New Mach 5 Audio UXL info - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 752 Old 04-14-2012, 11:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,724
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpmbc View Post

Sounds good so far. Where do you get the gasket tape?

PE and it's needed with these subs. I don't think it would be very easy to seal these baskets without it, as they are not a flat surface. I used 2 layers of the gasket tape and #14-2" wood screws for some serious bite. My boxes are mdf with 1.5" plywood mounting baffles.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 752 Old 04-14-2012, 12:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,380
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 60
[quote=N8DOGG;21906652] they are very close to the Mal-x 21's with just a bit more output below 25hz and down.
QUOTE]
Thats great to hear!
audiovideoholic is offline  
post #453 of 752 Old 04-14-2012, 01:44 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 13,672
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by N8DOGG View Post

I won't be posting room measurements, they are eq'd flat to 15hz with my DCX 2496 and audyssey pro and confirmed with REW. It wouldn't be shpowing anything that hasn't already been shown before. they are very close to the Mal-x 21's with just a bit more output below 25hz and down.
Room is 14x35x8 with the HT part kept within 20 feet of the 35 and open to the rest of the basement. Subs are":
4 x IXL 18's in a IB
2 x mal-x 18's
2 x mal-x 21's
2 x FTW 21's

The ib is running off 2 ep4000's, the mal-x 18's have a bridged ep per driver and the 21's have each a channel off the 2 clones. Ep clip light were dancing with both the 21's. the Clones are ummm awesome? lol. I can eq to 15hz with no ill effects with the clones (probably lower but meh), heck they are barely running LOL.

A bridged ep will get you some serious output with the FTW's and only really clips on the heaviest scenes.

Goodtimes. Great times!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- direct pod link


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
post #454 of 752 Old 04-14-2012, 09:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gpmbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,392
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 79
N8DOGG what bandwidth are your FTWs covering?
gpmbc is offline  
post #455 of 752 Old 04-14-2012, 11:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,724
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 296
10-80hz. I just had some friends over and we played WOTW at reference with the subs 8dB'sa over. Holy freaking crap, my poor house may be dead!! lol

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
post #456 of 752 Old 04-15-2012, 06:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fatshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by N8DOGG View Post

10-80hz. I just had some friends over and we played WOTW at reference with the subs 8dB'sa over. Holy freaking crap, my poor house may be dead!! lol

N8DOGG, (I'd love to see/hear your setup!!!)

Would 2 of these be overkill in a 17x15 size room?
I have 4x MFW-15 (1 in each corner) now and have a lot of bass but I need more!

I'm thinking the 4x MFW-15 up front and 2x FTW21 in the back.
Is that too much?

Thanks for your advice.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Equipment Speakers:
3x 1099's for LCR duty
4x Fusion 8's for surround duty
8x subs: 4x FTW21's and 4x SI18's
Fatshaft is offline  
post #457 of 752 Old 04-15-2012, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Never to much.....just matter of budget and taste.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
chrapladm is online now  
post #458 of 752 Old 04-15-2012, 08:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
Steve_Vai_rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The land of Ice and Snow
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatshaft View Post


N8DOGG, (I'd love to see/hear your setup!!!)

Would 2 of these be overkill in a 17x15 size room?
I have 4x MFW-15 (1 in each corner) now and have a lot of bass but I need more!

I'm thinking the 4x MFW-15 up front and 2x FTW21 in the back.
Is that too much?

Thanks for your advice.

Too much? No such thing.

Matt

"The main reason Santa is so jolly is because he knows where all the bad girls live." - George Carlin
Steve_Vai_rules is offline  
post #459 of 752 Old 04-15-2012, 08:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
WiSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve_vai_rules View Post


too much? No such thing.

+1

 

Originally Posted by Bill Fitzmaurice:
It's also the very sort of Voodoo Engineering that should never be done.

 

WiSounds is offline  
post #460 of 752 Old 04-15-2012, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fatshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Guys,

Thanks for the confirmation that's it's NEVER too much!

Now the question is would connecting the 2x FTW21 to a single EP4000 be a waste?
That's all I could do cause the other EP4000 would power the 4x MFW-15's.

Does that make sense?

Thanks


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Equipment Speakers:
3x 1099's for LCR duty
4x Fusion 8's for surround duty
8x subs: 4x FTW21's and 4x SI18's
Fatshaft is offline  
post #461 of 752 Old 04-15-2012, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 74
You would be fine.....we all here just like mass overkill and20db's of headroom.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
chrapladm is online now  
post #462 of 752 Old 04-15-2012, 09:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fatshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrapladm View Post

You would be fine.....we all here just like mass overkill and20db's of headroom.

Thanks chrapladm...

Before I pull the trigger for 2x...
Sorry to ask but what size of cab (sealed) would I need per sub?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Equipment Speakers:
3x 1099's for LCR duty
4x Fusion 8's for surround duty
8x subs: 4x FTW21's and 4x SI18's
Fatshaft is offline  
post #463 of 752 Old 04-15-2012, 10:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
Steve_Vai_rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The land of Ice and Snow
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatshaft View Post

Guys,

Thanks for the confirmation that's it's NEVER too much!

Now the question is would connecting the 2x FTW21 to a single EP4000 be a waste?
That's all I could do cause the other EP4000 would power the 4x MFW-15's.

Does that make sense?

Thanks

You would probably want a clone as an ep isn't going to fully work them out. As bosso is always pushing make sure you have proper amp head room so you aren't clipping.

Matt

"The main reason Santa is so jolly is because he knows where all the bad girls live." - George Carlin
Steve_Vai_rules is offline  
post #464 of 752 Old 04-15-2012, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dominguez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,769
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 174
I'm going to be using 2 ep4000s in bridged mode to power my two sealed enclosures. My room is 18x14. Hopefully, they'll be done by the end of April and I'll let you know how they do.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dominguez1 is offline  
post #465 of 752 Old 04-15-2012, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dominguez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,769
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve_Vai_rules View Post

You would probably want a clone as an ep isn't going to fully work them out. As bosso is always pushing make sure you have proper amp head room so you aren't clipping.

Matt

I agree with the headroom comment, but with so much power on board with the clone, aren't you in danger of driving the sub too hard that may result in damage to the driver?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dominguez1 is offline  
post #466 of 752 Old 04-15-2012, 02:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Steve_Vai_rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The land of Ice and Snow
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by dominguez1 View Post


I agree with the headroom comment, but with so much power on board with the clone, aren't you in danger of driving the sub too hard that may result in damage to the driver?

You will damage it with clipping too.

I bet you would have a hell of a time melting a coil. But if you are worried about over excursion just make sure you plot you signal shaping properly or just know at what voltage thing go bad and never go above that (xmax leaving lots of xmech).

Matt

"The main reason Santa is so jolly is because he knows where all the bad girls live." - George Carlin
Steve_Vai_rules is offline  
post #467 of 752 Old 04-15-2012, 02:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,724
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by dominguez1 View Post

I agree with the headroom comment, but with so much power on board with the clone, aren't you in danger of driving the sub too hard that may result in damage to the driver?

Just setup your system so that they won't get damaged I was messing around with my ep's today and to be honest, even though the clip light dances, they still had enough power to pay well above reference. I only got the clones because I wanted to get rid of my giant stack of amps and simplify my setup a bit.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
post #468 of 752 Old 04-15-2012, 03:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,724
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatshaft View Post

Thanks chrapladm...

Before I pull the trigger for 2x...
Sorry to ask but what size of cab (sealed) would I need per sub?

Anywhere from 6 cubic feet (mine are about 6.2 after driver and bracing) to about 10 cubic feet. IMO the sweet spot is 7 CF. 7 would be as big as I would personally go but I'm also in limited space but don't feel the gains are worth the extra size.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
post #469 of 752 Old 04-15-2012, 05:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fatshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by N8DOGG View Post

Anywhere from 6 cubic feet (mine are about 6.2 after driver and bracing) to about 10 cubic feet. IMO the sweet spot is 7 CF. 7 would be as big as I would personally go but I'm also in limited space but don't feel the gains are worth the extra size.

N8DOGG,

Thanks so much for the cab size recommendation.
that's exactly what I wanted to know.

Now would you know if it would be possible to get these subs at 2 ohms or 8 ohms?

Because I'll be driving both connected to one EP4000 ,I'd like to make sure it's 4 ohms total to get the full 2000watts.

Thanks


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Equipment Speakers:
3x 1099's for LCR duty
4x Fusion 8's for surround duty
8x subs: 4x FTW21's and 4x SI18's
Fatshaft is offline  
post #470 of 752 Old 04-15-2012, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fatshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by dominguez1 View Post

I'm going to be using 2 ep4000s in bridged mode to power my two sealed enclosures. My room is 18x14. Hopefully, they'll be done by the end of April and I'll let you know how they do.

Wow, can't wait to hear what you think!
Thanks


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Equipment Speakers:
3x 1099's for LCR duty
4x Fusion 8's for surround duty
8x subs: 4x FTW21's and 4x SI18's
Fatshaft is offline  
post #471 of 752 Old 04-15-2012, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fatshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve_Vai_rules View Post

You would probably want a clone as an ep isn't going to fully work them out. As bosso is always pushing make sure you have proper amp head room so you aren't clipping.

Matt

Steve,

I checked that out and would love to buy one, but it's going to have to wait.
Budget is not allowing me to do so...maybe later on though.

Thanks for your input


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Equipment Speakers:
3x 1099's for LCR duty
4x Fusion 8's for surround duty
8x subs: 4x FTW21's and 4x SI18's
Fatshaft is offline  
post #472 of 752 Old 04-15-2012, 06:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,724
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatshaft View Post

N8DOGG,

Thanks so much for the cab size recommendation.
that's exactly what I wanted to know.

Now would you know if it would be possible to get these subs at 2 ohms or 8 ohms?

Because I'll be driving both connected to one EP4000 ,I'd like to make sure it's 4 ohms total to get the full 2000watts.

Thanks

I don't know, mine are single 4 ohm but thats what I wanted. You'd have to email Mark and ask him.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
post #473 of 752 Old 04-17-2012, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,380
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Which placement would be better for the horns, A or B?

audiovideoholic is offline  
post #474 of 752 Old 04-17-2012, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Steve_Vai_rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The land of Ice and Snow
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Probably B due to better integration of like drivers. May raise efficiency closer to the theoretical maximum. And considering the spacing difference I doubt you would notice a very large change in response at bass frequencies.

Matt

"The main reason Santa is so jolly is because he knows where all the bad girls live." - George Carlin
Steve_Vai_rules is offline  
post #475 of 752 Old 04-19-2012, 08:34 PM
Member
 
WesM228's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the FTW shipping yet? I emailed Mark. Just waiting to hear back.
WesM228 is offline  
post #476 of 752 Old 04-19-2012, 10:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,380
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by WesM228 View Post

Is the FTW shipping yet? I emailed Mark. Just waiting to hear back.

I was told mine would be the first to ship and that was two weeks ago when he said that. He said he thought the crates would be ready by mid last week but havent heard anything. I'll shoot him an email too.
audiovideoholic is offline  
post #477 of 752 Old 04-19-2012, 10:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Steve_Vai_rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The land of Ice and Snow
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Man this waiting thing is killing me. Lol

Matt

"The main reason Santa is so jolly is because he knows where all the bad girls live." - George Carlin
Steve_Vai_rules is offline  
post #478 of 752 Old 04-20-2012, 05:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,380
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 60
I just looked back at the last email and it was on the 2nd so almost 3 weeks ago he said they were being packed up and waiting on the crates. I just emailed him again.

Can someone link me to a winisd file that I can just open and model or do I need to manually enter the values. Think I will build the boxes this weekend. My plan is to build 2 boxes that house 3 drivers each and then two identical single boxes.
audiovideoholic is offline  
post #479 of 752 Old 04-20-2012, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,380
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 60
From the numbers I just plugged into winisd it looks like with 8 drivers and 2 14000 clones ran at 8ohm stereo I can build the boxes at 8 cuft to stay under xmax at 2.5hz.

I would have thought I would need 4 clones but using only two at 8ohm stereo will get me to xmax with 8cuft enclosures. Oh, that would be 9400 total watts or 1175 each from the clone specs.

Should I be modeling these drivers matched with the clones different or do you all think they will put out what they quote at 8ohms?

Its just weird thinking that running two amps at 8ohms stereo for 8 21 inch subs will be anywhere near pushing them to xmax.

Any thoughts guys?
audiovideoholic is offline  
post #480 of 752 Old 04-20-2012, 08:08 PM
Member
 
WesM228's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still no reply. Have you guys already been charged?
WesM228 is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off