LMS 5400 - Curved Cabinet Build - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 51 Old 12-20-2011, 10:02 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trying to work out the final design details on my curved cabinets for my two LMS 5400s and I had some questions. The cabinets will be similiar in size and shape to Warp's Funky Waves Build:
http://www.hometheatershack.com/foru...400-build.html

I have never built a curved cabinet before, but I did have a couple of ideas on how to build this.

1) Frame structure very similiar to Warp's and then wrap with 6 or more layers of 1/8'' hardboard/masonite around the frame. Final side thickness would be greater than .75

2) Layers. I don't know the official name for this, but just cut out lots and lots of layers of MDF to stack together and create the box this way.

Just curious which way you guys might suggest and also is it possible to stick the LMS into too small of a box? As long as it fits am I good to go?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 51 Old 12-20-2011, 07:04 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Warps' build would be far less time-consuming compared to the lam-ply build. I don't believe you'd need the curved walls too be over 3/4" since a curved surface such as that creates a much stronger surface compared to something flat. 2 layers at the most is all you need, or one if you can pull off the bend.

The Laminated Ply build is esthetically superior to most people and also rare because of the complexity of the build.

If I were you I'd build a curved cab like Warp's first. Down the road you can always take on the lam-ply project if you have the time/patience/skills for it.
post #3 of 51 Old 12-20-2011, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 128
I would copy Warp's approach. The laminated ply style looks cool, but IMO offers no benefit while using extra material and time. I guess it would be easy if you had a CNC cut it.