Lab Gruppen FP14000 clone amplifiers - Page 152 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4531 of 4598 Old 06-10-2014, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 6,916
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 546
I love this place smile.gif


(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4532 of 4598 Old 06-10-2014, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiovideoholic View Post

Do you know which manufacture this was found in?

I found a thread with that pic but it didnt come from an FP clone or the like is my understanding. Right?

Not that I'm aware of. I think it was just being used as an example. And yes, it was on an audiophile forum.

FS- Peavey IPR 2 7500, Art Clean Box Pro, Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 2, Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server
Theater Build and Two Sono Sub Builds Here-
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #4533 of 4598 Old 06-10-2014, 08:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
cookieattk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxrealtor View Post

Not that I'm aware of. I think it was just being used as an example. And yes, it was on an audiophile forum.


its a hoax
cookieattk is offline  
post #4534 of 4598 Old 06-10-2014, 08:36 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 13,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 632
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrapladm View Post

lol......I am crying right now.......LOL Thanks Scott.biggrin.gif

Sometimes you get some posters that just make you smile. Reminds me of another person a while back who wanted to build a subwoofer. I think he was someone using another name and just jerkin someones chain but it was funny to a point.

Ahhh... sounds like that Mr. Boomy Boom Boom. biggrin.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post

I love this place smile.gif



My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #4535 of 4598 Old 06-10-2014, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 6,916
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 546
One upper....

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #4536 of 4598 Old 06-13-2014, 06:24 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have been browsing these forums and chatting tho Chap for a wile but decided to bite the bullet and get a FP14000. It arrived real fast, looks great, feels solid and man does it have some gain. I needed to go down to about 25db from the default 44 to feel a bit safer and still be able to clip it in non live testing. I was quite impressed by its performance and build quality, the power cable is real chunky as well.

I have been talking to Sanway and they do make their own cased/branded series that has the same internal workings as these clones called the FB series rather than FP. They are $50 or so cheaper than the lab looking clones and also offer the advantage of drawing less copy-write attention.

Sanway also make an ashley 4-8 system processor but they also have made their own original processor which seams to have better spec. The fact that they seam to have original electronic designs as well as being a speaker manufacturer give me a little bit of confidence that Im not sure many other cloning companies could provide.

I plan on getting a FB-10000q now as well.

On a side note I found a guy is Australia that gets these amps built to his specific spec, then re-solders the important bits and then sells them locally for $2500 a pop! He provides one year warranty and wouldn't reveal the actual manufacturer. I dont think he sells enough to private buyers to be too concerned about copywrite but over double the price for local warranty just seamed silly to me considering how nice the sanways seam to be.

Anyway I thought I would share this experience and info with you all.
unboundsound is offline  
post #4537 of 4598 Old 06-13-2014, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 56
As I have chatted with you before I am happy you have a good working product. I am interested in the other cases. I will have to contact them again and see what all they have again. I almost bought some plate amps from them a few weeks ago but life got in the way.

BUT I do like the wood front Bosso had on his. Would be nice to duplicate that.
chrapladm is online now  
post #4538 of 4598 Old 06-13-2014, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 237
Being a "sanway reseller" would be tough without a marketing strategy, especially if the units look like trademarked items.

It is unlikely that they would file a lawsuit halfway across the world though... Legal fees and travel would probably kill them.
blazar is offline  
post #4539 of 4598 Old 06-13-2014, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 6,916
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 546
What do the branded models look like if not the LG style?

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #4540 of 4598 Old 06-13-2014, 01:29 PM
Member
 
Red Devil 24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Laval, Qc Canada
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
What do the branded models look like if not the LG style?
Ugly in my opinion
http://www.china-sanway.com/Product....ower Amplifier

Red Devil 24 is offline  
post #4541 of 4598 Old 06-13-2014, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 6,916
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 546
Uh. Yep
beastaudio is offline  
post #4542 of 4598 Old 06-14-2014, 02:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrapladm View Post
I almost bought some plate amps from them
Now I am curious about these, they don't seam to be in their catalog/brochure, what are the specs?

The FB series does look worse but I have some high res pics and they dont look so bad, I would peel the tacky badges off immediately though.

Last edited by unboundsound; 06-14-2014 at 02:25 AM.
unboundsound is offline  
post #4543 of 4598 Old 06-14-2014, 05:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Sanway has a LOT of products. I have tried some of their drivers and will probably try one of their plate amps. I had been looking for a cheap PA speaker to buy instead of build and they came to mind. When I figured shipping might be too expensive I asked about them selling components instead. He said they would that also.

SO when you look at the powered PA mains that they sell they can sell the amp out of that configuration. I never went with it yet because I keep having to deal with other things , life and not enough money to go around. I still have to ask him a bunch of questions in regards to the plate amps though. After chatting with Hypex for a while also I kinda started thinking about using them instead. BUT money talks.

I am very excited that another 240Vac Fp14000 has been bought from them and is working just fine.
chrapladm is online now  
post #4544 of 4598 Old 06-14-2014, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Devil 24 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
What do the branded models look like if not the LG style?
Ugly in my opinion
http://www.china-sanway.com/Product....ower Amplifier
Well no wonder they copied the look of LG products... Theirs looks like crap...

The sanway logo looks kinda stupid too.
blazar is offline  
post #4545 of 4598 Old 06-14-2014, 03:44 PM
Member
 
SpinMonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrapladm View Post

I am very excited that another 240Vac Fp14000 has been bought from them and is working just fine.

What payment form do they require at sanway?

Last edited by SpinMonster; 06-14-2014 at 03:59 PM.
SpinMonster is online now  
post #4546 of 4598 Old 06-14-2014, 05:16 PM
Member
 
fperra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpinMonster View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrapladm View Post

I am very excited that another 240Vac Fp14000 has been bought from them and is working just fine.

What payment form do they require at sanway?
PayPal works best.
fperra is offline  
post #4547 of 4598 Old 06-14-2014, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I thought they were direct deposit only?
chrapladm is online now  
post #4548 of 4598 Old 06-14-2014, 08:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrapladm View Post
I thought they were direct deposit only?
not for a long time
notnyt is online now  
post #4549 of 4598 Old 06-14-2014, 08:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Well thats good news to me then. Be it old news to everyone else.
chrapladm is online now  
post #4550 of 4598 Old 06-17-2014, 04:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello,

I ordered 1 piece FP14000 @sanway , mr. Johnson Tang sent me one last friday and i received it yesterday. Man that's quick!

Amplifier was double boxed. I unpacked it and my opinion so far is: This amp is really well built, robust on the outside and well finished! i haven't tested it yet (not enough time).

If it works properly, and if it is reliable, i'd say it's a good buy, this amp is definitely better built than other brands like Behringer

Payment was easy by PayPal.

EDIT:

Tested it yesterday and it works like a charm . My subs go much louder now, it blows 2 bridged Crown i-tech 4000 (rentals) amps away! I hope this amp its reliability is long-lasting.
I'm happy with it, i'm really considering on going to order an other one later on.

Greetings from the Netherlands
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Fp14000.jpg (76.8 KB, 30 views)

Last edited by soundmaster0000; 06-17-2014 at 11:34 PM.
soundmaster0000 is offline  
post #4551 of 4598 Old 06-17-2014, 05:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 3,233
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 485
What up guys... Do we still have any buyers of old non-working clones lurking around? I have an old FP14K posted up in the classifieds if anyone is interested.

Getting ready for a move and I don't want to have to put that beast in storage.

 

popalock is offline  
post #4552 of 4598 Old 06-17-2014, 07:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
MemX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by popalock View Post
What up guys... Do we still have any buyers of old non-working clones lurking around? I have an old FP14K posted up in the classifieds if anyone is interested.

Getting ready for a move and I don't want to have to put that beast in storage.
Just to check, are the Sanway clones 110/220v switchable like the genuine LG items are?

I'm just thinking about options around buying a 'known quantity' amp secondhand from the US or buying direct from China.


Not that I should be looking, I've not even got my first build with a CV5000 up and running yet and upgradeitis is already setting in... lol
MemX is offline  
post #4553 of 4598 Old 06-17-2014, 10:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 3,233
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by MemX View Post
Just to check, are the Sanway clones 110/220v switchable like the genuine LG items are?

I'm just thinking about options around buying a 'known quantity' amp secondhand from the US or buying direct from China.


Not that I should be looking, I've not even got my first build with a CV5000 up and running yet and upgradeitis is already setting in... lol
I wish! If it was switchable to 220V I'd be taking it with me... =)

I'm a fan of the CV5000. Good amp for a 5,000watt load @ 4ohm. Hummm, in fact....I think I just found my new amp choice for my 24's.

Thanks man!

 

popalock is offline  
post #4554 of 4598 Old 06-17-2014, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jbrown15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vancouver B.C.
Posts: 5,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by popalock View Post
I wish! If it was switchable to 220V I'd be taking it with me... =)

I'm a fan of the CV5000. Good amp for a 5,000watt load @ 4ohm. Hummm, in fact....I think I just found my new amp choice for my 24's.

Thanks man!
Pop are you going to be running the 16 SI 18's and the SI 24's at your new place?

My Gear:

JTR Noesis 228HT (LCR)
Axiom Audio QS8 surrounds
Sherbourn PA 7-350
Pioneer VSX-21TXH
JVC RS45
Falcon Screens FVHD105
Dual PSA XS30's (gone but not forgotten)
jbrown15 is offline  
post #4555 of 4598 Old 06-17-2014, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 3,233
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrown15 View Post
Pop are you going to be running the 16 SI 18's and the SI 24's at your new place?
No sir. Can't accommodate bringing the 18's so they will be boxed up for a while in storage...just waiting for me to come home.

I'm only going to be able to bring the 24's with me to my new place. Space isn't the issue...We are restricted on the weight of house hold goods we can ship with us overseas. The 24's represent the best "pound for pound" option available to me at this point in time.

 

popalock is offline  
post #4556 of 4598 Old 06-17-2014, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jbrown15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vancouver B.C.
Posts: 5,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by popalock View Post
No sir. Can't accommodate bringing the 18's so they will be boxed up for a while in storage...just waiting for me to come home.

I'm only going to be able to bring the 24's with me to my new place. Space isn't the issue...We are restricted on the weight of house hold goods we can ship with us overseas. The 24's represent the best "pound for pound" option available to me at this point in time.
Oh wow I didn't realize you're moving overseas. Two SI 24's then?

My Gear:

JTR Noesis 228HT (LCR)
Axiom Audio QS8 surrounds
Sherbourn PA 7-350
Pioneer VSX-21TXH
JVC RS45
Falcon Screens FVHD105
Dual PSA XS30's (gone but not forgotten)
jbrown15 is offline  
post #4557 of 4598 Old 06-17-2014, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 6,916
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 546
Why do you have to be a world away with a 24" setup? That really takes it out of the cards for me to drive over and listen...

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #4558 of 4598 Old 06-18-2014, 04:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 3,233
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrown15 View Post
Oh wow I didn't realize you're moving overseas. Two SI 24's then?
Two indeed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
Why do you have to be a world away with a 24" setup? That really takes it out of the cards for me to drive over and listen...
Guess you'll just have to make due with that epic Avatar until you and Megs make the trip to come check out my hut in the desert!

Or you'll just one up me in a few months when you scoop up a pair of those one-off custom 10,000 watt / 69mm xmax / XBL^2 motor / frankenwoofers Nick is secretly tooling together in his warehouse dungeon for sealed-ported applications...

Then I'll have to make it back to the states to give YOU a visit.
beastaudio likes this.

 

popalock is offline  
post #4559 of 4598 Old 06-18-2014, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by MemX View Post
Just to check, are the Sanway clones 110/220v switchable like the genuine LG items are?
Quote:
Originally Posted by popalock View Post
I wish! If it was switchable to 220V I'd be taking it with me... =)
They don't have a selector switch, but they can be changed back and forth. Just ask Johnson for the instructions. I think it's just a matter of making some soldering changes and swapping out the fuses.
duc135 is online now  
post #4560 of 4598 Old 06-18-2014, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Do you have the T/S for the Frankenwoofer? LOL J/K
chrapladm is online now  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Tags
Lab Gruppen Fp 14000 , Sanway Fp 10000q
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off