Lab Gruppen FP14000 clone amplifiers - Page 166 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #4951 of 4965 Old 03-23-2015, 05:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassfeen View Post
If you using Horn Speakers i highly suggest ATI Amplifiers. I had 101 DB horns in the past every single amp made a hissing noise except the ATI amplifier. They sound cleaner too.
Any reported hissing from the FP/FB10k clone from Sanway? These horns are 112db 1w/m in a 90x40 horn (and 100w rms so 130db theoretical continuous db).
ronny31 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4952 of 4965 Old 03-23-2015, 09:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 5,348
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 734 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Dude, you don't need a 10kw amp for 112db sensitivity horns. I'd definitely recommend against it. Look at some of the Emotiva stuff.
brettus likes this.
notnyt is online now  
post #4953 of 4965 Old 03-23-2015, 11:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
Dude, you don't need a 10kw amp for 112db sensitivity horns. I'd definitely recommend against it. Look at some of the Emotiva stuff.
Don't NEED any of this, do we? :P
The MFs are two pairs 8ohm 500w 12" 101db 2.83v 1m (200hz to 2000hz, then tapering off at both ends). To go with one pair of horns. Then doubling up in numbers over time, adding amps as required (can probably fit like 10 pairs of horns on one pair of FP10k channels, haven't really done the math yet). Eventually to include a pair or two of 18" 1500-2000w high efficiency LF drivers. If I go for a cheaper amp next to a good amp for the MFs then its more expensive than just going for one good FP10k. And I'd get worse S/N and less thermal overhead, and less future headroom (I can add horns to these two channels for quite some time without needing another amp).
ronny31 is offline  
post #4954 of 4965 Old 03-23-2015, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 5,348
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 734 Post(s)
Liked: 777
s/n is generally best near max output, you really need something with a low noise floor for horns like that. I don't know the performance of the fp10k in this regard.
notnyt is online now  
post #4955 of 4965 Old 03-23-2015, 12:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
s/n is generally best near max output, you really need something with a low noise floor for horns like that. I don't know the performance of the fp10k in this regard.
That's why I asked if there has been reported any hiss at HF. If its an inaudible noise floor, its not a problem.
ronny31 is offline  
post #4956 of 4965 Old 03-23-2015, 07:35 PM
Senior Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
I know someone local with one, will see if they want to volunteer it for abuse.
Is there any rhyme or reason as to how one user/s say they absolutely punish their clone without a single problem and others say they run theirs at moderate levels and have all sorts of board and power supply issues; User error, bad batch, etc. If it is indeed user error, I and I'm sure others would like to avoid such errors. Don't get me wrong, replacing boards and power supplies is a part of my job description, but I'd rather not do that once I make it home; I'd rather enjoy a functioning piece of equipment
johnson636 is offline  
post #4957 of 4965 Old 03-23-2015, 07:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I don't know anything beyond AVS as far as the clones, but they appear to be making almost constant improvements on them....

The newer clones seem to be able to do lower OHM, which I would still not recommend below 4 Ohm until a new unit is on a bench and beaten hard.

It sure seams the newer clone FPs are capable of taking a beating in all but road crew / outdoor situations. But I don't have much info. I would not be afraid of using a few in my local carp band shows, but I am getting old and am now looking at cheaper Class D as I don't like hauling around heavy gear anymore. I am even looking at going lighter for my bass guitar amp and cabinet if I can find a good replacement sound.

Getting a good e.q.ed sound out of anything can take a good deal of time. Time is seems so much more valuable as we get older, even doing something we enjoy
brettus likes this.
cellarnoise is offline  
post #4958 of 4965 Old 03-24-2015, 03:51 PM
Senior Member
 
GizzeGutten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Has anyone uninstalled the thermostat (fan) control in FP14000 home theater version before?

DAC/Preamp: miniDSP 4x10 HD
Speakers: JBL 4343B, JBL 4430 and JBL 120Ti
Amplifiers: Emotiva XPR-1, Denon POA 1500, QSC GX5 and Sanway's LabGruppen FP14000 clone
Midbass modules: 4x DIY JBL 2226
Sub: 4x DIY LMS Ultra 5400
GizzeGutten is offline  
post #4959 of 4965 Old Yesterday, 02:23 AM
Member
 
Monkeys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Need advice. I'm trying to repair a power cycling FP10K with the variable resistor fix. I've added a variable resistor set to 2.5k ohms to the specified points and the amp seems to be staying stable, however it has once tripped my power circuit break, and when I check the voltage at the 220V and 153V point, I get 270V and 170V respectively!?

Should I try setting it to an even higher resistance?

This is the first time I've tried working with something like this so I'm scared to make the problem worse..
Monkeys is offline  
post #4960 of 4965 Old Yesterday, 03:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 5,348
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 734 Post(s)
Liked: 777
notnyt is online now  
post #4961 of 4965 Old Yesterday, 03:21 AM
Member
 
Monkeys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yes I've contacted Johnson and am awaiting a reply.

I've managed to get the 153V points stable at roughly 153V with the resistor set to around 6k ohms, but the 220V points are still reading at around 280V??
Monkeys is offline  
post #4962 of 4965 Old Yesterday, 02:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkeys View Post
Yes I've contacted Johnson and am awaiting a reply.

I've managed to get the 153V points stable at roughly 153V with the resistor set to around 6k ohms, but the 220V points are still reading at around 280V??
Whats Johnson email? I only have Anne. I want info for where to put my adjustable resistor on my FB14K
MagnumMafia05 is offline  
post #4963 of 4965 Unread Yesterday, 04:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnumMafia05 View Post
Whats Johnson email? I only have Anne. I want info for where to put my adjustable resistor on my FB14K
sales@china-sanway.com

Items For Sale:
Calibrated Dayton UMM-6
dwaleke is offline  
post #4964 of 4965 Unread Today, 12:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello everybody, my name is Nic

Bit of a long post but if you bought these amps you really wanna read this, trust me.

I have recently purchased an FP 14000 from Sanway (220V) which I'm going to use to run four RCF LF18G401 speakers into two horn loaded cabinets.

I haven't had the opportunity to run both at full power for now as only one of the two cabs is ready, but I have some doubts.

1) The power cord has a Schuko connector which, as far as I know, should be able to hold up to 16A. However, the FP 14000 should definitely pull more than that, say 30A+ so am I missing something or they have built an amplifier with a connector not capable to hold up its current draw?
If that is the case what would the amp do? Would it still draw 30A from a 16A socket through a 16A connector?

2) This one's a bit more frightening, after hearing and seeing so much PA equipment I could remember hearing some speakers from the brand "AdMark" few years ago. The setup I heard had 3*Line Array boxes and two double 18" reflex subs, the quality was very good and the power was surprising.
I knew their products were built in China but the whole thing LITERALLY disappeared from the web. Their products, website, reviews and whatnot have suddenly gone missing and I couldn't find them anymore.
But then, after 3 years I have found something really creepy: youtube [dot] com/watch?v=OtSE8iYOR6k
(replace [dot] with . as I am new here and couldn't post links for the first 5 posts)
This is an old showcase video of Admark and guess what you can see at minute 2:07? That's right, the same exact copies that Sanway is producing nowdays. The internals are IDENTICAL to the four-channel version (FQ10000?), the frontal plate has the exact same amount of LEDs and inscriptions as Sanway's, other copies from other brands have different labelling and LED layout, the back of the amplifier is IDENTICAL in every aspect be it labelling nor connectors and such.
The video was uploaded in 2010 and the specs state that these amps were class H so is Sanway ripping us off with the TD class thing and all the other stuff aswell?
Dubcore is online now  
post #4965 of 4965 Unread Today, 01:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 5,348
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 734 Post(s)
Liked: 777
The 220v amp is rated at 16a.

The 120v is rated at 30a.

These amps use a regulated switch mode power supplies, they call it class TD, or a tracking ps. They couple this with an AB output stage, so technically it's a class H Amp.

http://support.labgruppen.com/entrie...TD-technology-
notnyt is online now  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Tags
Lab Gruppen Fp 14000 , Sanway Fp 10000q
Gear in this thread - 10000q by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off