I have tasted the forbidden fruit... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 21 Old 09-06-2011, 08:16 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
and it was wonderful!

I'm the first to admit that I'm a total noob at all things on this forum. I stumbled across it a few years back and it inspired me to build a home theater. (still under construction)

The thought of building new speakers when the theater is done has been floating around in my head for a while. Mainly because my current speakers are some Yamahas I purchased at Best Buy for about $200 bucks 10+ years ago. I always wondered if I really needed something new. Would I be able to tell the difference between a crappy speaker and a "high end" speaker? I figured probably not, but I liked projects and building things. I was wrong.

Recently I was able to listen to some quality speakers at a listening session in my area thanks to Rick Craig from Selah Audio. Like I said in my title, I have tasted the forbidden fruit. It really stuck out to me today when I was working in my theater listening to music. I listened for about 5 minutes before I turned it off in disgust. It was painful to listening to at high volume. So needless to say, I can't wait to finish up my room and get to making dust on some new speakers.

***end of random thought thread***
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 09-06-2011, 09:20 PM
Advanced Member

Liked: 18
For your room Selah would be a waste of time + money. if you want something now: wayne parham 4pi.

edited

Want to measure your subwoofers? check out my dummies guide for a step by step process to Room EQ wizard
http://polaraudio.blogspot.com/2012/01/calibration.html
post #3 of 21 Old 09-06-2011, 09:28 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by omegaslast View Post

Selah would be a waste of time + money, if you want something now: wayne parham 4pi.