Lab Gruppen FP14000 clone amplifiers - Page 48 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1411 of 4619 Old 05-08-2012, 02:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by winny32 View Post

As I can remember someone before has some troubles with sanway fp7000.

But still no one problem with FP14k (not counting problems with 110V/220V), or anyone?

My 14000 showed up with a fan that was falling apart( replaced it anyway), and a loose screw rattling around inside the amp. Has performed ok though. Johnson said it was due to "unpolite transportation". Lol
keager is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1412 of 4619 Old 05-08-2012, 06:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
auburnu008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 26
It is funny how many posters have signed up this month and have less than 10 posts have appeared lately. They all seem to have amps that have blown up or malfunctioned in some way or another. Doesn't anyone else find that odd?

War Eagle!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
auburnu008 is offline  
post #1413 of 4619 Old 05-08-2012, 06:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,725
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 77
I was thinking the same thing. But like I said it worked for Bosso and Not that is all I need. PLUS Not was kind enough to show us enough pics that we could all fix our own product with his help or others. SO they can keep posting whatever but I am still saving for my pair of 10Qs.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
chrapladm is online now  
post #1414 of 4619 Old 05-08-2012, 08:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,467
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrapladm View Post

I was thinking the same thing. But like I said it worked for Bosso and Not that is all I need. PLUS Not was kind enough to show us enough pics that we could all fix our own product with his help or others. SO they can keep posting whatever but I am still saving for my pair of 10Qs.

My 10q worked fine, I have a 14k sitting in the box but will power it up soon!
MKtheater is online now  
post #1415 of 4619 Old 05-08-2012, 08:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,725
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Kick A MK. Your thread has ben a huge help also. I am just wanting 1000 things and can only afford 2. LOL


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
chrapladm is online now  
post #1416 of 4619 Old 05-08-2012, 09:04 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 13,759
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrapladm View Post

I am just wanting 1000 things and can only afford 2. LOL

Story of my life.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- direct pod link


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
post #1417 of 4619 Old 05-09-2012, 06:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lukeamdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 126
My two fp14k's are still running strong

__________________________________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
lukeamdman is offline  
post #1418 of 4619 Old 05-09-2012, 06:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,467
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 432
I have some sub porn for you guys. My whole theater floor from screen to seats are filled with drivers and wood! I need to take better pics as my cell phone is hard to upload here.
MKtheater is online now  
post #1419 of 4619 Old 05-09-2012, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gpmbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Any pic of that will do!
gpmbc is offline  
post #1420 of 4619 Old 05-09-2012, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,725
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Dont tease us MK....LOL


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
chrapladm is online now  
post #1421 of 4619 Old 05-09-2012, 09:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,467
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrapladm View Post

Dont tease us MK....LOL

My only pics are in my iphone and I don't have the computer cable with me. Can I upload to photobucket from my iphone? I don't have the newest version yet for the app.
MKtheater is online now  
post #1422 of 4619 Old 05-09-2012, 09:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
edoggrc51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKtheater View Post

My only pics are in my iphone and I don't have the computer cable with me. Can I upload to photobucket from my iphone? I don't have the newest version yet for the app.

Yeah you can upload directly from your iphone to photobucket via their app. I post most my pictures that way.

My Quad LMS Ultra 5400 Build:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

edoggrc51 is offline  
post #1423 of 4619 Old 05-10-2012, 09:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
yelnatsch517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKtheater View Post

My only pics are in my iphone and I don't have the computer cable with me. Can I upload to photobucket from my iphone? I don't have the newest version yet for the app.

You could always email yourself the pics.
yelnatsch517 is offline  
post #1424 of 4619 Old 05-12-2012, 09:42 AM
Member
 
zerver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is such a big thread!

I'm considering a pair of these FP14000. 2.8ohm limit means you will never get more than 10000W RMS, which is a pity, although it should be enough for majority of users. The amp is still quite a bargain.

I need the 240V version for Europe. If i understand correcly, I should ask them to install the correct 15A fuses before shipping. Anything else? I read that you can get quieter fans, but I doubt even those will be quiet enough for my needs. I need top notch fans and maybe some resistors to slow them down...

Regards / Z
zerver is offline  
post #1425 of 4619 Old 05-12-2012, 07:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,725
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 77
I think 10000watts should be fine for you. If people really need the full specs of a LG they could buy the real LG.

I think Not has shown how quiet these amps can be and if you need them to be even more quiet then you need a stand alone rack some where away from your ears.

I think they are all made 240Vac. You just have to specify if you want a 110vac version. But that being said I am sure someone wil respond with more info for you.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
chrapladm is online now  
post #1426 of 4619 Old 05-12-2012, 08:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: East side of NW Cascades
Posts: 2,931
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerver View Post

This is such a big thread!

I'm considering a pair of these FP14000. 2.8ohm limit means you will never get more than 10000W RMS, which is a pity, although it should be enough for majority of users. The amp is still quite a bargain.

First off it is burst not RMS.

Secondly, there is no need to have 10kW's going to a single cone; 2 cones minimum on such output; otherwise it will do nothing but idle along 99% of the time with tonnes of voicecoil heat generated and when something big hits it will destroy the cone. I know, I've tried it... (not with this amp) and it is very very risky business!!! Makes a good idea it does not.

~1-2kW true RMS with bursts into ~4k is more than enough for a single cone to absorb.

What cones you running that requires such thing?

"If Bad Sound Were Fatal, Audio Would Be the Leading Cause of Death."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #1427 of 4619 Old 05-13-2012, 09:35 AM
Member
 
zerver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The real LG are definitely 14kW RMS. But it is true that the burst capability is more important, you want the extra headroom for transients. It is nearly impossible to find any music that does a constant high RMS output. Possibly with some bass testing tracks.

Typical music containing 1000W bursts will only have an RMS power of ~100W. How much the cone will tolerate depends on what the bursts look like, and the duration. You can feed 100kW even to small cone for a fraction of a second. It is called P.M.P.O.
zerver is offline  
post #1428 of 4619 Old 05-13-2012, 12:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,317
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerver View Post

The real LG are definitely 14kW RMS.

Spoken like someone without basic understanding of electronics. Please inform me how something that is fused at 16a with 240v can produce 14,000 watts consistently. Here's a hint, you want to use Ohm's law for this. The real LG's are rated the same ways as the clones. The only real difference you'll find is that the clones lack network support and the components aren't quite as good, which keeps it from performing down to 2 ohms.

As for basic laws of electronics, W = V * I, so 240v at 16 amps is 3840 watts. Even using this basic formula like this is erring on the side of a higher power rating, as RMS, root mean square, would produce a lower number. Even though the electronics can pull more amperage through the circuits temporarily without blowing fuses, it cannot sustain higher than that for a length of time without blowing its own internal fuses.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
notnyt is offline  
post #1429 of 4619 Old 05-13-2012, 12:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
cookieattk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post

Spoken like someone without basic understanding of electronics. Please inform me how something that is fused at 16a with 240v can produce 14,000 watts consistently. Here's a hint, you want to use Ohm's law for this. The real LG's are rated the same ways as the clones. The only real difference you'll find is that the clones lack network support and the components aren't quite as good, which keeps it from performing down to 2 ohms.

As for basic laws of electronics, W = V * I, so 240v at 16 amps is 3840 watts. Even using this basic formula like this is erring on the side of a higher power rating, as RMS, root mean square, would produce a lower number. Even though the electronics can pull more amperage through the circuits temporarily without blowing fuses, it cannot sustain higher than that for a length of time without blowing its own internal fuses.

magic !
cookieattk is online now  
post #1430 of 4619 Old 05-13-2012, 01:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
cookieattk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 59
something else to think about is if the amp is 80% efficient @ 10000 watts that's 2k watts of heat to dissipate through some small heatsinks and a few fans = dead amp.
cookieattk is online now  
post #1431 of 4619 Old 05-13-2012, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: East side of NW Cascades
Posts: 2,931
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 365
3840 * 0.5 * 0.9 (90% efficiency)... gives ~384watts of heat and 2 channels of ~1728watts long-term at the 16a fuse blow point.

3840 * 0.5 * 0.8 (80% efficiency)... gives ~768watts of heat and 2 channels of ~1536watts long-term at the 16a fuse blow point.

"If Bad Sound Were Fatal, Audio Would Be the Leading Cause of Death."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #1432 of 4619 Old 05-13-2012, 03:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
omegaslast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post

Spoken like someone without basic understanding of electronics. Please inform me how something that is fused at 16a with 240v can produce 14,000 watts consistently. Here's a hint, you want to use Ohm's law for this. The real LG's are rated the same ways as the clones. The only real difference you'll find is that the clones lack network support and the components aren't quite as good, which keeps it from performing down to 2 ohms.

As for basic laws of electronics, W = V * I, so 240v at 16 amps is 3840 watts. Even using this basic formula like this is erring on the side of a higher power rating, as RMS, root mean square, would produce a lower number. Even though the electronics can pull more amperage through the circuits temporarily without blowing fuses, it cannot sustain higher than that for a length of time without blowing its own internal fuses.

Dont most people here only have 120v 15amp outlets? (like me) so i'd be bottlenecking the performance out of an LG clone?

Max i could sustain is about 2000 watts? What peaks could it sustain? More because of the capacitors?

//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
omegaslast is offline  
post #1433 of 4619 Old 05-13-2012, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: East side of NW Cascades
Posts: 2,931
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by omegaslast View Post

Dont most people here only have 120v 15amp outlets? (like me) so i'd be bottlenecking the performance out of an LG clone?

Max i could sustain is about 2000 watts? What peaks could it sustain? More because of the capacitors?

Capacitors mostly help with line-sag and burst power.
Once they are totally drained (which isn't long) they actually "consume" power off the line, making the efficiency that much worse.



If you aren't poping breakers yet or clipping it, then you should be ok and thus don't need a bigger line.

120 * 15 would be 1800w
1800 * 0.5 * 0.9 = 180w heat, 2ch of 810w
1800 * 0.5 * 0.8 = 360w heat, 2ch of 720w

"If Bad Sound Were Fatal, Audio Would Be the Leading Cause of Death."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #1434 of 4619 Old 05-13-2012, 04:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
omegaslast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post

Capacitors mostly help with line-sag and burst power.
Once they are totally drained (which isn't long) they actually "consume" power off the line, making the efficiency that much worse.



If you aren't poping breakers yet or clipping it, then you should be ok and thus don't need a bigger line.

120 * 15 would be 1800w
1800 * 0.5 * 0.9 = 180w heat, 2ch of 810w
1800 * 0.5 * 0.8 = 360w heat, 2ch of 720w

I have a behringer ep2500 and im trying to figure out if it would be worth it to upgrade to an LG clone, but i dont have the funds to run a 240v outlet. Im clueless when it comes to the math behind power.. might pick up a used ashly KLR3200 if thats all i can use anyways.

//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
omegaslast is offline  
post #1435 of 4619 Old 05-13-2012, 04:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
cookieattk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 59
u can buy it as 120v

all u would really need is a lower awg wire ran and the breaker replaced.
cookieattk is online now  
post #1436 of 4619 Old 05-13-2012, 05:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,317
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by omegaslast View Post

Dont most people here only have 120v 15amp outlets? (like me) so i'd be bottlenecking the performance out of an LG clone?

Max i could sustain is about 2000 watts? What peaks could it sustain? More because of the capacitors?

This is why I ran 10 gauge wire and use 30a breakers.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
notnyt is offline  
post #1437 of 4619 Old 05-13-2012, 05:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
omegaslast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Home theater is on the second floor, i dont think its conceivable to run 10awg to the breaker box.

//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
omegaslast is offline  
post #1438 of 4619 Old 05-13-2012, 07:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,467
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 432
I ran 10 gauge and 20 amp breakers. I have 8 20 amp circuits for the theater. My FP14k is on one of them.
MKtheater is online now  
post #1439 of 4619 Old 05-14-2012, 07:03 AM
The Truth Hz
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 7,418
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post

This is why I ran 10 gauge wire and use 30a breakers.

I did the same, Im still running the 110v version with the normal plug though. Didnt you modify your plug or something Not?

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

beastaudio is offline  
post #1440 of 4619 Old 05-14-2012, 07:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,317
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post

I did the same, Im still running the 110v version with the normal plug though. Didnt you modify your plug or something Not?

Nope, not really a point to it.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
notnyt is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Tags
Lab Gruppen Fp 14000 , Sanway Fp 10000q
Gear in this thread - 10000q by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off