Center Speaker Built Into Fireplace Mantel - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 59 Old 02-20-2012, 08:05 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Our renovation plans call for a TV above the fireplace. I'm an experienced woodworker and thought it would look nicer to hide the center channel in the mantel. The front left/right speakers can be standard enclosures placed in the bookshelves flanking the fireplace. The rear speakers will be in-wall.
I like high quality sound, but my significant other would rather have a discreet/inexpensive system. The living room is a 17 x 14 foot rectangle. The house is very open - the back wall of the living room is a half-wall with columns (there is a kind of colonnade entry).
Anyone have any ideas for this? I thought maybe I could find a suitable DIY design and make the volume within the mantel match the volume of the design but with different height/width/depth.

Twodogs
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 59 Old 02-21-2012, 10:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Quoted: 501 Post(s)
Liked: 1125
do a search on google images for...mantel speaker. :-) surprisingly, such things exist and if you find a form factor that you like, then perhaps somebody can help you select a speaker that will work.

Listen. It's All Good.
post #3 of 59 Old 02-21-2012, 10:47 AM
Advanced Member

Liked: 18
I would buy pi speakers and then do no center channel... requires major toe in though which spouses probably think looks ugly. Plus theyre huge

http://www.pispeakers.com/catalog/pr...products_id/97
post #4 of 59 Old 02-21-2012, 10:51 AM - Thread Starter

I've searched this and haven't seen too much. Maybe the type of person who makes DIY speakers is too interested in high-quality sound to stuff one into a mantel! I called Madisound who recommended the HDS kit.
post #5 of 59 Old 02-21-2012, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter

This is my obligatory third post to enable me to post links and pictures.