Lab Gruppen FP14000 clone amplifiers - Page 193 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 214Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5761 of 5774 Old 03-15-2017, 11:18 AM
Member
 
madmaxz28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
awesome so power shouldn't be a problem pushing these hst18's to the limits.

if one were planing 2 of these cabs. 2 x 2 hst18 18ft3 15hz wired series/parallel so each set is 2ohm 1 on each channel bursting 7kw each would be solid.
madmaxz28 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5762 of 5774 Old 03-15-2017, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,139
Mentioned: 189 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2324 Post(s)
Liked: 2125
Quote:
Originally Posted by madmaxz28 View Post
awesome so power shouldn't be a problem pushing these hst18's to the limits.

if one were planing 2 of these cabs. 2 x 2 hst18 18ft3 15hz wired series/parallel so each set is 2ohm 1 on each channel bursting 7kw each would be solid.
As long as you get one of the newer amps that are two ohm stable. That said, an FP14000 should be able to drive a pair of them nicely. I'd consider speakerpower though, if the budget permits.
notnyt is offline  
post #5763 of 5774 Old 03-15-2017, 06:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 7,319
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2069 Post(s)
Liked: 1636
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1redz06 View Post
No way the blew from over driving the amp? Wiring looks Great on my end.
What were you powering with it, what ohm, and how loud and for how long and what frequency?
They are pretty beefy but not indestructible.
Do you have the 2-ohm version or the 4-ohm version?

Sometimes people get lemons from china. Sanway can ship a new PS or amp module if you need it.
Might be more economical to just buy another one and then power 3 subs.

Just don't electrocute yourself with 14kW playing around inside the amp. The boards can remain fully charged even with the power unplugged.
BassThatHz is offline  
 
post #5764 of 5774 Old 03-15-2017, 06:21 PM
Member
 
1redz06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post
What were you powering with it, what ohm, and how loud and for how long and what frequency?
They are pretty beefy but not indestructible.
Do you have the 2-ohm version or the 4-ohm version?

Sometimes people get lemons from china. Sanway can ship a new PS or amp module if you need it.
Might be more economical to just buy another one and then power 3 subs.

Just don't electrocute yourself with 14kW playing around inside the amp. The boards can remain fully charged even with the power unplugged.
Pair of hst 18s 4 ohm, listening at true reference volume, subs 12db hot (I have a boost at 30hz and below upto 9db) and run a little extra (3db) on the pre amps end hence the 12db.

Watching mad Max, I normally push the system never to its limit or so I thought.



Sent from my VS987 using Tapatalk
1redz06 is online now  
post #5765 of 5774 Old 03-15-2017, 07:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Electrodynamic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 582
Quote:
Originally Posted by madmaxz28 View Post
awesome so power shouldn't be a problem pushing these hst18's to the limits.

if one were planing 2 of these cabs. 2 x 2 hst18 18ft3 15hz wired series/parallel so each set is 2ohm 1 on each channel bursting 7kw each would be solid.
Not only in that large of an enclosure, but just in general, running an amplifier capable of delivering 7,000 watts to a sub rated for 2,000 watts is not a good idea. The HST's are very stout drivers but they are not indestructable. I urge you to use extreme caution with that much power capable.
Electrodynamic is offline  
post #5766 of 5774 Old 03-15-2017, 07:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,139
Mentioned: 189 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2324 Post(s)
Liked: 2125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Electrodynamic View Post
Not only in that large of an enclosure, but just in general, running an amplifier capable of delivering 7,000 watts to a sub rated for 2,000 watts is not a good idea. The HST's are very stout drivers but they are not indestructable. I urge you to use extreme caution with that much power capable.
They'll burst that high, but they can only sustain about 4kw total.
notnyt is offline  
post #5767 of 5774 Old 03-15-2017, 07:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Electrodynamic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 582
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
They'll burst that high, but they can only sustain about 4kw total.
Good to know. Still double rated power on drivers in a very big enclosure (whether 18 ft^3 is for one or for two). I strongly recommend NOT putting 4K on a 2K rated driver.
Electrodynamic is offline  
post #5768 of 5774 Old 03-15-2017, 07:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,139
Mentioned: 189 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2324 Post(s)
Liked: 2125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Electrodynamic View Post
Good to know. Still double rated power on drivers in a very big enclosure (whether 18 ft^3 is for one or for two). I strongly recommend NOT putting 4K on a 2K rated driver.
4k total, not per chan. So if he had two off of it, each driver can see up to 2kw sustained or 4kw peak as they'd present a 4 ohm load.
audiovideoholic and madmaxz28 like this.
notnyt is offline  
post #5769 of 5774 Old 03-19-2017, 07:05 AM
Member
 
madmaxz28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
anyone try the fp20000q yet?
madmaxz28 is offline  
post #5770 of 5774 Old Yesterday, 01:51 PM
Member
 
1redz06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post
What were you powering with it, what ohm, and how loud and for how long and what frequency?
They are pretty beefy but not indestructible.
Do you have the 2-ohm version or the 4-ohm version?

Sometimes people get lemons from china. Sanway can ship a new PS or amp module if you need it.
Might be more economical to just buy another one and then power 3 subs.

Just don't electrocute yourself with 14kW playing around inside the amp. The boards can remain fully charged even with the power unplugged.
I replaced the 2 fuses that blew on one channel.

Amp powers up now and the mute light and temp light are no longer illuminated. Now I have another problem, the VPL light is illuminated on the channel that blew the fuses. Any idea what to do next?

Sent from my VS987 using Tapatalk
1redz06 is online now  
post #5771 of 5774 Old Today, 06:43 AM
Member
 
Jason kiDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1redz06 View Post
I replaced the 2 fuses that blew on one channel.

Amp powers up now and the mute light and temp light are no longer illuminated. Now I have another problem, the VPL light is illuminated on the channel that blew the fuses. Any idea what to do next?

Sent from my VS987 using Tapatalk
There are two sets of fuses. On the input side and on the output side. On the affected channel check both input and output fuses and replace. Again most of the times the fuses blow for a reason so I would check out why that is first..
Jason kiDD is offline  
post #5772 of 5774 Old Today, 06:55 AM
Member
 
1redz06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason kiDD View Post
There are two sets of fuses. On the input side and on the output side. On the affected channel check both input and output fuses and replace. Again most of the times the fuses blow for a reason so I would check out why that is first..
Thank you, I'll check the other set of fuses. I don't recall seeing any fuses on the same board, where are they located!

Sent from my VS987 using Tapatalk
1redz06 is online now  
post #5773 of 5774 Old Today, 08:01 AM
Member
 
Jason kiDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 25


Fuses are located on the top side of the amp underneath the board above. Make sure amp is unplugged as has had some time to discharge caps before you do any work inside. Also as a general rule stay awake from any caps period unless you know what your doing..
Jason kiDD is offline  
post #5774 of 5774 Old Today, 01:54 PM
Member
 
1redz06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason kiDD View Post


Fuses are located on the top side of the amp underneath the board above. Make sure amp is unplugged as has had some time to discharge caps before you do any work inside. Also as a general rule stay awake from any caps period unless you know what your doing..
Those were the fuses I replaced, on the other side of the amplifier board you have pictured. There were 2 and they were both blown. When I looked around the rest of the amp everything looked OK. Granted maybe I missed more hidden fuses.

Sent from my VS987 using Tapatalk
1redz06 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Tags
Lab Gruppen Fp 14000 , Sanway Fp 10000q

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off