REW with Audyssey mic - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By LastButNotLeast
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 04-06-2011, 09:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Don't want to dump Mike's thread.

Plugged Audyssey in to MIC and hit sweep (didn't change anything in REW for it) clipping detected message, headroom red 0.0dB

kryptonitewhite is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 04-06-2011, 09:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Changed preferences, deleted mic cal file, leave C weighted checked?

(BTW, on the RS meter do I leave it on slow or fast?)

Now it wants me to calibrate, obviousely cant calibrate the Audyssey

clipping detected message

kryptonitewhite is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 04-06-2011, 09:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
last one was leaving C weighted checked

here is unchecked

kryptonitewhite is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 04-06-2011, 09:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I finally took the Audyssey mic off the rigg today, yesterday I thought would be the last time I used it since the thread died but I forgot to do "spectral" though I think I need to try that other spectral program first. The above sweeps were with the mic laying on the bed, I just mounted it and for all the sweeps thus far i had the PC volume way down...oops

I thought the low stuff would be affected by not being mounted....bouncing around...but it was up high. And this was at a very low volume.

kryptonitewhite is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 04-06-2011, 09:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
pc volume up same master volume

kryptonitewhite is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 04-06-2011, 09:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,491
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Uncheck C weighting for the audyssey mic. You can also calibrate it, run the calibration and use the reading off the radio shack meter for the SPL level.
notnyt is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 04-06-2011, 09:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,491
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 455
also, when capturing the graphs, check include legend, and label your plots. It makes it easier for people reading the thread. Also, if clipping, lower the input level.
notnyt is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 04-06-2011, 10:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
OK, set the RS to 120, when it said -6dB clicked save for 114dB, ran check levels, no good, red -10.7 Level is High
kryptonitewhite is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 04-06-2011, 10:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
kryptonitewhite is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 04-06-2011, 10:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,491
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 455
you don't need to calibrate so loud. The audyssey mic may not be able to measure that loud either.

Shoot for 100db and take some readings. Keep the input level low.
notnyt is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 04-06-2011, 10:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
Keep the input level low.
as in mic setting? it was at 17 with +20dB. Drop to +0dB and leave at 17 and drop the RS to 100dB master volume to -30dB and see if it registers on RS?

kryptonitewhite is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 04-06-2011, 10:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,491
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 455
notnyt is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 04-06-2011, 10:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm sorry!

ok, boost off, calibration at -25dB did +2dB on RS set to 100dB, so entered 102dB

sweep at -25dB

kryptonitewhite is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 04-06-2011, 10:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,491
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 455
notnyt is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 04-06-2011, 11:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
thank you again! plot looks more realistic to me too, but I am still completely novice.
kryptonitewhite is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 04-07-2011, 10:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kryptonitewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
this is with the subs nice and warmed up as we swept and re-swept with the doors open to find the limit, then again doors closed all sealed up. I hear suspension issues at -12dB so this is 5Hz increments starting at -42dB and ending at -12dB

You have NO idea how much of a pain the SR door blocks were, how nice it was to take them out, but reset them up today for this

kryptonitewhite is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 06-15-2013, 09:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
shpitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Geneva, IL, USA
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Hi,
what do i need to do in order to use the audyssey mic (ACM1HB) that came with my onkyo receiver?

i ran calibration and REW5 says too much variation. I connected a single cable with stereo jacks on both ends, from line-in of the soundcard (on-board), to a speaker input.





Can the mic be used? if not, which mic should i get?

Thanks!

shpitz is online now  
post #18 of 19 Old 06-16-2013, 07:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,673
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 264
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 06-17-2013, 07:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
shpitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Geneva, IL, USA
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35

So the ACM1HB Audyssey mic cannot be used, I have to buy one of the recommended mics for REW?

EDIT: Alrighty, took the plunge and purchased the miniDSP UMIK-1, going to set it up with HDMI output per the guides.

Thanks for your help!

shpitz is online now  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Tags
Room Equilizer Wizard Rew , Audyssey

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off