Lab Gruppen FP14000 clone amplifiers - Page 174 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 
Thread Tools
post #5191 of 5191 Old 11-05-2015, 04:54 PM
Advanced Member
PsychoM3's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 879
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Originally Posted by mlah384 View Post
I thought 10ga on 120v was 30amp, but on 240v, doesn't it double?? or did I flunk ohm's law?

Currently I have a 30amp 120v breaker on a 10ga wire, so if I convert it to 240v, I still can only run about the same 30amp load? If that's true, then why even bother with 240v?
The current capacity of wire stays the same no matter what voltage is running through it (simplified for household voltages).

As you figured out with the same current but double the voltage you have twice the power so a dual voltage device (such as the amp) can be fed with twice the power with the same current. So 120v @ 30 amps is the same power (watts) as 240v @ 15 amps.

This is the reason power transmission lines run at 138,000 volts to 765,000 volts so the cables don't have to be many feet in diameter where typical ACSR cable is about 4 inches in diameter. (BTW a cable many feet in diameter was just for fun, the skin effect makes cables much larger than the ones used impractical since the ampacity would increase very little)
PsychoM3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #5192 of 5191 Old 11-05-2015, 04:54 PM
Advanced Member
mlah384's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 689
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
Yes, by about half.
Thanks notnyt! I get tripped up with AC stuff... It's so simple that it's confusing!
mlah384 is online now  
post #5193 of 5191 Old 11-05-2015, 06:11 PM
AVS Special Member
BassThatHz's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 5,538
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1336 Post(s)
Liked: 996
You can run two FP14k's off one 10awg wire if it is 240V @ 30amps.
If it is 120V @ 30amps and 10awg then you can only use one FP14k.

However, the more pro-amps you run the higher your monthly power bill will be.
10 FP14k's idling 24/7 for 1 month will cost about $50, and if you boom them the price goes 8-16x higher.
But if you only do say 3 hours a day and don't boom loudly very often, then it ain't so bad. $5-15 a month at most.
BassThatHz is online now  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Lab Gruppen Fp 14000 , Sanway Fp 10000q
Gear in this thread - 10000q by

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off