Automatically Powering on Pro Amps via Relay (guide w/ pics) - Page 15 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 34Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2016, 08:51 AM
Member
 
evoryder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Deltona, FL
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by A9X-308 View Post
Yes.
Great! Thank you!
evoryder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-13-2016, 04:42 PM
Member
 
evoryder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Deltona, FL
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Here's my take on it, I used an old alarm panel to house the relays and then extended outlets into my rack. This is fed by two 30 amp circuits I ran a few weeks ago, for clones. I did use the diodes for protection, but I also used an Emotiva ET-3 just in case between the preamp and the relays.

Notnyt, thanks again for the valuable information you provide to us, and thanks to everyone else that has answered questions as well.




azz7686 likes this.
evoryder is offline  
Old 02-19-2016, 01:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 6,415
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Just ordered three Omrons! Can i install the relay in a steel two gang box with the outlets, I remember reading in an earlier post there was a code issue.....

Last edited by kgveteran; 02-19-2016 at 02:51 PM.
kgveteran is offline  
Old 02-20-2016, 05:17 AM
Member
 
evoryder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Deltona, FL
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Yes, some said it was an issue with code but since most are basically using it as an extension cord that is removable from the outlet I don't think it will matter. You can unplug it and put it away, take it with you when you move, etc.
evoryder is offline  
Old 02-20-2016, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 6,415
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by evoryder View Post
Yes, some said it was an issue with code but since most are basically using it as an extension cord that is removable from the outlet I don't think it will matter. You can unplug it and put it away, take it with you when you move, etc.
Mine will be hard wired, so i need to get some assistance as to this issue....thanx for knowing the issue existed

Now im rethinking a permanent flexible conduit, and doing a wall plate on either side of my fireplace instead. I can build portable steelboxes and flexible 12/2 for each branch of my service like countless others in this thread......

Last edited by kgveteran; 02-20-2016 at 11:54 AM.
kgveteran is offline  
Old 03-07-2016, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 6,415
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Done !
Sam S and LTD02 like this.
kgveteran is offline  
Old 03-07-2016, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sam S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4,386
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Done !
Nice work! Did you use solid state, or mechanical relays?
Sam S is offline  
Old 03-07-2016, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 6,415
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam S View Post
Nice work! Did you use solid state, or mechanical relays?
The Omron mechanical ones, with the snubber diodes.....
kgveteran is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off