Lab Gruppen FP14000 clone amplifiers - Page 187 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 198Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5581 of 5609 Old 07-16-2016, 11:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,692
Mentioned: 107 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1511 Post(s)
Liked: 1546
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post
Makes a person wonder what the FP20k clone can do!
If someone ships me one I can test it, would have to run it as 2ch bridged tho since I only have one bucket and don't feel like making another.
notnyt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5582 of 5609 Old 07-16-2016, 03:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,872
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1589 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
speakerpower. I tested an sp2-8000 and amps never even came on. getting a pair of sp2-12000s for silent running.
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
No big difference either way, I'd generally wire each drivers voice coils in series at 4 ohms, and use a speakon on the enclosure, then driver 1 goes to 1+ and 1-, driver 2 goes to 2+ and 2-. Then you get the SP amp with the connectors wired as 1+1 and 2+2. Your cables will have speakons on each end, going from 1+ to 1+, 1- to 1-, 2+ to 2+, 2- to 2-. Wiring up this way puts the drivers in parallel to the amp, so you present it with a 2 ohm load.
Thanks guys. I appreciate all the advice here the past couple of days. I took your suggestion and order the SP-12000-DP. They are making it with the HT fans and HT version firmware, but the DP chasis. I ordered with the CH1+CH1 CH2+CH2 wiring option. I will configure the dual 2ohm voice coils in each of the HST-18 in series to make them a 4 ohm load, then a pair of subs on channel 1 and the other pair on channel 2 (as I understand it the amp takes care of "Y" split for me to do this) to deliver 3,000 watts to each sub. Looking forward to receiving it. In the meantime I'm busy building my subwoofer cabinets.
lovingdvd is online now  
post #5583 of 5609 Old 07-18-2016, 05:44 AM
Member
 
Jason kiDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Mooorn. Awaits updates..
Jason kiDD is offline  
post #5584 of 5609 Old 07-18-2016, 05:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Word is Noty plugged it in last night and is waiting for the caps to fully charge. Once the lights stop dimming we should have fresh amp pron! 😈
cellarnoise is offline  
post #5585 of 5609 Old 07-20-2016, 09:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,692
Mentioned: 107 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1511 Post(s)
Liked: 1546
prelim results, will do more comprehensive tests when I get more time.

Measuring Amplifiers

I tested the enhanced fp14000 a bit in bridged mode into 4.4 ohms, bursts very similar to the Sanway fp14000, though a touch less, however it seems to have improved efficiency and better sustained output. Looking like a winner so far. The fans are noisy as expected.
chrapladm and cellarnoise like this.
notnyt is offline  
post #5586 of 5609 Old 08-01-2016, 04:40 PM
Newbie
 
audio77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I would get a used Crown itech 6000 just make sure if its a pre 2008 model if not make sure has been sent in for new ribbon cables that was the issue with some of them. I did a side by side comparisons and the itech 6000 stomps the FP14000 clone I purchased one so I could compare but it's still a ok amp for the money .
audio77 is offline  
post #5587 of 5609 Old 08-01-2016, 05:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,692
Mentioned: 107 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1511 Post(s)
Liked: 1546
Quote:
Originally Posted by audio77 View Post
I would get a used Crown itech 6000 just make sure if its a pre 2008 model if not make sure has been sent in for new ribbon cables that was the issue with some of them. I did a side by side comparisons and the itech 6000 stomps the FP14000 clone I purchased one so I could compare but it's still a ok amp for the money .
This post was very scientific. Sorry though, it wouldn't even be close.
notnyt is offline  
post #5588 of 5609 Old 08-01-2016, 05:15 PM
Newbie
 
audio77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well having 4 Danley DBH218 subs along with a pair of SH96HO tops I tested the FP 14000 on one DBH218 sub and another with one of my Crown itech 6000 on another the Crown had nearly twice the output.
audio77 is offline  
post #5589 of 5609 Old 08-01-2016, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,692
Mentioned: 107 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1511 Post(s)
Liked: 1546
Quote:
Originally Posted by audio77 View Post
Well having 4 Danley DBH218 subs along with a pair of SH96HO tops I tested the FP 14000 on one DBH218 sub and another with one of my Crown itech 6000 on another the Crown had nearly twice the output.
And how were you testing this? burst? sustained? The last FP I tested was sustaining almost 4kw and bursting to 14kw.
notnyt is offline  
post #5590 of 5609 Old 08-01-2016, 05:30 PM
Newbie
 
audio77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
And how were you testing this? burst? sustained? The last FP I tested was sustaining almost 4kw and bursting to 14kw.
I ran both amps off one of my distro's 20 amp for each the Crown was cleaner and had twice the volume no comparison I wish I was wrong I wanted this amp to be equal to the itech 6000 or perhaps better I am not trying to start anything as I'm always looking for backup amps etc on gigs.
audio77 is offline  
post #5591 of 5609 Old 08-01-2016, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,692
Mentioned: 107 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1511 Post(s)
Liked: 1546
Quote:
Originally Posted by audio77 View Post
I ran both amps off one of my distro's 20 amp for each the Crown was cleaner and had twice the volume no comparison I wish I was wrong I wanted this amp to be equal to the itech 6000 or perhaps better I am not trying to start anything as I'm always looking for backup amps etc on gigs.
240v or 120v?

Something doesn't sound right here. Anyway, the 12000HD only puts out like 3500w according to speakerpower tests.
notnyt is offline  
post #5592 of 5609 Old 08-01-2016, 08:38 PM
Newbie
 
audio77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
240v or 120v?

Something doesn't sound right here. Anyway, the 12000HD only puts out like 3500w according to speakerpower tests.
Like the QSC power light amps you really need 30 amp to get all out of them. The Crown's and Powersofts are super efficient and will out run them on a 20 amp .
audio77 is offline  
post #5593 of 5609 Old 08-01-2016, 08:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,692
Mentioned: 107 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1511 Post(s)
Liked: 1546
Quote:
Originally Posted by audio77 View Post
Like the QSC power light amps you really need 30 amp to get all out of them. The Crown's and Powersofts are super efficient and will out run them on a 20 amp .
If you weren't tripping a 20A breaker, the FP14000 still had a lot left in it. Were the VPLs set?
notnyt is offline  
post #5594 of 5609 Old 08-01-2016, 08:47 PM
Newbie
 
audio77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
If you weren't tripping a 20A breaker, the FP14000 still had a lot left in it. Were the VPLs set?
I had them set at 100V and off and I had the gain up to as much as 44dB and off also it's better than the QSCPl380 off a 20amp. The Crest Pro-lite 7.5 is a very efficient amp off a 20amp very impressive.
audio77 is offline  
post #5595 of 5609 Old 08-01-2016, 08:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,692
Mentioned: 107 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1511 Post(s)
Liked: 1546
Quote:
Originally Posted by audio77 View Post
I had them set at 100V and off and I had the gain up to as much as 44dB and off also it's better than the QSCPl380 off a 20amp. The Crest Pro-lite 7.5 is a very efficient amp off a 20amp very impressive.
You mean 195v? There is no off.

Like I said though, if you weren't tripping a 20a breaker, the FP14000 had more juice left. They'll trip one with ease. Perhaps your input signal wasn't hot enough for it? 100v limiter will only allow 1250 watts per channel into a 4 ohm load.
notnyt is offline  
post #5596 of 5609 Old 08-01-2016, 08:52 PM
Newbie
 
audio77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
You mean 195v? There is no off.

Like I said though, if you weren't tripping a 20a breaker, the FP14000 had more juice left. They'll trip one with ease. Perhaps your input signal wasn't hot enough for it?
Correct sorry
audio77 is offline  
post #5597 of 5609 Old 08-01-2016, 09:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Its a Lab Gruppen amp design and the Sanway FP14000 copy is damn close in specs. If you try again you'll be able to discover just how face-meltingly awesome the FP14k is. We'd all pay for real Lab Gruppen amps if we could, but since we don't make money off our systems Sanway copies are a Godsend.

cms, aka driver diaphragm suspension mechanical compliance: 0.000065 meter/Newton or in standard form 6.5e-05 m/N. (smaller number is better)
rms, aka driver diaphragm suspension mechanical resistance: 6.41 Newton.sec/meter. (higher number is better)
ronny31 is offline  
post #5598 of 5609 Old 08-01-2016, 11:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,692
Mentioned: 107 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1511 Post(s)
Liked: 1546
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronny31 View Post
Its a Lab Gruppen amp design and the Sanway FP14000 copy is damn close in specs. If you try again you'll be able to discover just how face-meltingly awesome the FP14k is. We'd all pay for real Lab Gruppen amps if we could, but since we don't make money off our systems Sanway copies are a Godsend.
the enhanced ones from botai ate even better
notnyt is offline  
post #5599 of 5609 Old 08-02-2016, 01:12 AM
Senior Member
 
SpinMonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
the enhanced ones from botai ate even better
They are quite a bit more expensive
SpinMonster is offline  
post #5600 of 5609 Old 08-02-2016, 01:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 3,936
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 659 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpinMonster View Post
They are quite a bit more expensive
??

The enhanced version was actually cheaper than the Sanway version.
chrapladm is offline  
post #5601 of 5609 Old 08-02-2016, 11:02 AM
Senior Member
 
SpinMonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrapladm View Post
??

The enhanced version was actually cheaper than the Sanway version.
I checked Alibaba. I guess there is a better route

Do you have a link?
SpinMonster is offline  
post #5602 of 5609 Old 08-02-2016, 11:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,692
Mentioned: 107 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1511 Post(s)
Liked: 1546
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpinMonster View Post
I checked Alibaba. I guess there is a better route

Do you have a link?
You can email them directly cassie@btaudio.net
notnyt is offline  
post #5603 of 5609 Old 08-03-2016, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sibuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Western NY
Posts: 2,420
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 366 Post(s)
Liked: 414
i really should not be thinking about getting another one of these


but i am
dwaleke likes this.
Sibuna is offline  
post #5604 of 5609 Old 08-15-2016, 02:03 PM
Newbie
 
audio77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The FP 14000 is a nice amp however for those that don't have a 30amp plug and have a regular house 20 amp the Crown itech is much better more efficient and a used one is not much more you also get DSP . Some of the pre 2008 itech's had bad ribbon cables but once fixed they were bullet proof also Crowns service is unbeatable as far as price $213 for minor repair and $383 for max that includes shipping
audio77 is offline  
post #5605 of 5609 Old 08-15-2016, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,692
Mentioned: 107 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1511 Post(s)
Liked: 1546
the itechs aren't that efficient last I checked. I measured the bt enhanced fp14000 at about 80% efficiency when I tested it briefly. It sustained 3800w or so, bursted 14kw, that's just crazy for $850ish
Iron Maiden and ronny31 like this.
notnyt is offline  
post #5606 of 5609 Old 08-16-2016, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 6,703
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1832 Post(s)
Liked: 1405
Quote:
Originally Posted by audio77 View Post
as far as price $213 for minor repair and $383 for max that includes shipping
Not sure where you get that from, I was quoted $1000 for any major repair and not including shipping as a normal person, NOT as a dealer or as a bulk AV director of Metallica or a friend of a Crown employee etc

As far as fan noise, temp and frequency response, my FP14000 is better than my iTech 8000.

I have no good way of calculating power or effeciency with my Fluke being broken, but they are both good amps, neither are slouches. I think the FP has more at 4-ohm and the iTech as more at 2-ohm.

If I was blindfolded I don't think I could ever tell a difference, unless it was a 3hz sinewave at max power, where the iTech is down -12db and the FP is down -1.5db
If the iTech didn't have a 7hz HPF filter it might be closer in that regard...
Not sure if Crown put it in there to protect their clients speakers or to protect the amp, or both.
Iron Maiden likes this.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #5607 of 5609 Old 08-17-2016, 06:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 16,719
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1422 Post(s)
Liked: 1017
Notnyt,
Did you ever test it in 2 channel mode?
MKtheater is online now  
post #5608 of 5609 Old Yesterday, 03:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,692
Mentioned: 107 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1511 Post(s)
Liked: 1546
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKtheater View Post
Notnyt,
Did you ever test it in 2 channel mode?
not the new one, going to be pretty much the same...



btaudio enhanced fp14000

Torkild likes this.
notnyt is offline  
post #5609 of 5609 Old Today, 06:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 16,719
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1422 Post(s)
Liked: 1017
Can you link me to the old one?
MKtheater is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Tags
Lab Gruppen Fp 14000 , Sanway Fp 10000q
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off