Lab Gruppen FP14000 clone amplifiers - Page 163 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4861 of 5106 Old 01-13-2015, 01:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,875
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekgajewski View Post
Since this amp is a "clone", are the Fed's going to arrive at my door again? Is it considered a "counterfeit" product?

I actually had agents come to my office over a few key chains ordered from AliExpress with the word "Jeep" on them. I'm now on the "list", where all my packages will be opened and checked by Customs.

Sounds silly, but I can't risk anything like that.
I'm not a lawyer so don't take this as legal advice, but IMO, clone and counterfeit are two different things. Counterfeits are sold under the assumption that you are getting the genuine product. These clones are not being sold as the real product. There is no original product name on it. It is understood that you are not getting the genuine product. You are getting a product that resembles the original product at a considerable discount. Think of it as getting brand name pharmaceuticals vs. generic house brands from the drug store. Less all the protections and controls offered by legal US companies of course.
duc135 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4862 of 5106 Old 01-13-2015, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zeus33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,162
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 642 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekgajewski View Post
Since this amp is a "clone", are the Fed's going to arrive at my door again? Is it considered a "counterfeit" product?

I actually had agents come to my office over a few key chains ordered from AliExpress with the word "Jeep" on them. I'm now on the "list", where all my packages will be opened and checked by Customs.

Sounds silly, but I can't risk anything like that.

WOW. That sounds beyond silly. That is probably the most asinine thing I have heard. They must have lots of free time to be able to devote time and effort to such a "serious" crime. Tax dollars hard at work.
zeus33 is offline  
post #4863 of 5106 Old 01-13-2015, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tsloms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekgajewski View Post
Since this amp is a "clone", are the Fed's going to arrive at my door again? Is it considered a "counterfeit" product?



I actually had agents come to my office over a few key chains ordered from AliExpress with the word "Jeep" on them. I'm now on the "list", where all my packages will be opened and checked by Customs.



Sounds silly, but I can't risk anything like that.

If I was in your situation I would stay miles away from this amp then. There are plenty of great amps such as the inuke 6000 and ipr7500 that will give this a run for its money and are completely legal amps.
tsloms is offline  
post #4864 of 5106 Old 01-13-2015, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,875
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsloms View Post
If I was in your situation I would stay miles away from this amp then. There are plenty of great amps such as the inuke 6000 and ipr7500 that will give this a run for its money and are completely legal amps.
IIRC the numbers don't support that statement. They are simply not in the same league as the clones for sub use.

Also, I don't think there is any illegal about them. Unethical perhaps, but not illegal.
duc135 is offline  
post #4865 of 5106 Old 01-13-2015, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tsloms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 45
While the inuke is down 3db from the clone amp you could buy 2 of the inukes to match the power for less cost. The ipr7500 I don't believe has had a thorough test performed as of yet but those that use it state it is very close. Also for much less money.
tsloms is offline  
post #4866 of 5106 Old 01-13-2015, 03:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsloms View Post
While the inuke is down 3db from the clone amp you could buy 2 of the inukes to match the power for less cost. The ipr7500 I don't believe has had a thorough test performed as of yet but those that use it state it is very close. Also for much less money.
I disagree. I have owned all three amps iNuke 6000, IPR2-7500, and the FP14k clone amp driving (6) SI 18s in various wiring configurations.

There was really no comparison when being used as a sub amp. The clone is a much better amp.

The IPR2-7500 is supposed to shine when running 2 channel - 2 ohm load through it. I did not run it that way so I cannot comment, but I'd be surprised if that made much of a difference.

I still own the FP14k and have since sold the other amps.

Oh and the IPR2-7500 is about the same price as the 14k. Perhaps a few dollars less. In my opinion it didn't perform any better than a iNuke 6000 which is half the price.

Last edited by dwaleke; 01-13-2015 at 03:17 PM.
dwaleke is offline  
post #4867 of 5106 Old 01-13-2015, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tsloms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 45
The IPR is available for $650 all day on the bay and down to $600 at times. Have you taken any tests to see how much more power the clone puts out? I'd be shocked if the clone could do the rating from LG. I'm just curious.
tsloms is offline  
post #4868 of 5106 Old 01-13-2015, 03:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Sacramento Delta
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekgajewski View Post
Since this amp is a "clone", are the Fed's going to arrive at my door again? Is it considered a "counterfeit" product?

I actually had agents come to my office over a few key chains ordered from AliExpress with the word "Jeep" on them. I'm now on the "list", where all my packages will be opened and checked by Customs.

Sounds silly, but I can't risk anything like that.
I'm sure there is more to the story!! I have received letters from the US Customs to come claim my item, which I chose not to.
Yes I'm guessing the amp is counter fitted. I knew a guy who counter fitted items for a living but when they came to ask questions it was 15 plus vehicles.
Some of the items he counter fitted, the plant workers would walk across the street to the next factory and produce the same item. Now with that said, there is a chance this clone is private labeled and the manufacture has the rights to the design.
Doradoguy is offline  
post #4869 of 5106 Old 01-13-2015, 03:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 5,673
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 943 Post(s)
Liked: 889
notnyt is online now  
post #4870 of 5106 Old 01-13-2015, 04:00 PM
Newbie
 
ekgajewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Boone, NC
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doradoguy View Post
I'm sure there is more to the story!!
There is not too much more to the story. I own a Jeep parts and accessories shop. I had ordered a bunch of LED lights for resale without issue. I ordered 10 key-chains, which I was going to use as giveaways with the purchase of other products I am not allowed to discount. The total was about $60 with shipping. Because they had the letters "J-e-e-p" on them, they were considered counterfeit goods. They said it would be no different than a watch with "R-o-l-e-x" on it. After the explanation, I understood their point. My staff still jokes about the incident. For these "low-level" offenses, they must use off-duty or retired agent's, they were two older men in shorts with badges.

Anyway, this has gotten WAY off topic.

I think because these are not trying to pass them off as the real Lab.gruppen FP-14000's, they may be OK.
ekgajewski is offline  
post #4871 of 5106 Old 01-14-2015, 07:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
If in doubt, get the FB14000.
This!! Lol.
MagnumMafia05 is offline  
post #4872 of 5106 Old 01-14-2015, 08:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsloms View Post
The IPR is available for $650 all day on the bay and down to $600 at times. Have you taken any tests to see how much more power the clone puts out? I'd be shocked if the clone could do the rating from LG. I'm just curious.
I have no way to test actual power output (too much equipment needed for that - look at notnyt's thread on measuring amplifiers). Perhaps we can send him some amps to test once his equipment is ready to go.

Both the iNukes and the IPR2-7500 would power cycle when pushed hard. The clone just keeps kicking. (I did have them properly gain matched and level matched). Like I said the 7500 was about the same as the iNuke 6000. The clone was just superior to both.
dwaleke is offline  
post #4873 of 5106 Old 01-14-2015, 10:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Here are top pics of the FB14k.

NOTE: 3 60MM fans and 2 80MM fans - only 2 screws on the top no bottom screws to get at and wires are obtained also at the top to solder. 5th to last pic is where the fans soldered on. Im not good at soldering so im going to slice the wires and solder them and shrink wrap. Plus the farthest 60MM fan wires dont reach anyhow. Im able to use a #2 Phillips that I got at menards thats bent 90 degrees with a flathead on the other side thats bent 90 degrees to get at the screws. I have bottom pics also

URL=http://s1161.photobucket.com/user/martinzidek/media/20150114_102910.jpg.html][/URL]URL=http://s1161.photobucket.com/user/martinzidek/media/20150114_102321.jpg.html][/URL]URL=http://s1161.photobucket.com/user/martinzidek/media/20150114_102315.jpg.html][/URL]URL=http://s1161.photobucket.com/user/martinzidek/media/20150114_102910_1.jpg.html][/URL]URL=http://s1161.photobucket.com/user/martinzidek/media/20150114_101921.jpg.html][/URL]URL=http://s1161.photobucket.com/user/martinzidek/media/20150114_102212.jpg.html][/URL]URL=http://s1161.photobucket.com/user/martinzidek/media/20150114_102212.jpg.html][/URL]URL=http://s1161.photobucket.com/user/martinzidek/media/20150114_101914.jpg.html][/URL]
GizzeGutten likes this.

Last edited by MagnumMafia05; 01-14-2015 at 10:40 AM.
MagnumMafia05 is offline  
post #4874 of 5106 Old 01-14-2015, 10:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 128
^^^ looks the same as my FP14k at quick glance.

Although there are only (2) 60mm fans and (2) 80mm fans. You say 3 but I think that's just a typo.
dwaleke is offline  
post #4875 of 5106 Old 01-14-2015, 10:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 6
No its 3. 1st and 2nd pic is going left to right.I should of did a panoramic picture.

Edit: It goes 80MM - 60MM - 60MM - 80MM - 60MM if you look carefully.

If other than the 5 fans instead of 4 with only top screws is the difference in the pics. No nead for the bottom or do you guys want pics of that and maybe a better front view of the amp?
dwaleke likes this.

Last edited by MagnumMafia05; 01-14-2015 at 10:49 AM.
MagnumMafia05 is offline  
post #4876 of 5106 Old 01-14-2015, 03:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnumMafia05 View Post
No its 3. 1st and 2nd pic is going left to right.I should of did a panoramic picture.

Edit: It goes 80MM - 60MM - 60MM - 80MM - 60MM if you look carefully.

If other than the 5 fans instead of 4 with only top screws is the difference in the pics. No nead for the bottom or do you guys want pics of that and maybe a better front view of the amp?
My fp14000 power board (the board towards the front) I think is a version 5 (says 10Q Power V5). Mine does not have the 60mm fan infront of the small aluminum heatsink on the far right side.

I have noticed that the far right side (towards the back in the output boards area) seems to run a bit warmer than the left side (center area of the amp stays coolest). So this may be a new helper fan?

Looks like they are still trying to improve on the design.

You can also see how the fan grates on the output side of the fans can restrict airflow.
cellarnoise is offline  
post #4877 of 5106 Old 01-14-2015, 04:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Has anyone had the fans on these crank up from the level they settle on after the start up? Mine always stay at one level even when I beat on them with the heaviest bass music I can stand. Though I rarely desire to be punished in this way. Most of the time they never go beyond the -4 lights. Only ulf movie stuff may hit higher on my setup and I don't think my house can handle much more. This sits about 1.5 feet above the floor in my basement that never gets above 68 F though. I like that it acts as a heater

I cut out the exhaust fan grates and I think it helped noise some and airflow more. Only took 20 minutes to cut with a air die grinder and then paint. The 60mm fans took more work as the cutout had to be a bit bigger than the grate area to not restrict the fans. Though ported I did not take the time to polish the airflow path (auto reference...). Will send photo soon. Phone won't let me attach...
cellarnoise is offline  
post #4878 of 5106 Old 01-14-2015, 05:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Sorry for 3rd post in a row...
You may want to check the voltage of at least the new 3rd 60 mm fan to make sure it is also a 24 volt fan. There has been some debate if the feeds to these fans have been 48 volts and the fans wired together for 24 volt operation. A solo 24 volt fan would need it's own circuit if this has been the case.
cellarnoise is offline  
post #4879 of 5106 Old 01-14-2015, 05:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Trying to post pic. Appears I can only add pics on mobile. Hate mobile....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150113_113606_1421284074073.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	73.1 KB
ID:	478754  
cellarnoise is offline  
post #4880 of 5106 Old 01-15-2015, 08:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 6
I changed 2 60MM fans out of the 3. Not sure if that made any difference. I sliced and soldered/ wrap shrinked the wires. I skipped the 80MMs because I never desoldered before. I just watched few videos and will go buy a solder pump and then do the 80MM fans within the next 2 days. I get my boxes today for my 2 LMSU in a hour and half so im excited. Does the FP14000 when turned on, extremely loud then settles down ?
MagnumMafia05 is offline  
post #4881 of 5106 Old 01-15-2015, 02:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 5,673
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 943 Post(s)
Liked: 889
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnumMafia05 View Post
I changed 2 60MM fans out of the 3. Not sure if that made any difference. I sliced and soldered/ wrap shrinked the wires. I skipped the 80MMs because I never desoldered before. I just watched few videos and will go buy a solder pump and then do the 80MM fans within the next 2 days. I get my boxes today for my 2 LMSU in a hour and half so im excited. Does the FP14000 when turned on, extremely loud then settles down ?
Yes, spins up then settles down.

You don't need a solder pump, just need to heat where the leads are and lift the wires if you're replacing them that way. You might want to have someone who's competent at soldering show you how.
dwaleke likes this.
notnyt is online now  
post #4882 of 5106 Old 01-16-2015, 03:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 6
@notnyt what speaker wire size should I be using? And how were you able to put the wires back in for the 80MM fans? The go under the board.I asked on Facebook about anyone who knows how to solder and got nothing do I'm going to try.

MagnumMafia05 is offline  
post #4883 of 5106 Old 01-16-2015, 03:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 5,673
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 943 Post(s)
Liked: 889
anything over 9000 should be good..



10 gauge is fine.


The fan solder points are through hole and you can solder in in either direction.

You should be getting someone who knows how to solder to help

notnyt is online now  
post #4884 of 5106 Old 01-16-2015, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 4,634
Mentioned: 94 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1025 Post(s)
Liked: 1415
Send a message via Skype™ to popalock
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
anything over 9000 should be good..



10 gauge is fine.


The fan solder points are through hole and you can solder in in either direction.

You should be getting someone who knows how to solder to help
notnyt humor...Makes me furious...
popalock is offline  
post #4885 of 5106 Old 01-17-2015, 08:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 6
@notnyt I ended up just finishing up now with the fans and it's all quiet now!!!! Wasn't hard at all just took my time. Plugged in the amp with both top and bottom covers off before I put it all back to make sure all good.





But... When I went for the cover for the bottom I seem this. First time I noticed this. Which looks worse than what's actually pictured. I rubbed it and it's smooth.



I looked all over and seem nothing out of ordinary till I grabbed my phone and turned the light on and seen this.





Looks like it gassed? Haven't used the amp yet. No speaker wire yet and the terminals not on the box yet till i get the wire and solder it on. Thoughts?
MagnumMafia05 is offline  
post #4886 of 5106 Old 01-17-2015, 10:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Update. I just hooked up a sub in series and thought a amp channel was shot because only got sound out of 1. Did a bunch of switching xlr and rca cables for 10 min and found 1 of the xlr to rca doesn't work. Both channels on amp work so far. Was to the point I thought only 1 output was working on the minidsp. Finally found out after so much frustration. &lt;br /&gt;<br />
&lt;br /&gt;<br />
I emailed Anne about the burn mark on the bottom plate and the grey on the capacitor. So now I have to order another car to rca from parts express. Glad it wasn't a messed up channel though. But another set back. &lt;br /&gt;<br />
&lt;br /&gt;<br />

I tested the sub with bass Ballin' by bass mekanik on 32db gain on amp just to have movement. Guess I'll have to wait till Monday for a response back from Anne.

With the new fans it doesn't do the same thing at startup with the original fans by being louder then quiet down shortly after. Is that normal?

Last edited by MagnumMafia05; 01-17-2015 at 11:31 AM.
MagnumMafia05 is offline  
post #4887 of 5106 Old 01-22-2015, 11:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 4,634
Mentioned: 94 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1025 Post(s)
Liked: 1415
Send a message via Skype™ to popalock
First time I have found a FP14000 (Clone) amp user manual online...

Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Hack View Post
popalock is offline  
post #4888 of 5106 Old 01-22-2015, 11:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 5,673
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 943 Post(s)
Liked: 889
notnyt is online now  
post #4889 of 5106 Old 01-23-2015, 12:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 4,634
Mentioned: 94 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1025 Post(s)
Liked: 1415
Send a message via Skype™ to popalock
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
I have manuals and schematics. I've posted and shared them.
popalock is offline  
post #4890 of 5106 Old 01-23-2015, 12:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 5,673
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 943 Post(s)
Liked: 889
drop me a pm w/ your email addy if you want all the docs i have.. or ask sanway, they'll provide
popalock likes this.
notnyt is online now  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Tags
Lab Gruppen Fp 14000 , Sanway Fp 10000q
Gear in this thread - 10000q by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off