"OMFG, Krypto is getting a mic finally!" - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 464 Old 04-05-2011, 01:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am literally getting ready to board up a window in the HT, I'd like to run a sweep before and after. Whenever I dont use REW for a while it seems I have the same issue but I never recall what I had to do to fix it.

My feeling is that completely sealed up I have issues, but completely opened up as well. I think if I close the door I just built all the way and leave the bedroom door slightly open, things will breath yet still load. Vice Verse, if I seal the spare room door all the way but leave the entryway door partiallt open or the outside door, i will have better results. I just ran a sweep with the front and back doors open...the outside doors.. and I think I may have heard a coil brush a back plate, IDK though usually I can run at -10dB and get that, I am at -15dB right now.

I'm going to go mach up the two boards to see where I need to cut the second one, then seal the spare room and entryway door and hope by then I can get this fixed, I'll run a sweep, then screw the boards in and run another sweep. I think with the spare room and entry way sealed up the window being sealed up will have an effect, but right now with both doors open I dont think it would do much.

kryptonitewhite is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 464 Old 04-05-2011, 02:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
something's way off. I was going to just do them messed up thinking it would still show before/after just uncalibrated, but this is too messed up.

kryptonitewhite is offline  
post #453 of 464 Old 04-05-2011, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 333
notnyt is offline  
post #454 of 464 Old 04-05-2011, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 333
You're not getting input from your mic or have it set to the wrong channel or the input level is too low or you plugged it in after rew started.

Why you're destroying your house, I still don't understand.
notnyt is offline  
post #455 of 464 Old 04-05-2011, 02:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lilmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 2,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by kryptonitewhite View Post

something's way off. I was going to just do them messed up thinking it would still show before/after just uncalibrated, but this is too messed up.


That is just noise. Nothing meaningful there.

What notnyt said - something is wired up wrong.
lilmike is offline  
post #456 of 464 Old 04-05-2011, 02:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I will shut down, unplug and replug, after I check sound input/output in rew

kryptonitewhite is offline  
post #457 of 464 Old 04-05-2011, 02:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
in and out were changed back to default for some reason in rew but the mic calibration file was still in there and C weighted was still checked.

When I reopened it it gave me a pop up to recalibrate, I have the door propped up so I have to walk around the house to get from the PC room to the HT room so I am waiting for Austin to get here so he can tell me "when" the needle is at -3dB on the mic with it set to 120dB. Thats assuming sealing it up didnt change the average SPL. I havent hubg the track to hang the door yet so I have to scoot that bastard by feet and arms. It's heavy.
kryptonitewhite is offline  
post #458 of 464 Old 04-05-2011, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
kryptonitewhite is offline  
post #459 of 464 Old 04-05-2011, 02:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
people give me crap for using all red power wire in my van, grounds too. wire is wire as long as you pay attention.

as long as you pay attention. when I first hooked RCA to RCA to RCA I hooked red and yellow, not red and white. When I grabbed the wires out today I thought "nah Ill do them right" and unplugged one end and plugged one in right



thanks guys


kryptonitewhite is offline  
post #460 of 464 Old 04-05-2011, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
all that work only to double SPL and flatten another 3dB... not

kryptonitewhite is offline  
post #461 of 464 Old 04-05-2011, 03:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
but that dang spare room door, I tell ya. "fixed" it... pulled the screws out and blocks off, done testing with them, huge difference down low in the single digits knew I should have left it caulked shut for-e-ver.

kryptonitewhite is offline  
post #462 of 464 Old 04-05-2011, 03:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
entry way door open as well.... so I gain a lot in the ULF department all sealed up

kryptonitewhite is offline  
post #463 of 464 Old 04-05-2011, 03:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
both doors shut, sealed up, vs both doors opened up

kryptonitewhite is offline  
post #464 of 464 Old 04-05-2011, 03:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
mic is supposed to be on slow, not fast, right?

well shes all tore down now anyway
kryptonitewhite is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off