Lab Gruppen FP14000 clone amplifiers - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 4581 Old 10-03-2011, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 6,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by thylantyr View Post


Block diagrams are good

No kidding ha ha

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 4581 Old 10-03-2011, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
CrocDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garric33 View Post

I received a FP14000 today. My dealings with Sanway were very good. I received better responses from them than I get from many North American companies. The shipping from China seemed fairly fast, only 5 days. The packaging was very good.

I ordered the 220V version, which is advertised to work from 200 to 240 volts. My outlet reads 246V. The amp shipped with some European power plug (http://www.o-digital.com/pic.asp?url..._Cords_418.jpg). I changed it with a NEMA 6-20. The amp worked without issue in the 30 minutes or so that I just tested it with. I was very careful with the gain control. I didn't want to send my poor SDX-15s (x2) to the graveyard In the future I will be getting some Mach5 Pi-18s to use this amp with.

I had no issues with the transaction related to Sanway. Initial impressions says that I will order from them again without reservation.

Can someone walk me through the money transfer details? Do you have to go to a local Western Union, or can it be done online somehow? Do they provide an account # the money goes into, or do they go to their local Western Union branch to collect? What are the costs?

Thanks.
CrocDoc is offline  
post #723 of 4581 Old 10-03-2011, 06:03 PM
Member
 
Garric33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Given a choice, I would use Western Union. My own transaction was with a money transfer thru a bank, but the bank money transfer system seems like a very old system. It had a limit on the number of characters for the beneficiary name, and the Sanway beneficiary name provided was too long for the form. The bank teller shortened the name, and the money transfer was rejected by the Bank of China. This caused a 6 day delay for me, and I had to pay the money transfer fee twice.

I looked at the Western Union website, it seems you can do the money transfer over the web. Contact Sanway for the exact information that you need for the Western Union site. They will know what you need.
Garric33 is offline  
post #724 of 4581 Old 10-03-2011, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
CrocDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garric33 View Post

Given a choice, I would use Western Union. My own transaction was with a money transfer thru a bank, but the bank money transfer system seems like a very old system. It had a limit on the number of characters for the beneficiary name, and the Sanway beneficiary name provided was too long for the form. The bank teller shortened the name, and the money transfer was rejected by the Bank of China. This caused a 6 day delay for me, and I had to pay the money transfer fee twice.

I looked at the Western Union website, it seems you can do the money transfer over the web. Contact Sanway for the exact information that you need for the Western Union site. They will know what you need.

Thanks. I will contact Sanway to find out how they want it transfered. It is just an uneasy feeling doing a wire transfer to China....I am glad to hear it works and they are not a fly by night operation. Let us know how that FP14k is doing after you put some miles on it.
CrocDoc is offline  
post #725 of 4581 Old 10-04-2011, 04:42 PM
Newbie
 
elstat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, so this is my third post so I can send a link to what seems to be good unbalanced to balanced adapters in my next post...
elstat is offline  
post #726 of 4581 Old 10-04-2011, 04:43 PM
Newbie
 
elstat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check out these two items to match unbalanced outputs to the balanced inputs on a professional amp:
http://www.henryeng.com/matchbox.html
http://www.henryeng.com/hetwinmatch.html
elstat is offline  
post #727 of 4581 Old 10-05-2011, 12:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
DL86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by elstat View Post

Check out these two items to match unbalanced outputs to the balanced inputs on a professional amp:
http://www.henryeng.com/matchbox.html
http://www.henryeng.com/hetwinmatch.html

I have the matchbox in my system. It substantially boosts the signal.

To improve the black level performance of your projector: Shine bright light into your eyes every 5 minutes.
DL86 is offline  
post #728 of 4581 Old 10-05-2011, 12:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
DL86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
FP10000Q comming my way with quiet sunon fans.

To improve the black level performance of your projector: Shine bright light into your eyes every 5 minutes.
DL86 is offline  
post #729 of 4581 Old 10-05-2011, 06:45 AM
Newbie
 
elstat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DL86, Does the Matchbox work well besides the gain? Are there any frequency response or noise issues (to include hum) with it, or does it work as advertised?
elstat is offline  
post #730 of 4581 Old 10-05-2011, 07:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
desertdome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Elkhorn, NE
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 186
I also have a Matchbox HD. It's frequency response is flat and it makes no noise whatsoever. I'll be selling mine after the Subwoofer GTG in Omaha.
desertdome is offline  
post #731 of 4581 Old 10-05-2011, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 6,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by desertdome View Post

I also have a Matchbox HD. It's frequency response is flat and it makes no noise whatsoever. I'll be selling mine after the Subwoofer GTG in Omaha.

flat to where? 10? 5? Very interested if so!!! have you done your own measurements on it?

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #732 of 4581 Old 10-05-2011, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
desertdome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Elkhorn, NE
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 186
It is spec'd as flat from DC to 20kHz. I haven't measured it. I was looking for it this morning and was going to bring it to work, but I picked the wrong audio box to look through. My current signal chain is down .8 dB at 10 Hz and 2.7 dB at 5 Hz. I'll insert the Matchbox HD in the signal chain and do a loopback test with REW to see if anything changes.
desertdome is offline  
post #733 of 4581 Old 10-05-2011, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 6,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 507
PM me your results! Just looked that box up, DAYUM! $200.00!!! haha still might be interested if it shows a good improvement over the cleanbox pro, have you any experience with it?

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #734 of 4581 Old 10-05-2011, 09:14 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 13,145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by DL86 View Post

FP10000Q comming my way with quiet sunon fans.

Oh cool!

Are you installing those fans or did you get Sanway to install them for you? Either way, I'd like to know how loud the amp ends up being.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
post #735 of 4581 Old 10-05-2011, 01:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
DL86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sanway are installing them.

Me too. It is replacing my two behringer ep4k's.

To improve the black level performance of your projector: Shine bright light into your eyes every 5 minutes.
DL86 is offline  
post #736 of 4581 Old 10-05-2011, 02:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
DL86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by elstat View Post

DL86, Does the Matchbox work well besides the gain? Are there any frequency response or noise issues (to include hum) with it, or does it work as advertised?

Works as advertised. No more noise in the system with the box than without the box that I can detect. Haven't tested its FR hasn't seem to made any change to the sound though.

To improve the black level performance of your projector: Shine bright light into your eyes every 5 minutes.
DL86 is offline  
post #737 of 4581 Old 10-05-2011, 08:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thylantyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by elstat View Post

Check out these two items to match unbalanced outputs to the balanced inputs on a professional amp:
http://www.henryeng.com/matchbox.html
http://www.henryeng.com/hetwinmatch.html

The schematic is included in the manual. Good text book design. I like it.
Cost $200 though.



The storm was gone, but dark clouds still hung around
The perfect setting for things to come......

thylantyr is offline  
post #738 of 4581 Old 10-05-2011, 11:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 396
So is this the best amp to drive my IB system? 4 18's per channel.
MKtheater is online now  
post #739 of 4581 Old 10-06-2011, 12:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gpmbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Well it was reported to surpass the marathon 5050 which was highly touted as a solid sub amp. From all reports thus far you can do cheaper (since IBs don't require a lot of juice) but not better.
gpmbc is online now  
post #740 of 4581 Old 10-06-2011, 12:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpmbc View Post

Well it was reported to surpass the marathon 5050 which was highly touted as a solid sub amp. From all reports thus far you can do cheaper (since IBs don't require a lot of juice) but not better.

Don't I need 550 watts per driver?
MKtheater is online now  
post #741 of 4581 Old 10-06-2011, 01:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gpmbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Need? Doubtful in your scenario but your final impedance will decide the amp output. If 4 ohms then on paper you'd be about double in re to the 550.
gpmbc is online now  
post #742 of 4581 Old 10-06-2011, 04:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 396
So how do I order one?
MKtheater is online now  
post #743 of 4581 Old 10-06-2011, 04:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
DL86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKtheater View Post

So how do I order one?

Email sanway.audio@gmail.com. State model you wish to purchase, your shipping address and phone number and Johnson will send you back a quote and details on how to pay for it. Also request quiet fans if you want.

To improve the black level performance of your projector: Shine bright light into your eyes every 5 minutes.
DL86 is offline  
post #744 of 4581 Old 10-06-2011, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 6,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKtheater View Post

Don't I need 550 watts per driver?

youll get a little more than that running the 14k at 8 ohms as we discussed in your thread, i dont know if scott or Bigbaddaboom ran a graph for you or not but you need to make sure that your excursion is held under control with 586 watts per driver.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #745 of 4581 Old 10-06-2011, 07:48 AM
 
BiGBADDABOOM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post

youll get a little more than that running the 14k at 8 ohms as we discussed in your thread, i dont know if scott or Bigbaddaboom ran a graph for you or not but you need to make sure that your excursion is held under control with 586 watts per driver.

Yellow line here is assuming 4700w (587.5 per driver). With 2ohm IB318's, wired in series for a 8 ohm stereo load:

BiGBADDABOOM is offline  
post #746 of 4581 Old 10-06-2011, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 6,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 507
well there ya have it! thanks dude!

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #747 of 4581 Old 10-06-2011, 09:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiGBADDABOOM View Post


Yellow line here is assuming 4700w (587.5 per driver). With 2ohm IB318's, wired in series for a 8 ohm stereo load:

Awesome thanks. I try to make this simple. So I want an 8 ohm load on both channels which is easy for amps so the question is if I buy 8 2 ohm IB3's I am assuming I would wire 4 drivers together for each channel. How do these get wired?
MKtheater is online now  
post #748 of 4581 Old 10-06-2011, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 6,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKtheater View Post

Awesome thanks. I try to make this simple. So I want an 8 ohm load on both channels which is easy for amps so the question is if I buy 8 2 ohm IB3's I am assuming I would wire 4 drivers together for each channel. How do these get wired?

I explained it in your speaker shoot thread for you. check it

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #749 of 4581 Old 10-06-2011, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 316
notnyt is online now  
post #750 of 4581 Old 10-06-2011, 09:38 AM
 
BiGBADDABOOM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yeah, but we're in the danger zone then:



He'll have 115dB at 10Hz before taking into account his incredible room gain at 8ohm.
BiGBADDABOOM is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Tags
Lab Gruppen Fp 14000 , Sanway Fp 10000q
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off