.5 too!

Quote:
Originally Posted by steste1122 View Post
That is insane, my CC4000 recently stopped working and blew one of my 18 Sounds 21lw1400. This makes me want to see about getting it fixed.
Yikes, I thought those amps would have pretty good protection circuitry to help prevent damage upon failure?
Hoodcom is offline  
Old 10-13-2015, 08:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lukeamdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 2,459
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus33 View Post
Interesting. Looking forward to the Crest 7.5 results. Thanks for sharing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoodcom View Post
Nice to know as an owner of a CC4000. Definitely looking forward to seeing your results on the Crest Pro-LITE 7.5 too!



Yikes, I thought those amps would have pretty good protection circuitry to help prevent damage upon failure?

FYI - I just posted the results of the Pro-Lite 7.5 tests.
lukeamdman is offline  
Old 10-13-2015, 11:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zeus33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,445
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 827 Post(s)
Liked: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeamdman View Post
FYI - I just posted the results of the Pro-Lite 7.5 tests.
Thanks Luke.

Unfortunately, they are disappointing results. That's half the rated power.
zeus33 is online now  
Old 10-14-2015, 07:13 AM
Member
 
Hoodcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus33 View Post
Thanks Luke.

Unfortunately, they are disappointing results. That's half the rated power.
Yeah no kidding.

I'm curious to how the IPR2 5000 holds up too. I do own this model and use it for my subwoofers.
Hoodcom is offline  
Old 10-14-2015, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lukeamdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 2,459
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus33 View Post
Thanks Luke.

Unfortunately, they are disappointing results. That's half the rated power.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoodcom View Post
Yeah no kidding.

I'm curious to how the IPR2 5000 holds up too. I do own this model and use it for my subwoofers.

Unfortunately I already knew what the result would be for 2ohm stereo before I ran the tests.


However, I'm confident the amp will reach rated power at 4ohm stereo and I'll run another test to find out.
lukeamdman is offline  
Old 10-14-2015, 08:53 AM
Member
 
Hoodcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeamdman View Post
Unfortunately I already knew what the result would be for 2ohm stereo before I ran the tests.


However, I'm confident the amp will reach rated power at 4ohm stereo and I'll run another test to find out.
Should I be using my CC4000 for my subs instead of the IPR2 5000? Just curious. It's a 2 ohm load per channel.
Hoodcom is offline  
Old 10-14-2015, 09:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lukeamdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 2,459
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoodcom View Post
Should I be using my CC4000 for my subs instead of the IPR2 5000? Just curious. It's a 2 ohm load per channel.

I'd have to run the test to confirm, but the CC4000 should have a little more power than even the 7500 for 2ohm stereo power (~1,800w/ch vs. ~1,600w/ch). If that's true, it should definitely be stronger than the 5000.


Are you having issues with the 5000 clipping or power cycling when pushing it?

Last edited by lukeamdman; 10-14-2015 at 09:10 AM.
lukeamdman is offline  
Old 10-14-2015, 09:12 AM
Member
 
Hoodcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeamdman View Post
I'd have to run the test to confirm, but the CC4000 should have a little more power than even the 7.5 for 2ohm stereo power (~1,800w/ch vs. ~1,600w/ch). If that's true, it should definitely be stronger than the 5000.


Are you having issues with the 5000 clipping or power cycling when pushing it?
Not so far, but I don't know how far I've pushed it. I never measured that.
Hoodcom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off