Lab Gruppen FP14000 clone amplifiers - Page 190 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 205Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5671 of 5683 Old 10-26-2016, 04:47 AM
Newbie
 
weebman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Two options, one try adjusting or replacing the pot on the bottom left side of the power board by the big set of caps, adjust the rails to about 193-195v.

If that doesn't work, you can get a new PS from sanway or get the one you have repaired. The one I got a hold of that died recently had a trace by the caps roast. Not a difficult fix, but hard to find without removing all the caps.[/QUOTE]

Thanks for the info. I tried adjusting the pot several months back. It went from power cycling rapidly without playing anything to smoothing out . Thought I had fixed it but as soon as it is pushed it goes back to cycling.

I'll see about a new power supply. Since my amp is older, would there be any advantage to a complete new amp (besides just being newer) over just replacing the power supply? Have there been any upgrades to the rest of the amp that I would be missing out on by just replacing the power supply?
weebman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5672 of 5683 Old 10-26-2016, 05:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,278
Mentioned: 137 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1835 Post(s)
Liked: 1746
Quote:
Originally Posted by weebman View Post
Thanks for the info. I tried adjusting the pot several months back. It went from power cycling rapidly without playing anything to smoothing out . Thought I had fixed it but as soon as it is pushed it goes back to cycling.

I'll see about a new power supply. Since my amp is older, would there be any advantage to a complete new amp (besides just being newer) over just replacing the power supply? Have there been any upgrades to the rest of the amp that I would be missing out on by just replacing the power supply?
Only need to replace the PS.
notnyt is offline  
post #5673 of 5683 Old 10-29-2016, 08:33 AM
Member
 
1redz06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quick question wiring up my speakon now

I have 2 subwoofers with 2 inputs

Channel 1 (+1/-1)
Channel 2 (+1/-1)

Is this correct? It's the standard for most amplifiers but the manual is not clear.

Sent from my VS987 using Tapatalk
1redz06 is offline  
post #5674 of 5683 Old 10-29-2016, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dwaleke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,792
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 889 Post(s)
Liked: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1redz06 View Post
Quick question wiring up my speakon now

I have 2 subwoofers with 2 inputs

Channel 1 (+1/-1)
Channel 2 (+1/-1)

Is this correct? It's the standard for most amplifiers but the manual is not clear.

Sent from my VS987 using Tapatalk
Correct. If you are using a 2 pole or only 2 poles of the speakon then you use +1/-1 for each channel.
dwaleke is offline  
post #5675 of 5683 Old 10-29-2016, 08:55 AM
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 32,084
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 2668
He wants to run a pair of hst18 off his amp. The subs have 2ohm dual VC.

Ignore the pole 2 on speakon. You only use pole 1.

At the amp side run it normal, meaning wire the speakon tip on your speaker cable normal. Red to 1+, black to 1-. Do the same on both ends of your speaker cable.

Inside the box you have the same red and black coming off the speakon terminal. From there you run series to get to 4ohm. 2ohm VC + 2 ohm VC = 4ohm when series wired. So red positive to red positive input of VC 1. Out of black negative of VC 1 into red postive of VC2. Out of VC2 black negative back to amp (negative).

That's how you get a 4 ohm load for dual 2 ohm VC.

So the same on channel 2 for the second sub box.

That's it.
Mfusick is offline  
post #5676 of 5683 Old 11-10-2016, 06:56 PM
Newbie
 
weebman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
Only need to replace the PS.
What do you use to solder on the fp14000 boards? I just got a new power supply and need to install it. I've never soldered before but I have done my fair share of brazing. Any tips/suggestions for a soldering iron/station, soldering temperature, iron tips, anything will help. I'm looking at soldering stations and am overwhelmed with the choices.

Side note. Don't you have amps for sale? Do they have the newer ps? What are you asking for them? Sorry to clutter this thread. I don't have enough posts to pm.
weebman is offline  
post #5677 of 5683 Old 11-10-2016, 07:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,278
Mentioned: 137 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1835 Post(s)
Liked: 1746
Quote:
Originally Posted by weebman View Post
What do you use to solder on the fp14000 boards? I just got a new power supply and need to install it. I've never soldered before but I have done my fair share of brazing. Any tips/suggestions for a soldering iron/station, soldering temperature, iron tips, anything will help. I'm looking at soldering stations and am overwhelmed with the choices.

Side note. Don't you have amps for sale? Do they have the newer ps? What are you asking for them? Sorry to clutter this thread. I don't have enough posts to pm.
last amps were just spoken for. I have one enhanced one still that I'm eventually going to get to test.

You might want to get some help with that if you haven't soldered before. I use a weller digital soldering station and braided copper wick to remove solder. 63/37 (eutectic) flux core solder when applying. It gets fun desoldering and then reconnecting things.

To disassemble the amp, the front face plate comes off for access pretty easily. I'd suggest taking pictures of all the connections before you desolder them.
notnyt is offline  
post #5678 of 5683 Old 11-16-2016, 07:48 PM
Newbie
 
weebman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
last amps were just spoken for. I have one enhanced one still that I'm eventually going to get to test.

You might want to get some help with that if you haven't soldered before. I use a weller digital soldering station and braided copper wick to remove solder. 63/37 (eutectic) flux core solder when applying. It gets fun desoldering and then reconnecting things.

To disassemble the amp, the front face plate comes off for access pretty easily. I'd suggest taking pictures of all the connections before you desolder them.
I just wanted to check back in and let everybody know that I am enjoying sweet, glorious bass once again. Big thanks to notnyt for the tips and pointers. Also, big thanks to Race over at Sanway. He is the one who has helped me through all of this. Very competent, very patient and very responsive. It is nerve racking sending money via PayPal to another country, but Race/Sanway had my new power supply at my front door within a week. When I first disassembled the amp, my first thought was... I should have just bought a new amp and been done with it. But the swap really wasn't terrible. Just take your time and label everything.

I don't get on here much anymore as my passion for audio ebbs and flows. But I sure appreciate the help from the veterans on here. Thanks again. And if anybody is on the fence about ordering from Sanway, here's a vote of confidence.
dsl1 likes this.
weebman is offline  
post #5679 of 5683 Old 11-17-2016, 09:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
do the 14000 run off 240V
KeithieGee is offline  
post #5680 of 5683 Old 11-18-2016, 05:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dwaleke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,792
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 889 Post(s)
Liked: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithieGee View Post
do the 14000 run off 240V
If you order them that way.
dwaleke is offline  
post #5681 of 5683 Old Today, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 4,079
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 730 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Not was there ever an enhanced 10K made?
chrapladm is online now  
post #5682 of 5683 Old Today, 10:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,278
Mentioned: 137 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1835 Post(s)
Liked: 1746
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrapladm View Post
Not was there ever an enhanced 10K made?
yeah btaudio has em
notnyt is offline  
post #5683 of 5683 Old Today, 03:06 PM
Newbie
 
bpgunning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ABQ
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since this thread began years ago, have there been any new insights as to which of the clone vendors are more (or less) reputable/responsive and higher (or lower) quality? I am considering one of these, Crest, or CV to drive 1 (for now ) HST in a small ported box. From what I gather, Sanway has been the most popular and seems pretty responsive for both sales and support, including failure problems. What about places like btaudio, hyaudio, Gisen, etc? Or is Sanway still the best bet?
bpgunning is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Tags
Lab Gruppen Fp 14000 , Sanway Fp 10000q
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off