Lab Gruppen FP14000 clone amplifiers - Page 188 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 200Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #5611 of 5640 Unread 09-01-2016, 08:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,925
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by javi404 View Post
So I haven't used my FP14000 in a while and putting it back into service.


I noticed recently, it started going into some kind of protection mode:


It clicks, mute lights up, then after a bit it recovers and the audio comes back.


I'm barely pushing it to what it used to do and I'm sure there is just a varistor I probably need to adjust.


Wasn't there some info in this thread somewhere in it's 187 pages where I can get that info?


I think it was related to adjusting the rail voltage or something. I have a feeling it is low and when i turn the volume up, it goes into a quick protection mode because of voltage drop @ the rails.

If someone could point me to what points to check with a voltmeter and what varistors to tweak I would be greatly appreciative.

In the mean time ill be starting at page one.


Thanks in advance.
You can try these step:

Lab Gruppen FP14000 clone amplifiers

If that doesn't work try adding one of these:

Lab Gruppen FP14000 clone amplifiers
duc135 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5612 of 5640 Unread 09-02-2016, 03:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rhodesj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 803 Post(s)
Liked: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
not the new one, going to be pretty much the same...







btaudio enhanced fp14000





Looks like four fans in there? Any others hidden away? Any thoughts on the ease of a fan mod?
rhodesj is online now  
post #5613 of 5640 Unread 09-02-2016, 09:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,790
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1586 Post(s)
Liked: 1582
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhodesj View Post
Looks like four fans in there? Any others hidden away? Any thoughts on the ease of a fan mod?
Just 4. seems pretty straight forward but I haven't looked further. I have some projects on my bench atm so I haven't gotten to play with it any more yet.
notnyt is offline  
post #5614 of 5640 Unread 09-03-2016, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rhodesj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 803 Post(s)
Liked: 449
Lab Gruppen FP14000 clone amplifiers

Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
Just 4. seems pretty straight forward but I haven't looked further. I have some projects on my bench atm so I haven't gotten to play with it any more yet.


How did btaudio want payment? CC or something else?
rhodesj is online now  
post #5615 of 5640 Unread 09-03-2016, 08:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,790
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1586 Post(s)
Liked: 1582
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhodesj View Post
How did btaudio want payment? CC or something else?
wu or wire
notnyt is offline  
post #5616 of 5640 Unread 09-03-2016, 08:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
lz7j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 959
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 621 Post(s)
Liked: 595
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhodesj View Post
How did btaudio want payment? CC or something else?
Western Union. I was very uncomfortable at first, given my negative doa fp14000 with sanway which was eventually resolved with the assistance of paypal. I tested my fp14000+ for 10 days straight and things are working as expected. Just something to be cognisant about.
lz7j is online now  
post #5617 of 5640 Unread 09-06-2016, 08:59 AM
Newbie
 
Masterxela9406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just ordered my 2nd FP14000 from aliexpress: Guangzhou Baiyun Xinbaosheng Professional Electroacoustic Equipment Factory

This time inquired about getting quieter fans:

You think our fans is noisy? Sorry,,we can not make it more quieter!
If you don't like our fan, we also can make the fp14000 amplifier without fans.
Do you want to make the amplifier with fan?
- Miki

I've decided to stash both in closets, but perhaps for those planning on a swap, it'd be easier to get them initially without fans.

Also, first purchase my BoA Visa was declined, and USBank Visa went through. 2nd purchase, a month later, same product same store, USBank declined, BoA went through....
Masterxela9406 is offline  
post #5618 of 5640 Unread 09-11-2016, 10:12 PM
Senior Member
 
javi404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
@duc135 thanks for the links.
javi404 is offline  
post #5619 of 5640 Unread 09-13-2016, 01:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 6,848
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1891 Post(s)
Liked: 1445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterxela9406 View Post
First purchase my BoA Visa was declined.
2nd purchase, a month later, USBank declined.
I don't know your your goal is, but my goal is to rob visa blind. I have spent almost $21g's this year, paid zero interest on that, and I have almost $210 in cash back.


I will have to test this "decline theory". hehe
Rumor has it that car dealerships will outright decline because they want a car loan or a check, not because visa won't allow it. (They also hate cash too.)
The only reason I would want to use it is because my Infinite has an unlimited cash-back ceiling, so the cash-back on a 5 digit car would probably be worth it. *If you pay off the balance in the grace period.
Making say... $200, in 1 second from a single transaction would be HELLA SWEET!

I say: Bend visa over at every possible opportunity. They would do onto you the same! (In fact... there is no "would" about it.)

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	111.jpg
Views:	409
Size:	60.1 KB
ID:	1658009   Click image for larger version

Name:	4321.jpg
Views:	397
Size:	35.1 KB
ID:	1658017   Click image for larger version

Name:	647.jpg
Views:	395
Size:	124.4 KB
ID:	1658025  

Last edited by BassThatHz; 09-13-2016 at 01:27 AM.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #5620 of 5640 Unread 09-15-2016, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 3,140
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Hey guys. What's the difference between the hard clip and soft clip settings and which should be used for subs?
audiovideoholic is offline  
post #5621 of 5640 Unread 09-15-2016, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 3,140
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post
I don't know your your goal is, but my goal is to rob visa blind. I have spent almost $21g's this year, paid zero interest on that, and I have almost $210 in cash back.


I will have to test this "decline theory". hehe
Rumor has it that car dealerships will outright decline because they want a car loan or a check, not because visa won't allow it. (They also hate cash too.)
The only reason I would want to use it is because my Infinite has an unlimited cash-back ceiling, so the cash-back on a 5 digit car would probably be worth it. *If you pay off the balance in the grace period.
Making say... $200, in 1 second from a single transaction would be HELLA SWEET!

I say: Bend visa over at every possible opportunity. They would do onto you the same! (In fact... there is no "would" about it.)

I've bought a car that way BTH. Did the same thing you are reasoning. I made about $2000 if memory serves me correct. Bought the car on last day of third quarter for heck of a deal then broke the card out on them which they did balk at but the card company made the transaction after a few minutes of phone conversations. It's worth it only if one carries out the plan of paying it off within the grace period which of course is the whole point but the card holders pray the users don't. eBay keeps jacking up my line of credit because I keep paying everything off before the 6 month interest free. They are just trying to make me over spend which I just laugh at.
audiovideoholic is offline  
post #5622 of 5640 Unread 09-15-2016, 02:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,790
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1586 Post(s)
Liked: 1582
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiovideoholic View Post
Hey guys. What's the difference between the hard clip and soft clip settings and which should be used for subs?
hard is hard clip, soft is a limiter. Use soft.
audiovideoholic likes this.
notnyt is offline  
post #5623 of 5640 Unread 09-15-2016, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 3,140
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
hard is hard clip, soft is a limiter. Use soft.
Ok. I was running some new speakers and connecting my AVM 60 so was just double checking all settings and noticed it was set on hard. Has been the whole time for some reason. I thought soft seemed correct but wasn't sure why I would have used hard to begin with.

Thanks man!
audiovideoholic is offline  
post #5624 of 5640 Unread 09-15-2016, 06:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 6,848
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1891 Post(s)
Liked: 1445
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiovideoholic View Post
Hey guys. What's the difference between the hard clip and soft clip settings and which should be used for subs?
I would recommend not clipping the amplifier AT ALL if you can avoid it.

You'll only gain 3 or less db vs lighting up the -4db solid.
It's not worth stressing out the amplifier and coils that much, it's just asking for trouble.

Best to add more FP's until you have enough headroom, or just turn it down 1.5db and save the rack space/money.

I've ran my FP's at solid-green for hours at a time. The amp seems to be able to handle it perfectly fine.

Last edited by BassThatHz; 09-15-2016 at 06:44 PM.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #5625 of 5640 Unread 09-22-2016, 08:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post
I would recommend not clipping the amplifier AT ALL if you can avoid it.

You'll only gain 3 or less db vs lighting up the -4db solid.
It's not worth stressing out the amplifier and coils that much, it's just asking for trouble.

Best to add more FP's until you have enough headroom, or just turn it down 1.5db and save the rack space/money.

I've ran my FP's at solid-green for hours at a time. The amp seems to be able to handle it perfectly fine.
Anyone heard of Bortec Labs? They have a few interesting sounding clones on ebay touting 90% efficiency.

I'm looking to pull the trigger on an FP14000 after reading much of this thread, new or used. Can't PM yet as I'm new, anyone know if notnyt's FP14000's are sold?
art88 is offline  
post #5626 of 5640 Unread 09-22-2016, 08:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,790
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1586 Post(s)
Liked: 1582
Quote:
Originally Posted by art88 View Post
Anyone heard of Bortec Labs? They have a few interesting sounding clones on ebay touting 90% efficiency.

I'm looking to pull the trigger on an FP14000 after reading much of this thread, new or used. Can't PM yet as I'm new, anyone know if notnyt's FP14000's are sold?
I have a couple left, I'll PM you my email address
notnyt is offline  
post #5627 of 5640 Unread 09-23-2016, 08:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 6
I risked and I bought a clone from Sanway. DOA. It is power cycling randomly. Damn it! I hope I can get it solved.

Brains are survival engines, not truth detectors
radulescu_paul_mircea is online now  
post #5628 of 5640 Unread 09-23-2016, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 3,979
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 682 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Was this Sanway or the new one?
chrapladm is offline  
post #5629 of 5640 Unread 09-23-2016, 09:19 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by radulescu_paul_mircea View Post
I risked and I bought a clone from Sanway. DOA. It is power cycling randomly. Damn it! I hope I can get it solved.
Please let us know how it goes with Sanway Customer Service.
art88 is offline  
post #5630 of 5640 Unread 09-23-2016, 09:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
lz7j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 959
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 621 Post(s)
Liked: 595
Quote:
Originally Posted by radulescu_paul_mircea View Post
I risked and I bought a clone from Sanway. DOA. It is power cycling randomly. Damn it! I hope I can get it solved.
I had the same issue. DOA on a fp14000.
JT provided troubleshooting steps and I refused as I felt I should have received a working unit. Instead, I requested for him to ship me a new unit where he declined.
Long story short, I went through Paypal and Sanway took the amp back (declined to replace it) minus 50% of the shipping cost. I lost $70 on that roll.

Bought a used fp10000q from an AVS member, no issues for a while now (knock on wood). I also bought a new enhanced fp14k from BT - once I received it, I kept it plugged in and playing for over 100 hours to make sure it was ok.
With BT, it's far more riskier since you're required to use Western Union or Wire instead of Paypal
lz7j is online now  
post #5631 of 5640 Unread 09-23-2016, 10:33 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by lz7j View Post
I had the same issue. DOA on a fp14000.
JT provided troubleshooting steps and I refused as I felt I should have received a working unit. Instead, I requested for him to ship me a new unit where he declined.
Long story short, I went through Paypal and Sanway took the amp back (declined to replace it) minus 50% of the shipping cost. I lost $70 on that roll.

Bought a used fp10000q from an AVS member, no issues for a while now (knock on wood). I also bought a new enhanced fp14k from BT - once I received it, I kept it plugged in and playing for over 100 hours to make sure it was ok.
With BT, it's far more riskier since you're required to use Western Union or Wire instead of Paypal
You'd think the manufacturer could take 5 minutes to test the amps before shipping.
art88 is offline  
post #5632 of 5640 Unread 09-23-2016, 01:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 6
For some freaking reason I can't seem to open the top cover . I removed all the screws from the sides and it feels like it has another one on the middle but it doesn't have a hole there. I tried to force it but I almost bent the cover and I already gave it some scratches so instead I ask for your help.

Brains are survival engines, not truth detectors
radulescu_paul_mircea is online now  
post #5633 of 5640 Unread 09-23-2016, 02:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrapladm View Post
Was this Sanway or the new one?
This is sanway. As Art88 said, I am really upset it CAME defective. If it would have worked for a while and then it broke, then I wouldn't be so upset.
I've managed to talk to Johnson and he said I have to remove a part, U3 octocouple from the powerboard. But I don't want to do that, because for some freaking reason, the amp is working now for more than half an hour with no shut down, without speakers connected or input signal.
And if it doesn't stop anymore, I cannot verify if that procedure works. Plus, if that piece was put in there in the first place why would it be necessary to take it out and leave nothing instead? :-?

Brains are survival engines, not truth detectors
radulescu_paul_mircea is online now  
post #5634 of 5640 Unread 09-23-2016, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,925
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by radulescu_paul_mircea View Post
For some freaking reason I can't seem to open the top cover . I removed all the screws from the sides and it feels like it has another one on the middle but it doesn't have a hole there. I tried to force it but I almost bent the cover and I already gave it some scratches so instead I ask for your help.
Did you remove the screw in the back?
duc135 is offline  
post #5635 of 5640 Unread 09-23-2016, 11:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by duc135 View Post
Did you remove the screw in the back?
Yes, there are 3 there.

Brains are survival engines, not truth detectors
radulescu_paul_mircea is online now  
post #5636 of 5640 Unread Yesterday, 03:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 6
I removed the covers and I took out that part that Johnson said. It is not restarting anymore. I will have to thoroughly test it the next days.

Brains are survival engines, not truth detectors
radulescu_paul_mircea is online now  
post #5637 of 5640 Unread Yesterday, 11:05 PM
Newbie
 
BBLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What's the "true" RMS output on these? Is it anywhere near the 7000w x 2 @ 4 ohms they claim? Close to ordering one, but just curious.
BBLV is offline  
post #5638 of 5640 Unread Today, 01:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 6,848
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1891 Post(s)
Liked: 1445
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBLV View Post
What's the "true" RMS output on these? Is it anywhere near the 7000w x 2 @ 4 ohms they claim? Close to ordering one, but just curious.
You mean @ 2?

Just keep in mind that 1.75kW vs 7kW is only 6db, but also a hell of a lot more HEAT, and double the required excursion to prevent bottoming.
At some point adding more power will no longer equate to an increase in SPL, all that will occur is a smelly clanking subwoofer.
One has to ask themselves if chasing the last few db is truly worth, losing everything you have built...

It is exactly like rocket science... Every time you make the rocket bigger, it needs more fuel, which means making the rocket bigger, which means needing more fuel, which means making the rocket bigger, which means... (we will never leave our solar system! LOL )
BassThatHz is offline  
post #5639 of 5640 Unread Today, 02:34 AM
Newbie
 
BBLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBLV View Post
What's the "true" RMS output on these? Is it anywhere near the 7000w x 2 @ 4 ohms they claim? Close to ordering one, but just curious.
You mean @ 2?
Yes... Thanks for catching my mistake! Sounds like the fp14k is going to be perfect for my HT setup. Looking at 4 ported 18's or 21's.
BBLV is offline  
post #5640 of 5640 Unread Today, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,596
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 795 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by art88 View Post
You'd think the manufacturer could take 5 minutes to test the amps before shipping.
Lol, they definitely ship them working. Shipping is not a delicate process. These things get tossed around hard, especially sea freight.
Bassment is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Tags
Lab Gruppen Fp 14000 , Sanway Fp 10000q
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off